Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Income taxes on Ebay?

Strawberry (Level 2)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Income taxes on Ebay?

I having been selling on ebay for a few months now and im really pleased with everything. The thing is, I don't want to get slapped with some income taxes or whatever come 'that time.' Im almost positive that they don't have this, but I just want to be sure?

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

I have been selling for four years straight now, at about 5000.00 each year. Never claimed anything, never been asked. I think that it falls under "other income" which you can claim, if you want. I think that you don't have to claim untill it reaches a certian amount any way. Maybe someone with tax background can clarify that point for you.
    Condoleezza Rice is nice, but I prefer A Roni!

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

I don't think the IRS actively persues income tax evaders on eBay currently but I wouldn't be surprised if they started soon as it gets to be more and more popular. I doubt that they're just ignoring the fact that eBay makes millions per year off a few percent of each transaction.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    WastingOrpheus

When the govt wants to know what you search for on goggle how far behind can this be? It will happen. When I dunno. Ebay will hand over the sellers numbers and you'll be getting a nice little form letter for the past 7 years worth of items sold.

Bell (Level 8)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

People with businesses have to file their Costs - Receipts = Profits with the IRS. Same with Ebay businesses.

The money I make's only $25 a year--- don't need to report that small amount.

(•¿•) - "Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that.