Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: comp (vga) to tv (s-video)

  1. #1
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    caught beneath a landslide in a champagne supernova in the sky
    Posts
    377
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default comp (vga) to tv (s-video)

    im hooking up a computer with a voodoo 3 to a tv (this tv http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Polar...oductDetail.do ) using this adapter ( http://www.computercasesandcables.co...?mv_pc=froogle ). but i cannot get anything to show up clearly on the screen. the display changes when i turn on the computer, but its just fuzzy shit that scrolls up constantly. any suggestions?
    http://users.ign.com/collection/s1xstr1ngsav1or
    i love but two things in this world:
    oasis
    keira knightley

  2. #2
    Banned

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    6,165
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    I didn't think it was possible to output a VGA signal to S-video without a scan converter. I'm not entirely clear on what that cable is supposed to do...and considering it cost 5.50 when scan converters go for at least 50 bucks, I'm pretty sure that is the problem.

  3. #3
    Flawless Rawkality Flack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    OKC, OK
    Posts
    14,270
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default Re: comp (vga) to tv (s-video)

    Quote Originally Posted by umich
    im hooking up a computer with a voodoo 3 to a tv (this tv http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Polar...oductDetail.do ) using this adapter ( http://www.computercasesandcables.co...?mv_pc=froogle ). but i cannot get anything to show up clearly on the screen. the display changes when i turn on the computer, but its just fuzzy shit that scrolls up constantly. any suggestions?
    I've never tried an adapter like that one before, but I know when I had my old VGA>TV box I would have problems if the resolution on my PC was too high. Maybe try dropping the resolution to something low like 800x600 and see what happens?

  4. #4
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    caught beneath a landslide in a champagne supernova in the sky
    Posts
    377
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    the problems arise before windows even loads up, no matter what i output from the computer, right from the get go it is like this, and stays like this. any suggestions? im looking into the vga box you mentioned
    http://users.ign.com/collection/s1xstr1ngsav1or
    i love but two things in this world:
    oasis
    keira knightley

  5. #5
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    caught beneath a landslide in a champagne supernova in the sky
    Posts
    377
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    could i just get a pci graphics card that has s-video out? ive tried to work with those, but have had very spotty results. does anyone else use this method?
    http://users.ign.com/collection/s1xstr1ngsav1or
    i love but two things in this world:
    oasis
    keira knightley

  6. #6
    Banned

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    6,165
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    You could plug this box into your VGA connector instead of using an internal card.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16814100010R

  7. #7
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    caught beneath a landslide in a champagne supernova in the sky
    Posts
    377
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    has anyone used one of these before. once i hear its good, ill buy it.
    http://users.ign.com/collection/s1xstr1ngsav1or
    i love but two things in this world:
    oasis
    keira knightley

  8. #8
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    263
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I used a similar scan converter (another AVerMedia model) with a Voodoo 5 a few years ago and it worked well, but then I used a video card with an appropriate output and found it to be noticeably better. Since your TV supports component input, you might try to find out if any of ATI's older AIW cards supports component output like the newer ones do.

  9. #9
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    caught beneath a landslide in a champagne supernova in the sky
    Posts
    377
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102447

    this was the graphics card i was considering going with. would you go with the converter or the graphics card? and why?
    http://users.ign.com/collection/s1xstr1ngsav1or
    i love but two things in this world:
    oasis
    keira knightley

  10. #10
    Banned

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    6,165
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by umich
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814102447

    this was the graphics card i was considering going with. would you go with the converter or the graphics card? and why?
    If you are happy with your existing graphics card (aside from the S-video problem) I would go with the scan converter. If the new card is a nice upgrade, go with the card.

    Keep in mind that the scan converter can easily be used w/ another PC if you ever wish to do so.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-15-2015, 07:47 PM
  2. Comp Usa sale
    By Hep038 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-08-2004, 01:43 PM
  3. WTT: Comp Madden 93 Champ Ed for comp Clayfighter Sculptor
    By chadtower in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2003, 05:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •