Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Will this power supply work on a 32X and/or Genesis 2?

  1. #1
    Great Puma (Level 12) Keir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    4,228
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Will this power supply work on a 32X and/or Genesis 2?

    Input: AC 120V 10W
    Output: DC 9V 500mA
    Center Positive

  2. #2
    Pac-Man (Level 10) omnedon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,908
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I'm pretty sure the polarity is wrong...
    ... for your gaming and iPod service needs http://www.oldschoolgamer.com/ For all your Video Game console and iPod upgrade/repair needs!

  3. #3
    Pac-Man (Level 10) FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    2,145
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The 32x / Gen2 power supply is rated at 850mA, so it may be too underpowered to work reliably. According to the power supply info gathered here awhile back, the polarity is correct tho.

  4. #4
    Great Puma (Level 12) Keir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    4,228
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    OK, so if it's just underpowered then the worst thing that can happen is that it just won't turn on, right? (i.e. I can't damage my console by trying it)

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Pac-Man (Level 10) FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    2,145
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It may or may not damage it. If it were mine, I wouldn't do it.

  6. #6
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    184
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by omnedon
    I'm pretty sure the polarity is wrong...
    cant speak for us units but this is what i know of pal units.
    pal Sega units have negative in the middle, this also applys to US snes if im not misstaken but PAL snes do have possitive in the middle.

    never gotten my hands on us sega's due to the freight cost from us to sweden =(
    Broken? fix it.

  7. #7
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Northamptonshire, UK
    Posts
    50
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I've used a 9V 400mA to power a Sega Mega Drive to test my Mega CD. The problem is that the adapter will probably over heat from the strain and burn out. I only used mine for about 5 minutes so it was okay.

    Other things to not are that the consoles performance will drop. You'll probably experience display problems and buzzing sound while using the adpater.

  8. #8
    Great Puma (Level 12) anagrama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Newcastle, UK
    Posts
    4,704
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrKitt
    cant speak for us units but this is what i know of pal units.
    pal Sega units have negative in the middle, this also applys to US snes if im not misstaken but PAL snes do have possitive in the middle.

    never gotten my hands on us sega's due to the freight cost from us to sweden =(
    The Genesis & PAL Megadrive both have the same polarity. I'm pretty sure Jap Megadrives do aswell, but haven't got a unit to check handy.

  9. #9
    Crono (Level 14)
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    6,077
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Related question:

    On a transformer that is of adequate power and frequency, could he cut the tip off and put an appropriate tip on for the console?

  10. #10
    Great Puma (Level 12) anagrama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Newcastle, UK
    Posts
    4,704
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chadtower
    Related question:

    On a transformer that is of adequate power and frequency, could he cut the tip off and put an appropriate tip on for the console?
    Yup.

Similar Threads

  1. WTB: Genesis Model 2 Power supply
    By Lanzo in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-22-2011, 02:57 AM
  2. Anyone need a Sega Genesis Power Supply?
    By Igorr in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-08-2008, 05:01 PM
  3. What Genesis power supply works with the SFC?
    By camarotuner in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-06-2008, 07:32 AM
  4. Using a Genesis 1 power supply on a Turbografx-16
    By SuperNintendoChalmers in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-21-2007, 09:25 AM
  5. does a genesis power supply work on a mega drive 2?
    By rick weis in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-20-2005, 05:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •