Thread: Is ebay safe??

Peach (Level 3)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Is ebay safe??

I have been using ebay for about 2 years now. I have really not had a problem using it and have been very careful about who I buy from and who I sell to. I only have 50 feedback but I have seen enough to wonder about how "secure" ebay is.

Now, dont get me wrong. I know that ebay is a secure site. I see the little lock at the bottom of my firefox window and it makes me feel secure in a way. But what about internal scams? What about people who post up things and never send them? I know ebay has a policy written on paper about that kind of thing, but what do they actually do when something goes wrong? As I browse the ebay forum here on DP, I see a lot of posts pointing out dishonest people on ebay (like the current one, where a person "came across" a lot of rare games and decided to sell them along with modded xboxes with preloaded pirated games.). What happens when you end up buying the item and they never send it? I know paypal doesnt do much and IF they do it takes upwards to 180 days to process..

Anyways, I want to hear some horror stories and what paypal/ebay did OR didnt do.. Is ebay really a "safe" place of commerse? I want to hear some opinions.

Heres mine:
    I really havent had a problem with paypal OR ebay yet besides my occasional goofups (undercharging for shipping or taking a loss). But those are both my mistake. I have talked to a few other and they say its a matter of time before I get ripped of and that it happens to everybody at one point or another.

^^Sig by felix. PM me if you want a custom sig.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    1 Post

Been buying & selling for 5 years, and have had over 800 transactions. In all that time I've lost moeny to 1 buyer who filed a fraudulent chargeback, and the only other trouble I've had was the occasional non-paying bidder.