Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Question Regarding Composite-to-S-Video Adapters

  1. #1
    Strawberry (Level 2) nildem's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Raytown, MO, USA
    Posts
    497
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Xbox LIVE
    nildem
    PSN
    nildem
    Steam
    nildem

    Default Question Regarding Composite-to-S-Video Adapters

    Here's my predicament. While my TV does have both Composite and S-Video rear inputs, they share the same L/R audio inputs and my TV will only allow one video input to be used at once. If I use both at once, my TV will only recognize the S-Video input.

    I have several consoles that I would like to hook up to this TV, but I only own composite video cables for them.

    I have a monsterous switchbox that is hooked up through S-Video.

    I was wondering if one of these would allow me to hook these consoles up using the S-Video switchbox. ??? I'm not looking for an increase in signal quality or anything, just the convenience of not having to mess around behind my TV whenever I want to play Genesis.

  2. #2
    Banana (Level 7) davidleeroth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yes and no. If you connect the adapter to switchbox S-video out (and therefore composite to TV), there shouldn't be problems (of course) but AFAIK composite to S-video (connecting the adapter to switchbox S-video in) requires a more complex separator.

    In theory, the signal will be a bit worse than composite but I don't think it will be anything noticeable.

    "I never should the games I sold and I have replaced them but they are not the game just a hollow shell of the same game." -RugalSizzler

  3. #3
    Pac-Man (Level 10) FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    2,145
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    No, that cable won't work. It should, but every one that I've tried simply dumps the chroma signal, so everything will be in black and white. You need to find a composite -> s-video adapter that isn't sold at a computer store.

  4. #4
    Banana (Level 7) davidleeroth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the info, I'm really surprised to hear that.

    What's the point of the cable if it dumps the C? I mean how expensive adding a capacitor to chroma line could be when that's all it takes for it to work? x_x

    "I never should the games I sold and I have replaced them but they are not the game just a hollow shell of the same game." -RugalSizzler

  5. #5
    Pac-Man (Level 10) FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    2,145
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Got me. I tried to use one that came with my video card to convert s-vid to composite and all I got was a B&W picture. Same results for a friend of mine. Of course, YMMV, but I'd seek a different adapter. Another guy I know actually had found a switchbox that would convert composite into s-video. Don't remember the brand, tho.

  6. #6
    Banana (Level 7) davidleeroth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Just guessing but could it be the video card? AFAIK different manufacturers use a different pin layouts on their cards. Well anyways, if someone decides to put $1.75 down for one, let me know if it works.

    "I never should the games I sold and I have replaced them but they are not the game just a hollow shell of the same game." -RugalSizzler

  7. #7
    Pac-Man (Level 10) FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    2,145
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I was using it to bench test an s-video mod on a composite-only video monitor. No computer hardware involved.

  8. #8
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    577
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I bought a $21 dollar Radio Shack adapter that coverts between composite and s-video. It seems to work fine but the s-video output won't have s-video sharpness. It can't work magic, your tv will always have a better separation filter

  9. #9
    Pac-Man (Level 10) The Manimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,120
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FABombjoy
    Got me. I tried to use one that came with my video card to convert s-vid to composite and all I got was a B&W picture. Same results for a friend of mine. Of course, YMMV, but I'd seek a different adapter. Another guy I know actually had found a switchbox that would convert composite into s-video. Don't remember the brand, tho.

    I have one that does, and it is a JVC.

    http://www.jvc.com/product.jsp?produ...0000&pathId=94

  10. #10
    Banana (Level 7) davidleeroth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The Manimal
    Quote Originally Posted by FABombjoy
    Got me. I tried to use one that came with my video card to convert s-vid to composite and all I got was a B&W picture. Same results for a friend of mine. Of course, YMMV, but I'd seek a different adapter. Another guy I know actually had found a switchbox that would convert composite into s-video. Don't remember the brand, tho.

    I have one that does, and it is a JVC.

    http://www.jvc.com/product.jsp?produ...0000&pathId=94
    At $800 I would be pretty pissed if it didn't. :P

    "I never should the games I sold and I have replaced them but they are not the game just a hollow shell of the same game." -RugalSizzler

  11. #11
    Pac-Man (Level 10) The Manimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,120
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I paid $300 less. It's really nice, though I don't think it converts S-VIDEO to COMPONENT....just:

    COMPOSITE <-> S-VIDEO
    either way...in case you only have COMPOSITE on your TV/Projector.

    You can do all sorts of things with it but I haven't actually taken advantage of the features like recording from sources 1, 3, and 4 to input 5 while recording from sources 2 and 6 to input 8. :P

Similar Threads

  1. X'Eye composite video noise
    By sparf in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-14-2013, 12:09 PM
  2. WTB: Atari Jaguar S-Video or Composite Video Cable
    By pcc08 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-23-2010, 03:27 PM
  3. Sega Genesis/CD Composite Video Question
    By Tempest in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-27-2009, 08:59 PM
  4. General RF/Composite/S-Video/RGB Scart question (Multi systems)
    By olliesfollies in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-24-2007, 01:56 PM
  5. 7800 composite mod question
    By OdSquad64 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-03-2005, 12:28 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •