Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: does a genesis power supply work on a mega drive 2?

  1. #1
    Peach (Level 3) rick weis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    639
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default does a genesis power supply work on a mega drive 2?

    if not, what can i use to make it work?

    Thanks for the help guys!

    Rick

  2. #2
    Pac-Man (Level 10) suppafly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    2,710
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Im not sure and i cant check it out (im at work right now). But I think it doesnt work....I will test it later at home and drop you a line here!

  3. #3
    ServBot (Level 11) Cauterize's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    3,877
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Rick actually means, a Genesis 2 Power SUpply on Megadrive 2.
    We need to know this for a trade/sale we are working on

    RetroCollect - PAL Rarity Guides, News, Reviews, Community & Forum
    View my Retro Game Collection: Click here
    My Trade List: Click here
    My Want List: Click here

  4. #4
    Peach (Level 3) rick weis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    639
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cauterize
    Rick actually means, a Genesis 2 Power SUpply on Megadrive 2.
    We need to know this for a trade/sale we are working on
    i only have a genesis 1 power supply (if there is a diffrence between 1 and 2) just need to know what will work.

    @suppafly thank you!

    Rick

  5. #5
    Great Puma (Level 12) anagrama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Newcastle, UK
    Posts
    4,704
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    A Genesis 1 power supply won't work on a Mega Drive 2. A Genesis 2 Power supply should be fine.

    You'll also have trouble with a 50Hz PAL image unless you've got as compatible TV or an RGB monitor.

  6. #6
    ServBot (Level 11) Cauterize's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    3,877
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by anagrama
    You'll also have trouble with a 50Hz PAL image unless you've got as compatible TV or an warm chocolate puddin' monitor.
    im fixing a 50/60hz switch onto the baby so that problem will be fixed

    RetroCollect - PAL Rarity Guides, News, Reviews, Community & Forum
    View my Retro Game Collection: Click here
    My Trade List: Click here
    My Want List: Click here

  7. #7
    Peach (Level 3) rick weis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    639
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    @anagrama thank you!

    looks like i'm in need of a genesis 2 power supply.

    Rick

  8. #8
    Alex (Level 15)
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Providence RI
    Posts
    7,099
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    SoulBlazer07

    Default

    Check any old Funco's (now GameStops) in your area. That's where I got one at.
    "Four o'clock and all is well.....wish I was in bed, Sir."
    -- Guard in the Imperial City, Oblivion

Similar Threads

  1. Mega Amp - new audio circuit for Genesis/Mega Drive
    By Guntz in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-02-2014, 06:36 PM
  2. Japanese Mega Drive Power Supply Info
    By todesengel in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-12-2009, 09:07 PM
  3. Power supply for Mega Drive and Genesis
    By Sergeant Sega in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 08:48 AM
  4. Help I need an Atari 1050 disk drive cable and power supply.
    By vintagegamecrazy in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-10-2005, 03:04 PM
  5. Will this power supply work on a 32X and/or Genesis 2?
    By Keir in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-23-2004, 04:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •