Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Captain Wrong
    PSN
    Captain Wrong

Default Missle Command help!

Hey, my Missle Command cabaret decided to stop working tonight. I'm new to trying to fix one of these, so I'll try to be as detailed as possible.

It was working fine, but when I turned it on tonight all the lights (marquee and player 1/2) light up, the monitor comes on, but the screen is a solid yellow. I've tried hitting the test switch and nothing changes. Checked the fuses, they look fine. Everything in the back looks as it should.

So, the $64,000 question, where do I start?

Authordreamweavervisionar yplusactor Arcade Antics's Avatar
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Does the game "coin up?" That is, if you put credits on it and start a game, can you hear the game playing?

Monitor appears to be getting power, that's a good sign.

You'll want to grab a voltmeter and check the -5, +5 and +12 on the board. Also use the continuity setting to check all the fuses, sometimes they look good but they aren't.

Has the game been moved recently? Could be a chip on the mobo needs to be resocketed. Also take a really good look at everything insidea nd see if there are any obvious loose connections, etc. A really thorough visual inspection is always the best place to start in any case.
    Selling collection, Atari through XBox. Send a PM with whatever games you're looking for.

Ladd Spencer (Level 17) Captain Wrong's Avatar
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Captain Wrong
    PSN
    Captain Wrong

Quote Originally Posted by Arcade Antics
    Does the game "coin up?" That is, if you put credits on it and start a game, can you hear the game playing?
    No I get nothing. the player 1 and 2 lights don't flash like they should either. Just solid.