Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Broken Genesis Cartridge?

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Broken Genesis Cartridge?

I'm new to the Sega Genesis. In fact, I've only had one since Friday when I found a Model 1 with AC adapter in a thrift store for $6. I've been using my NES RF switch to test it, but am hoping to find an AV cable for it.

Anyway, I've picked up a few Genesis games through my collecting period and have been testing them. I do a standard Q-tip and rubbing alcohol clean of the exposed cartridge contacts before testing them. Most have worked fine after doing this. For some, the screen went black when I tried them, but a second cleaning fixed those problems.

Except for one cartridge - Streets of Rage 3. At first, it exhibited the signs that really dirty games did. However, then it changed its behavior (still not working) as has done so through 6 cleanings.

What happens now is this: When I turn on the system, the standard licensing message appears, then fades, then the screen is black for a second or two and then turns completely red and nothing further happens. Sometimes, the screen would just go black and stay black after the licesning message, but in the past two tries it has been red.

Given these symptoms, can anyone tell me the likely problem? Do I just need to make the cart cleaner? If I need to open it, what tool do I use? Or is it just a dead cartridge and I should find a new copy?
    "Dost thou love me?" "No" "But thou must!"

My Video Game Journal

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

I was just having this problem, and I was playing the game through a 32X. Cleaning it again and taking out the 32X fixed the problem.
    Rarest games in collection: (R8) Chavez II for SNES / (R7) Star Gunner (Telesys) for Atari 2600
    Game Collection -- Game Commercials -- Favorite Game: Secret of Mana
    Wii code: 2572 7867 9177 9866 Smash: 0259-0110-4026