Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Getting any video signal out of the GBA??

  1. #1
    Great Puma (Level 12) Bratwurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,457
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    13
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default Getting any video signal out of the GBA??

    Now that the original GBA units are so cheap has there been any documentation made towards tapping into the LCD ribbon and getting video onto another screen? I have a boatload of take out laptop displays.

    I'm not talking about converting the signal into RGB or anything to play on the television (although it would be cool to make a consolized GBA to that end) or using those third party add-ons.

    Ideally I want to avoid:

    Getting a Gamecube and player and dealing with the stupid bootdisk.

    The washed out SP screen and built in battery that WILL die someday.

    The crappy unlit screen in the original GBAs.

  2. #2
    Banana (Level 7)  Gideon 's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Mich
    Posts
    1,411
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    49
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    4
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default

    I starting thinking about this a while back. I ended up posting at some mod forums and was basically told what I expected: The GBA LCD connector is designed with the GBA LCD in mind. I know that sounds stuipdly obvious, but think of the ribbon as connection--not a connector. It goes between a GBA RAMDAC and a GBA LCD and can't really do much else.

    Of course, I'm just regurgitating information that came through other people. I would love if the LCD ribbon could be used elsewhere. But, I'm thinking there are certain connections that expect certain hardware conditions, and the resulting converter would be a piece of hardware in itself--like the third party add-ons you mentioned.

  3. #3
    Strawberry (Level 2) phreak97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    592
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    phreak97

    Default

    the majority of handhelds (with few exceptions, nomad is one) use their own propriatry digital video format, so it's impossible to work with them without the help of nintendo, which youll never get.

  4. #4
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NJ,USA
    Posts
    95
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    just get the gamecube player,it works great and even has a progressive scan mode.
    The real question is, how do you get video out of a game gear.

Similar Threads

  1. Help with Genesis 2 S-Video mod (CXA1145M encoder) - No signal. - FIXED!!!
    By izarate in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 10-24-2008, 02:34 PM
  2. no vga signal on DC vga box
    By .:shaun:. in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-23-2007, 01:18 AM
  3. WTB: PAL signal N64
    By drummy in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-21-2005, 07:13 AM
  4. Video/Game signal splitter.
    By jajaja in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-09-2005, 08:39 AM
  5. Turbografx 16...video signal help
    By Kroogah in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-23-2004, 05:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •