Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28

Thread: Classic Computers - Whatcha Got?

  1. #1
    Flawless Rawkality Flack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    OKC, OK
    Posts
    14,269
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Classic Computers - Whatcha Got?

    Two questions:

    One, what classic computers do you have currently hooked up and ready to go in your home? By this, I mean if I showed up at your door with a cartridge or a diskette, we could play it right now.

    Two, what classic computers do you have at your home that you could get working in a day's notice?

    For number one, I have a Commodore 64, an Amiga 500, and a 486 for classic DOS games all hooked up and running in my house at the moment.

    For number two, I also have an Atari 800XL, an Apple II, a Macintosh Plus, a TRS-80 Model II, and several spare C64's all in the garage that could all be hooked up within a day.

  2. #2
    Peach (Level 3)
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    786
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Well if you showed up we could play the Atari 800XL pretty much instantly. It stays hooked up at all times as my game-playing/dev system and is currently within 2 feet of where I am sitting now. It is a fairly loaded system (hard drive, SIO2PC, ramdisk, expended memory) except my PC dev system that usually is connected to it finally bit the dust. I hope to replace it in the next few weeks.

    In short order we could run out to the shed and round up some of the assorted Macs I have and hook them up. I would have been able to say an Amiga 3000 also but I just gave it away to a friend last week.

    In the attic I have the rest of the Atari series: 400 (8K & 16K), 800 (16K & 48K), 1200XL, 600XL, 65XE, 130XE, XEGS. Mostly the same thing as the 800XL but they are in the collection. Also have the 520ST, 1040ST (and FM) and MegaST2 though little to play on them. For Commodore I have C64, C-128 (both versions), Vic-20 and the oddballs: +4, C16 and SX-64. Usually the C-64 would be hooked up for the wife to play Bubble Bobble but I took it down to set up the Atari the way I wanted.

    Years back I got rid of my collections of TRS-80, CoCo, Ti-99/4a & Aquarius. Too little play for the space they took up. Of course I could say the same thing for some of the weird Atari and Commdoore computers but I just don't have the heart to get rid of them since they are from my two favorite computer companies.

    Alan

  3. #3
    Pac-Man (Level 10) Custom rank graphic

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Turks and Caicos Islands
    Posts
    2,938
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Steam
    calthaer

    Default

    I have a DOS machine and an Apple II, jacked up and good to go. The Apple II is actually a Laser 128, which is having some problems using Apple Disk Transfer...so it's really only hooked up until I can get my old Bard's Tale characters off.
    I have no signature.

  4. #4
    Part of the #vbender crew Custom rank graphic
    Ze_ro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    2,520
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Xbox LIVE
    Abstract Zero
    PSN
    Ze_roV
    Steam
    abstractzero

    Default Re: Classic Computers - Whatcha Got?

    Well, the only systems I have hooked up right now are:
    • C-128 - I think it's the one electronic device I have that has never been unhooked for more than about an hour since I bought it about 8 years ago.
    • Amiga 1200 - The hard drive is messed, but it can still load disks
    • Mac LC-II - Normally, I wouldn't have bothered keeping this hooked up at all, but the monitor is specific to the Mac, so there's not much point in packing it away
    • Pentium 90 - I initially set this up for my mom so she could check email and browse the internet and such. I guess that almost counts as a classic computer by now

    I have a whole bunch more systems that could be hooked up with about 5 minutes of work... including a number of C-64's (although there isn't much point when I have a C-128 hooked up), an Amiga 500, a TI-99/4a, an Apple IIe and an Apple IIGS.

    I have a bunch of other computers that, due to various problems, I can't actually use at the moment:
    • VIC-20 - Actually, I'm not entirely sure what's wrong with this one. The best I can seem to get out of it is a very dark, monochrome picture. It could be due to a faulty RF modulator, or the system itself might be damaged (I have a feeling it's the latter).
    • Amiga 4000 - It works perfectly fine, but a long time ago, my brother snagged one of the hard drives out of it, and we never took the time to tell the 4000 about that, so when it powers up, it comes up with a ton of complaints about missing files and such.
    • Atari 400 - It's missing it's RF cable. I can open it up and attach one, but I don't have any to spare at the moment. The system works perfectly fine otherwise.
    • Atari 600XL - I'm missing the power adaptor... although I've been able to verify that it works by using a variable power supply from an electronics lab.
    • Atari 1040ST & 1040STFM - I don't have an ST monitor cable, so I can't test the 1040ST (I think it works). I've tried hooking up the 1040STFM through it's RF modulator, but it comes up with a garbled picture. I'm almost certain its BIOS is dead.

    --Zero

  5. #5
    Strawberry (Level 2) oesiii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    584
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Ready to GO:

    Atari 130xe
    Atari 800XL
    Atari 1040ST
    Amiga 1000
    Vic-20

    Give me a day to set it up:

    5 Other Atari 8bit computers
    Atari 520ST
    Commodore 64
    Coleco Adam (this one might take a few days to move it from room to room )

  6. #6
    Pear (Level 6) ventrra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Muncie, IN
    Posts
    1,200
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Re: Classic Computers - Whatcha Got?

    Quote Originally Posted by Flack
    Two, what classic computers do you have at your home that you could get working in a day's notice?
    Tandy 1000HX, Tandy Color Computer 3, Yamaha CX5M MSX, Apple IIc, and Commodore 64.

  7. #7
    Pac-Man (Level 10) Custom rank graphic

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Turks and Caicos Islands
    Posts
    2,938
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Steam
    calthaer

    Default RE: Vic 20

    Unfortunately, the VIC-20 suffers from the same design flaw that the NES does in that the cartridge slot often just doesn't work after a while. Corrosion, dust, etc. made my VIC-20 almost worthless after a while. I sold the games to some guy in the UK.
    I have no signature.

  8. #8
    Ladd Spencer (Level 17)
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    9,238
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Scooterb23

    Default

    The only classic computer I own, is a C64. I don't think I want to go too far into the world of old computers...I have too many consoles as it is
    gamesandgrub.blogspot.com - My blog about boardgames, and sometimes food.
    roomwithaviewmaster.tumblr.com - My blog about Viewmaster collecting

  9. #9
    Great Puma (Level 12) Custom rank graphic
    Nature Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    K-Town
    Posts
    4,747
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    o 8BIT 1337 o
    PSN
    jggruetz

    Default

    I've only gone one machine connected - an 800XL. But I don't have my disk drives connected to it right now - I'm trying to save 'em so I'm using APE and the SIO2PC cable

    I've got an Atari 400 and a 130 XE as well though. The 130 XE is the only Atari machine I didn't own "new" - my dad found it at a garage sale and picked it up for me.

    I've also got 2 C64's. The breadbox model and the (I think) second model. One was given to me by a coworker, the other I found at a thrift (with a model II drive) for under $5.

    I *used* to have a C64 hooked up at all timesl but I decided that the monitor was simply taking up too much space. And as an avid Atari computer guy the choice between the two on my main classic gaming rig was an easy one
    Time will be when the broadest river dries
    And the great cities wane and last descend
    Into the dust, for all things have an end

  10. #10
    Pac-Man (Level 10) icbrkr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    www.amigacd32.com
    Posts
    2,322
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    icbrkr

    Default

    Ready to go:

    Amiga 1200
    Atari XEGS
    Apple IIgs
    Commodore 64
    Commodore Plus/4
    Texas Instruments 99/4a
    TRS-80 CoCo3

    In a Day:

    Timex Sinclair 1000
    Timex Sinclair 1500
    Timex Sinclair 2068
    Amiga 500
    Tandy 1000
    Commodore SX-64
    Commodore PET 2001
    Mattel Aquarius

  11. #11
    Flawless Rawkality Flack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    OKC, OK
    Posts
    14,269
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Knowing that there are still other Commodore 64's hooked up out there just makes me smile.

  12. #12
    Ladd Spencer (Level 17)
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    9,238
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Scooterb23

    Default

    I feel like a moron forgetting about my TI994A computer.

    I just think of it as anouther gaming console in my collection...There are times I forget being able to program it...
    gamesandgrub.blogspot.com - My blog about boardgames, and sometimes food.
    roomwithaviewmaster.tumblr.com - My blog about Viewmaster collecting

  13. #13
    Pretzel (Level 4) ozyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    983
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default my stuff

    Ready to go:
    Apple IIgs
    Apple IIe
    Many old Macs (LC III, Quadra 605, PM7200, etc., etc.,)

    Ready in a day:
    ZX81
    TS/1000
    TS/1500
    TS/2068
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    "I seek strength, not to be greater than by brother, but to fight my greatest enemy - myself!"
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    Ozyr's Odyssey2 Archive!

  14. #14
    Great Puma (Level 12) anagrama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Newcastle, UK
    Posts
    4,704
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Just an Amiga 600 that's ready to go. I've recently acquired an A1200 but haven't had a chance to set it up yet. My C64 and ZX Spectrum are packed away somewhere in a large box of random power supplies, controllers and bits & bobs.

  15. #15
    Starman (Level 23) Phosphor Dot Fossils's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    in ur base, producing ur dvds
    Posts
    15,002
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Ready to go:

    Apple IIc
    Commodore 64
    TI 99/4A
    Atari 400
    Aquarius




    I have two Apple II clones, a Franklin Ace 1000 (my first computer!) and a Franklin Ace 2200, in my storage shed. They both still work pretty well.

    That's all I've got, really. Pong/dedicated consoles aside, if I've got it, it's on hot standby.

  16. #16
    Pretzel (Level 4) Custom rank graphic
    Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    885
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Duncan1800
    PSN
    Duncan1800

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Phosphor Dot Fossils
    ...if I've got it, it's on hot standby.
    You work like I do. I want to have anything ready at a moment's notice...even if I don't play it that often, just so I can be "sure" everything still works.

    Back to the topic at hand...I need to liberate the old 286 and all its glorious 5.25" disks from my sister's garage. That, and I'm pretty sure my aunt has an old Mac kicking around somewhere, assuming she didn't sell it.

    Too bad we sold our PowerPC Performa all those years ago - I may be the only person left who still remembers when Bungie was mildly famous for a little FPS called Marathon.

    Today, Bungie is best-known as the creator of an Xbox game we call Halo. And now you know...the REST...of the STORY.
    Active systems owned: Wii, X360, PS3
    Inactive systems owned: RCA, INTV2, NES, SMS, Genesis, Lynx, SNES, Saturn, PS1, GBC, DC, PS2, GBA, Xbox, GC, PSP, DS
    Systems wanted: Coleco, 7800, TG16, GG, 3DS, Vita, WiiU

  17. #17
    Pac-Man (Level 10) le geek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    2,627
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    legeek2112

    Default

    Ready to go: Amiga 2000HD

    Gimme a Day: C64 (2 in storage)

    Needs Help: Mac IIcx (needs new motherboard battery)

    Cheers,
    Ben
    le geek retrogaming
    RETRO REVIEWS / WANTED / BACKLOGGERY / MY DP FEEDBACK

  18. #18
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Augusta, Georgia
    Posts
    572
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I have setup on a desk in the basement, ready to go save plugging in (I don't have enough plugs, but the extension cord reaches everything), from Left to right, an Apple MacIntosh LC II, C128D (desktop model), C64, Vic-20, and a Tandy 1000SX.

    I could have the following up and running on a couple hours notice: Atari 600XL, Atari 800XL, C64C, TRS-80 CoCo 2, TI 99/4A, Tandy 1000, a half-dozen 386/486/P1 class dos systems (haven't had the heart to dump them yet), Atari Mega ST 4, and a Timex Sinclair 1000.

  19. #19
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    78
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    All I've got is a DOS machine.
    "Anyone who is capable of getting themselves elected president should on no account be allowed to have the job." ~Douglas Adams

  20. #20
    Great Puma (Level 12)
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,860
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Jibbajaba

    Default

    I have the following:

    Apple ][+
    Apple IIc+
    Commodore 64
    DOS box (486 DX4/100)

    Coincidentally my Apple IIc+ is hooked up right now but it usually isn't. The other are not hooked up but I could have any of them hooked up in 5 minutes.

Similar Threads

  1. Mr. Do! on Classic Computers
    By cheesystick in forum Computer Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-08-2010, 09:09 PM
  2. What classic computers did you use in school?
    By boatofcar in forum Computer Gaming
    Replies: 86
    Last Post: 10-14-2009, 02:50 AM
  3. What Classic Computers Have You Owned?
    By Rogmeister in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 12-06-2006, 05:17 PM
  4. Guides to Getting Started with non-DOS Classic Computers
    By CartCollector in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-09-2006, 06:51 PM
  5. Classic Computers (other than your own) Still In Action?
    By Pantechnicon in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-02-2006, 04:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •