Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 48

Thread: can Celeron D do gaming?

  1. #1
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Park, PA
    Posts
    537
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default can Celeron D do gaming?

    yep...im gonna build a new pc...and i will most likely choose this processor...i was curious about it.

  2. #2
    Banned

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    4,091
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    njiska

    Default

    Celeron = small cache = get a real P4.

  3. #3
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Park, PA
    Posts
    537
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    it has 256k...and 16k lv 1...plenty for me and my needs....i was just curious if it could game....its more or less for a school pc

  4. #4
    Banned

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    4,091
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    njiska

    Default

    For gaming you definitely want more. I mean yeah i could game, but it's the value option so you'll get value results.

  5. #5
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Park, PA
    Posts
    537
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    certainly is better than a 1ghz pentium 3....make that 994 mhz since thats what mine is reported running as

  6. #6
    Kirby (Level 13) Griking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    5,548
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I agree with earlier responses. It'll game but it won't game well. Like anything else in life, you get what you pay for.

  7. #7
    drowning in medals Ed Oscuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    16,550
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    I'd go with a San Diego core Athlon 64 4000+ from AMD. Quite cheap right now.

    Actually I still have the full set of specs for that which were mostly recommended by a moderator elsewhere...this PC is great and cost me just over $1800, and it's got a SoundBlaster, a DVD-RW drive, 1 GB of RAM, and a Geforce 7800GTX (top of the line, though since I bought it models have come out with silent cooling).

    So yeah...screw the Celeron D. This is the first AMD system I've had in a while and it's great.

  8. #8
    Apple (Level 5) evildead2099's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,181
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I like AMD Athlon processors, but I was just curious: if Intel makes cheapo Celeron processors, does AMD offer a comparable product, or does it just stick to high-end processors?

  9. #9
    Authordreamweavervisionar yplusactor Arcade Antics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    The Arcade
    Posts
    6,827
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Avoid Celeron like the plague. End of story.
    Selling collection, Atari through XBox. Send a PM with whatever games you're looking for.

  10. #10
    Banned

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    4,091
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    njiska

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcade Antics
    Avoid Celeron like the plague. End of story.
    Oh come on now be serious. I think we'd all rather have the plague then a celeron any day. Avoid the Celeron more then the plague.

  11. #11
    Apple (Level 5)
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1,000
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Is celeron D the same as Pentium D? Sorry, I just got my first PC 2 years ago. Last weekend, I went out and bought a Vaio RC, I like it but it came with a pentium D. I hope that's okay, because it cost a pretty penny.

  12. #12
    Banned

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    4,091
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    njiska

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by atm55
    Is celeron D the same as Pentium D? Sorry, I just got my first PC 2 years ago. Last weekend, I went out and bought a Vaio RC, I like it but it came with a pentium D. I hope that's okay, because it cost a pretty penny.
    No the Pentium D is a real pentium processer. And it's dual core which is cool.

  13. #13
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Park, PA
    Posts
    537
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    just put it all together with a 2.93 ghz celeron d...and it performs very well with battlefrield 2, quake 4, and my other games....so i dont know what you guys diss it for...i think u wanted me to spend money

  14. #14
    Apple (Level 5) evildead2099's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,181
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dukenkm44
    just put it all together with a 2.93 ghz celeron d...and it performs very well with battlefrield 2, quake 4, and my other games....so i dont know what you guys diss it for...i think u wanted me to spend money
    Maybe your system handles those 'demanding' games well because you have a high-end videocard (i.e. one of the latest Radeons or GEforeces), which takes stress of your CPU.

  15. #15
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Park, PA
    Posts
    537
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    nope...my card is old....128 meg radeon 9200...i believe its agp 4x too

  16. #16
    Apple (Level 5) evildead2099's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,181
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dukenkm44
    nope...my card is old....128 meg radeon 9200...i believe its agp 4x too
    You call that old?!?

    I'm using a TNT 2 w. 16MB RAM (4X AGP)

  17. #17
    Banned

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    MADTOWN
    Posts
    3,188
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I think the real question is:
    Can a Celeron D handle running Yahoo messenger and windows solitaire at the same time?

  18. #18
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Park, PA
    Posts
    537
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    kamino...the answer is yes...it can

  19. #19
    Pac-Man (Level 10) Custom rank graphic

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Turks and Caicos Islands
    Posts
    2,942
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Steam
    calthaer

    Default

    Forget the Pentiums.

    Laud the Athlons, heap praise upon them, and crown them with laurels for their all-surpassing speed and value.

    AMD > Intel.

    I would also avoid Sound Blaster cards if at all possible - my Audigy Gamer has consistently been one of the crappiest sound cards I've ever had due to driver problems. Not really sure what other choice one has, but I'm going with something else for my next PC.
    You are startled by a grim snarl. Before you, you see 1 Red dragon. Will your stalwart band choose to (F)ight or (R)un?

  20. #20
    Apple (Level 5) evildead2099's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,181
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by calthaer
    Forget the Pentiums.

    Laud the Athlons, heap praise upon them, and crown them with laurels for their all-surpassing speed and value.

    AMD > Intel.

    I would also avoid Sound Blaster cards if at all possible - my Audigy Gamer has consistently been one of the crappiest sound cards I've ever had due to driver problems. Not really sure what other choice one has, but I'm going with something else for my next PC.
    Good luck finding a quality substitute. I'm rather ignorant when it comes to high-end sound, but I do know that before Creative bought them out, Aureal used to make a quality sound card (featuring the A3D API).

Similar Threads

  1. Classic gaming over modern gaming? What's you're stance? Video included.....
    By TheRetroVideoGameAddict in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 75
    Last Post: 07-23-2016, 12:08 AM
  2. Removed
    By Tanooki in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-08-2015, 02:24 PM
  3. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-30-2012, 09:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •