Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Need help sound problem NES

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Need help sound problem NES

    It's hard to explain but whenever I play a game I only get half the sound and the other half is like this "humming" noise? I have my NES hooked up with the AV cables whenever I use a RF switch the picture is all messed up but the RF switch works fine on my SNES? I don't know if it's because I play on a new TV, or if it's something wrong internally with my nes. Any light on the subject would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Pretzel (Level 4)
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    The Georgia swamp.
    Posts
    820
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I've had this happen to me also, but since I have about 5 NES consoles I just put it away....wouldn't mind figuring it out though.
    Run, run, or you'll be well done! -Kefka

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I made another thread asking about this item but it looks like it got deleted, I'm thinking about buying it to replace my NES but haven't heard anything about them here's the link
    http://www.gamesug.com/component/pag...shop/Itemid,1/
    if anyone knows how good they are let me know, also if anyone knows what's wrong with my regular Nes it would also be greatly appreciated

  4. #4
    Peach (Level 3)
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    South Holland, Illinois
    Posts
    690
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    squirrelnut1416

    Default

    For that price you could get a real nes offa ebay with 2 games and 2 controlers and an rf and power supply.

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by squirrelnut
    For that price you could get a real nes offa ebay with 2 games and 2 controlers and an rf and power supply.
    Yea that's true, I was thinking the same thing but does anyone know what the sound problem is? I use the AV cords because whenever I use a rf switch the picture is all messed up. Is it because I have it hooked up to a new 32 in. TV? or is it something I can fix on the nintendo itself. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated I really would like to fix this problem instead of having to buy another one.

  6. #6
    Banana (Level 7) SkiDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,442
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Could it be because the NES has mono sound, and you are only hooking up one audio cord to the TV? If so, you need a sort of Y-splitter cable so you can split the audio to both the left and right inputs. You have to be careful that when you do this, you dont "monofy" everything else, because you are hooking up your separate speakers. I have my NES plugged into a switchbox, so I dont have to worry about that.
    Rarest games in collection: (R8) Chavez II for SNES / (R7) Star Gunner (Telesys) for Atari 2600
    Game Collection -- Game Commercials -- Favorite Game: Secret of Mana
    Wii code: 2572 7867 9177 9866 Smash: 0259-0110-4026

  7. #7
    Cherry (Level 1) Veepa's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    300
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I have mine hooked up through the AV cables, and only have one audio wired hooked to my TV. And my TV is brand new... only a few months old... So it must be something wrong with the Nes... Or maybe it's the Audio wire? Have you tryed hooking it up with different AV wires?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    ~Nick J. Phillips

    "Eternal Popcorn" (Honestly?... This probably isn't worth clicking.)

  8. #8
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Veepa
    I have mine hooked up through the AV cables, and only have one audio wired hooked to my TV. And my TV is brand new... only a few months old... So it must be something wrong with the Nes... Or maybe it's the Audio wire? Have you tryed hooking it up with different AV wires?
    Yea I did but with regular RCA jacks I use the yellow and red off that they're not the original AV jacks from nintendo, I'll figure out a way to split it see if that works if not I'll look around and see if I can find nes av jacks on ebay .

Similar Threads

  1. Dreamcast sound problem
    By Videogame514 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-20-2013, 03:06 AM
  2. Sega CD 1 no sound problem
    By neojapan in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-08-2010, 03:01 PM
  3. New SMS Problem: No Sound!
    By darkslime in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-27-2009, 08:10 PM
  4. neo geo aes sound problem?
    By Arthur-Otaku in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-06-2005, 12:44 AM
  5. GameCube Sound Problem: Please Help!
    By slip81 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-12-2005, 03:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •