Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: MadCatz Universal S-AV Cable question

  1. #1
    Kirby (Level 13) Leo_A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    5,875
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default MadCatz Universal S-AV Cable question

    This is probably a dumb question, but does this thing allow you to just have the capability of easily switching systems out without changing the cord? Or are there no dangers having this hooked up to a Game Cube/Xbox/PS2 at the same time, even if accidently two of them were turned on at the same time?

    http://www.ebgames.com/product.asp?product%5Fid=801341

    And has anyone here actually tried these? I've only ever used composite connections, I was thinking this might be a cheap way to see how much better s-video is now that I have a tv that supports it. Plus it would help reduce the clutter a bit by eliminating two cables entirely.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Banana (Level 7) SkiDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,442
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    S video is definately nice. I dont know what would happen if two systems were tuned on simultaneously.
    Rarest games in collection: (R8) Chavez II for SNES / (R7) Star Gunner (Telesys) for Atari 2600
    Game Collection -- Game Commercials -- Favorite Game: Secret of Mana
    Wii code: 2572 7867 9177 9866 Smash: 0259-0110-4026

  3. #3
    Cherry (Level 1) OdSquad64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    1060 West Addison
    Posts
    270
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    OdSquad64
    PSN
    OdSquad64

    Default

    not the same thing, but something similar, I had a dreamcast/playstation/gamecube AV cable. I had the gamecube and dreamcast hooked up at the same time and I turned on the dreamcast and somehow it also turned on the gamecube (no one touched it). well after that the dreamcast would no longer output video so I opened it up and couldn't see anything wrong with it, but on a hunch I soldered the +5v on the video connector to another +5v source and it worked again. seems like a rare occurance though since i had used the cable for years with no problems


  4. #4
    Strawberry (Level 2) MonoTekETeA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Dirty Jersey
    Posts
    473
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OdSquad64 View Post
    not the same thing, but something similar, I had a dreamcast/playstation/gamecube AV cable. I had the gamecube and dreamcast hooked up at the same time and I turned on the dreamcast and somehow it also turned on the gamecube (no one touched it). well after that the dreamcast would no longer output video so I opened it up and couldn't see anything wrong with it, but on a hunch I soldered the +5v on the video connector to another +5v source and it worked again. seems like a rare occurance though since i had used the cable for years with no problems
    This is exactly what I am about to do with my new set up, except Dreamcast, PS1, and a SNES. I wanted to bump the thread and see if anyone else has any experience on the subject. Thanks!

    -Jeremy
    Last edited by MonoTekETeA; 11-30-2007 at 03:08 PM.
    Yippy Kie Yo Yai Yay
    I am really bad at spelling...no really.
    v A gift from Drexel923, Thanks homie! v

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0) jferio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    124
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I don't seem to have any problems with my setup. I had the cable because I have a PS2 and SNES (yes, the connector for the Gamecube is identical to the one on that old thing!), and now I have an XBox my brother gave me, also attached to that cable.

    Of course, I haven't tried powering on more than one console, but I expect that all you'd see is a bad interference like a channel not coming through cleanly.
    "I've not seen such bravery!"

  6. #6
    Kirby (Level 13) Leo_A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    5,875
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    I was too scared to ever try it, ended up buying more cables and AV selector boxes. lol

Similar Threads

  1. Y cable question
    By crom in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-27-2009, 03:09 PM
  2. MadCatz Universal S-AV Cable compatibility question
    By Ace Comics in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-18-2008, 03:40 AM
  3. FS: Genesis 1 stereo cable, mono cable, ti99 RF cable.
    By Kamino in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-06-2005, 11:12 PM
  4. Madcatz MC2 Universal Steering Wheel for Sale
    By dr mario kart in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-10-2003, 12:53 AM
  5. PS One cable question...what does it do??
    By Gamereviewgod in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-08-2003, 04:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •