Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Turbo Grafx 16 CD SYstem - White Screen Question?

  1. #1
    Strawberry (Level 2) Necrosaro420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Afganistan
    Posts
    502
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Turbo Grafx 16 CD SYstem - White Screen Question?

    I purchased a Turbo Grafx 16 and CD system at goodwill for $15. I remember reading that you need a hu card to play CD games on it if I remember correctly. Anyways, this did not include one, and All I get is a white screen when I try to play CD games. I can hear music ect ect fine, but can not see anything on the screen. There was 1 game with it, Monster Lair I belive was the name. So Do I have to have one of the CD Cards to actually play CD games? Thanks

  2. #2
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    442
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You won't be able to play the CD games without the CD system card.

  3. #3
    Great Puma (Level 12) jonjandran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Pine Mountain , Georgia
    Posts
    4,669
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yep you need a 2.0 or 3.0 System Card.

    http://www.tzd.com/information.cgi?id=540

  4. #4
    Strawberry (Level 2) Necrosaro420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Afganistan
    Posts
    502
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks Alot. What is the difference between 2.0 and 3.0?

  5. #5
    Pretzel (Level 4)
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    878
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    2.0 lets you play CD games, 3.0 had more memory and lets you play Super CD games as well as the regular ones.

  6. #6
    Apple (Level 5)
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,156
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    i believe that 1.0 let you play cd games, 2 let you play super cd games, and 3 had more memory than 2.

  7. #7
    ServBot (Level 11) Custom rank graphic
    Graham Mitchell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    3,623
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Psygnosis8
    PSN
    Psygnosis8
    Steam
    Psygnosis8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by soniko_karuto
    i believe that 1.0 let you play cd games, 2 let you play super cd games, and 3 had more memory than 2.
    I think this is correct. Then there's the Arcade Card. I've never used one, but isn't it better than all those other cards?

  8. #8
    Alex (Level 15) maxlords's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7,533
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by soniko_karuto
    i believe that 1.0 let you play cd games, 2 let you play super cd games, and 3 had more memory than 2.
    Wrong. There is no US 1.0 card. The regular card that came with the US system is a 2.0 card that lets you play regular CD games and CD-ROM 2 games.

    The System 3.0 card lets you play Super CD-ROM 2 games. It's also extremely rare and expensive.

    In short, you need a System 2.0 or 3.0 card to use the unit. 2.0 should be cheap....maybe $10-15, but the 3.0 is required for many of the best CD games and will run you a good $70+ if you're lucky

    White screen means the unit is functioning but lacking the media (i.e. the system either doesn't see the game, doesn't have a game in it, or in your case can't due to the lack of card.
    scooterb: "I once shot a man in Catan, just to watch him die."

  9. #9
    Strawberry (Level 2) Necrosaro420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Afganistan
    Posts
    502
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Okie looks like I needa buy a card then =) Thanks for all the help guys

  10. #10
    Great Puma (Level 12) -hellvin-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    4,739
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Good luck finding the card! I'd defenitely hold out and get the 3.0 as you will in one sweep be able to play all the games right off the bat and not have to worry about being unable to play a few. Nice find, Monster Lair is a reallly fun arcade platformer, I've been wanting to try the TurboCD version forever.

  11. #11
    Pear (Level 6) retroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    1,260
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    retroman20/retroman21
    PSN
    retroman13

    Default tgcd

    no card..no play

Similar Threads

  1. Turbo grafx 16 white screen problem
    By SEgamer in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-03-2010, 04:01 PM
  2. Turbo Grafx 16 CD System & Turbo Booster Plus RCA CORDS
    By classic gamer in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-04-2004, 04:33 PM
  3. turbo grafx cd question
    By theoakwoody in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 09-20-2004, 08:07 PM
  4. turbo grafx 16 question
    By dsullo in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-30-2002, 12:19 PM
  5. Question about Turbo Grafx 16 & CD PSU's
    By Achika in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-17-2002, 11:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •