Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: GENS Sega-CD question

  1. #1
    Cherry (Level 1) TripppsK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    204
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default GENS Sega-CD question

    If anyone is familiar with the GENS Sega-CD installation I would like to pick their brain. I have the Bios but am not sure how to set the location and configuration. If anyone knows this can you please help? The regular emulation portin is working fine, just having trouble with this. Thanx.

  2. #2
    Kirby (Level 13) zektor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Classic Jersey
    Posts
    5,398
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    In Gens, go to the "Option" tab up top, then to Bios/Misc files. You can set the paths for all of your BIOS images right there.

  3. #3
    Flawless Rawkality Flack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    OKC, OK
    Posts
    14,270
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    In an unrelated Gens question, does anyone else have trouble running Gens in fullscreen mode?

    It works, but I get a lot of flicker. Sometimes my Windows taskbar or other icons will begein to flicker into the Gens screen. Other than that, I love this emulator a lot!

  4. #4
    Cherry (Level 1) TripppsK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    204
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Do I do anything with the Directories under the Options tab?? The way I was reading the directions was leading me to believe that the setup had to be done in there. I guess that is why I was having problems. In the Bios/Misc files am i correct in believing that I should just click on "Change" for USA under the Sega Cd and just place in the location of the actual Bios file there? Does this sound correct?

    I am at work right now and that is why I am asking these questions, if I were home I would just be trying it out. Thanx.

  5. #5
    Kirby (Level 13) zektor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Classic Jersey
    Posts
    5,398
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    That is correct. Just point the directories to the correct paths of your BIOS files. Now all you have to worry about is if you have correct ones (BIOS files that is)

    As for the flicker, yeah, I did have it with my older card....but I think it was a driver issue. I was using a TNT2 with Nvidia's 44.03 drivers. The reason I could not upgrade to any later drivers with this card is because if I did, Mame no longer displayed the games! Now I have a Geforce FX 5900SE and Gens is ok with Nvidia's latest 56.72 driver. Alternately you can use Kega Lazarus for Genesis emulation. I NEVER had any problems with it and it is pretty much dead on. Only thing I didn't like is that it does not have the option to use ISO/MP3 combos like Gens can.

  6. #6
    Cherry (Level 1) TripppsK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    204
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Zektor I'm still having problems getting the CD portion to work. Is there anyway you can possible cut and paste the directory and bios window setup that you have to give me an idea of what mine should look like? Any help would be appreciated. Thanx.

  7. #7
    Red (Level 21) Jorpho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    We're all mad here
    Posts
    13,549
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Are you getting some specific error message?

  8. #8
    Pear (Level 6)
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,223
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Also do you have the latest ASPI installed on your computer?

Similar Threads

  1. Cartridge variations question for gens 3 through 5
    By BetaWolf47 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-08-2009, 02:08 PM
  2. How do you play Sega CD & 32x games on the GENS emulator
    By DaBargainHunta in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-05-2004, 11:05 AM
  3. 32x / Sega CD bios for GENs
    By slip81 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-30-2003, 05:50 PM
  4. Gens Sega CD question
    By Captain Wrong in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-07-2002, 12:03 PM
  5. Sega 32X bios with Gens Question
    By GoldMember in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-23-2002, 05:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •