Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Hooking up a TG16 CD.

  1. #1
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    586
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Hooking up a TG16 CD.

    I got a TG16 CD today, and now I'm trying to hook it up. I got the AC adaptor in (It's a radio shack one, wish TG16 had a power LED to tell if the AC adaptor is working) and I hooked the composite cable to the back, but it's not working. I don't have a system card, so for now I'm just using Keith Courage as a test, but it's still not working. Any idea what I'm doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Crono (Level 14) Pantechnicon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Alburquerque
    Posts
    6,711
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Zeno2112

    Default

    Does the TG16-CD have actual composite outputs on it? I got a regular TG16 a couple weeks ago and it's RF only (I got the TurboBooster add-on as well, but the base unit is just RF). I assume you know the difference between RF and composite video.

    The only other thing I would suggest is verifying the voltage on your Radio Shack adapter is correct. Assuming the voltage for the TG16 and TG16-CD are the same, you want 10.5VDC 730mA with an inside ground.

    Failing that, you've got some unforseen problem with the unit, perhaps a short on the board. If composite video doesn't work, try RF output as well. Either way good luck.

  3. #3
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    586
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I got it working. I think the problem is that the CD player's dial wasn't fully set to lock.

  4. #4
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    291
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Did you actually play it? I can't believe you got a radio shack power supply to work for you? You have solved the mystery of a lot of people I have talked to about their frustrations on not being able to find a replacement ps. Congrats.

  5. #5
    Crono (Level 14) Pantechnicon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Alburquerque
    Posts
    6,711
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Zeno2112

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by theoakwoody
    Did you actually play it? I can't believe you got a radio shack power supply to work for you? You have solved the mystery of a lot of people I have talked to about their frustrations on not being able to find a replacement ps. Congrats.
    Hear hear! How about sharing that RS catalog number with us?

Similar Threads

  1. WTB TG16... TG16, Laseractive, Game & Watch for Trade
    By TheClash603 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-08-2010, 09:03 PM
  2. Hooking an nes up to my pc.
    By blaketaya in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-05-2009, 11:26 PM
  3. WTB: TG16 Super Air Zonk CD, TG16 protos/betas
    By etrader99 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-06-2005, 07:21 AM
  4. Hooking up a TI-99
    By Gapporin in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-24-2005, 08:01 PM
  5. Hooking Up the 32X
    By Tempest in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-26-2002, 01:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •