Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: FF Anthology - slow loading times?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    325
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default FF Anthology - slow loading times?

    I hear a lot of people complaining about the slow loading times for this disc set (FF5/6). Just curious: Did you use the PS2's "fast load" setting?



    I did, and I did not notice any slowdown except during one instance (summonings). The rest of the time, the games ran fine.

  2. #2
    Lvl 99 Custom rank graphic
    Daria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5,214
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Nymphomatic

    Default

    Funny. Could have sworn it was a PSOne title.

    It's nice that the error's fixed on a PS2 but not everyone's playing it on one.

  3. #3
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    325
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Okay.

    Well now that people know the PS2 fixes the problem, maybe they'll use that console instead.

    Disclaimer: The message you just read is my opinion. If you do not like my opinion, I apologize in advance. Please explain where my opinion is wrong or fallacious. Thank you.

  4. #4
    ServBot (Level 11) Lemmy Kilmister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Holliston, MA
    Posts
    3,405
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I thought that FF anthologies was buggy on the ps2 and wasn't really compatable with it?
    Tradegamesnow and GameTZ feedback.

  5. #5
    Pac-Man (Level 10) Nez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Glendale, Az
    Posts
    2,699
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yup ffv dosn't save right. The bug messes with the save screen, although rarely it displayes the save screen correctly. Oh I played ffvi on the psx and I thought loading times were fine. Better then chronicals at least.
    (Oo (xxx) oO) (Oo (xxx) oO)
    .o xxxxxxxx o . o xxxxxxxx o

  6. #6
    Pac-Man (Level 10) FantasiaWHT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    2,669
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    There's two/three versions of it.

    The initial release had some problems playing on PS2- a lot of games that were ALREADY ports did. Same thing for GB/GBC games playing on the GBA.

    The rereleased greatest hits (and I want to say the later production runs of the original release too) have no problems of a major sort, but still have annoyingly long load times.

  7. #7
    Kirby (Level 13) Custom rank graphic
    MegaDrive20XX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Waco TX
    Posts
    5,921
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I bought the GH Verison not too long ago...seems fine for me on the PS2...the load time is there somewhat...but doesn't bother me
    These cartridges are dirty as hell and I'm not going to take it anymore!

  8. #8
    Alex (Level 15)
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Providence RI
    Posts
    7,099
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    SoulBlazer07

    Default

    I have a original release FFA. Never ONCE had a problem with it.

    And yeah, it's a little slow in parts, but not bad. Chronicles is the same way.

    I never thought about using the Fast Load option, though, since that, like, NEVER works for ANYTHING..... x_x
    "Four o'clock and all is well.....wish I was in bed, Sir."
    -- Guard in the Imperial City, Oblivion

  9. #9
    Apple (Level 5)
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,049
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I have the original release, and experienced the same save screen bug. It'll still save fine, but you have to kinda guess what slot it's saving too.

  10. #10
    Great Puma (Level 12) -hellvin-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    4,739
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    FFVI on FFA is just fine IMO. I didn't notice much loading time. Although FFC was PAIN. Playing Chrono Trigger.....

    wait




    wait


    SHINK! FINALLY draws his damn sword.

  11. #11
    Great Puma (Level 12) RetroYoungen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Your local card room
    Posts
    4,115
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Cy4nBlue
    PSN
    RetroYoungen
    3DS Friend
    0817-3748-2336

    Default

    The loading times got annoying to me, I've been playing on my PS2. In Chronicals, going to the save screen in IV/II was a bear, and Anthology FF VI/III just loading up in general was annoying. I don't think either one was particularly better in loading than the other.

  12. #12
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    325
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The Save Screen gets scrambled, but you can still save your game. I played from start-to-finish that way.
    Disclaimer: The message you just read is my opinion. If you do not like my opinion, I apologize in advance. Please explain where my opinion is wrong or fallacious. Thank you.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-24-2011, 12:29 PM
  2. Why was Neo Geo slow-down okay?
    By DeputyMoniker in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 10-23-2007, 05:56 AM
  3. PS2 slim slow-loading (LOCK, please)
    By Bassgrabber in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-05-2007, 01:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •