Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Datel's Action Replay Max

  1. #1
    Kirby (Level 13) SegaAges's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    5,295
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Datel's Action Replay Max

    I got a strange urge out of the blue to play some Initial D. I searched around and found out that there is an import for ps2.

    You can can probably guess what I am going to ask, and if this needs to be asked in another forum instead of this one, let me know.

    Can I play imports for ps2 using a ar max, or do I need something else to run it (I am talking about software here, not hardware, I do not want a mod chip).

  2. #2
    Key (Level 9) RJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Oakdale MN
    Posts
    1,968
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Well, if this helps at all I got the Action Replay "limited edition" recently, came w/ a grey 16MB mem card & an included disc of PS1 codes.

    You can play any region DVDs but I dont think it helps w/ import GAMES- at least, I didnt see anything about that in the manual.
    "The big things that...nerds like to argue about might not actually matter that much."

  3. #3
    ServBot (Level 11) davidbrit2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Southwest Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,860
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    AR Max won't do squat for running import games. You need Swap Magic if you're looking for boot discs.

    Shop around here: http://revolution-sales.com/catalog/index.php?cPath=81

    You'll need one of the bundles that also includes something to fool the PS2 into not realizing you've changed discs. I'd recommend the fliptop lid kit if you've got a full size PS2, or the Magic Switch Pro v2 for the slim one.

  4. #4
    Kirby (Level 13) SegaAges's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    5,295
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I thought there would be an easy solution without buying extra stuff it's all good

    i just went to the arcade a week back and got hooked on initial d, and i think the ps2 version is as close to that arcade version as i know of.

  5. #5
    ServBot (Level 11) davidbrit2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Southwest Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,860
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SegaAges
    i just went to the arcade a week back and got hooked on initial d, and i think the ps2 version is as close to that arcade version as i know of.
    Were you playing Version 3? The PS2 one is based on Version 2, and thus the handling is quite a bit different (though it's still good fun). The PSP version coming out next month will be based on v3, and thus be much closer to the current arcade version.

    http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-71-...d-70-14ot.html

    You shouldn't be needing any mod chip or boot disc nonsense for that. Heh.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-29-2014, 01:59 AM
  2. Nes Mega Man 1 2 3 4 5 6, action replay ds, action 52 for sale
    By hogfishmaster in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 03:53 PM
  3. NES Datel Pro Action Replay
    By TomMage in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-01-2008, 11:20 PM
  4. WTB: Action Replay PS2?
    By Habeeb Hamusta in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-19-2007, 11:50 AM
  5. FA: Datel Pro action replay 2
    By Richter Belmount in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-27-2004, 12:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •