Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 37

Thread: Bought my first arcade machine, Rally X (Mini) (Repair Time)

  1. #1
    ServBot (Level 11) Slate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    3,636
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    54
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    4
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default Bought my first arcade machine, Rally X (Mini) (Repair Time)

    Edit: Time to repair the machine. The new problem will be at my most recent reply.

    The Story:

    Almost 1 year ago, I saw this arcade machine at a garage sale, But wasn't interested.

    Then about 5 months ago, I remembered it, thought "Man i should pick that up!" And searched for the person's house (Boy did that take awhile!) And eventually i found hi's house, And he still had the arcade machine.

    I asked how much he wanted for it, He says "$25" I KNOW this is a killer price, So i plan to buy it, I tell him i'll pick it up sometime when i can transport it (No truck) And, Friday before last, I paid $10 to him to hold it for 30 days. Guranted ownership!

    Then, me and my dad looked for some roofracks, And we bought some roofracks from a Sort-of-junk-shop And then, once the wooden roofracks were bought, We put them on the car.

    The next day, (Last friday) We went out towards hi's (The arcade machine's owner's) House, (He lives about 30 miles away from where i live) And bought the arcade machine.

    I also saw a boxed Super nintendo at a yard sale, (That i didn't buy since it was too expensive) But that's a different story in the May 2006 finds thread.

    Once we had the arcade machine on the car, We took some pictures of it on the car.

    I don't have the pictures of Rally X on the car ready just yet (I will update the digital pics) But after that, We went to EB, I Showed the employees a pic of the arcade machine, They were impressed, I didn't buy anything there, though.

    While we (Me and my dad) were pulling out of the parking lot, The manager of EB was coming back after her lunch break, And we passed her as we were pulling out. Once we drove by her with the arcade machine on the roof, She knew we weren't kidding when we said I bought an arcade machine for $20! (Yeah, $20! that's the price i paid for it!)

    The arcade machine is the only item i bought that day, But man, If it isn't worth it, what is!

    When we got it home, We were unsure how the heck to get it off of the car. But, A neighbor was driving by, we asked if he could help us get it off. Soon enough, It was off the car.

    Next step, Getting it upstairs.

    Well that was fun (sarcasam) And now it's in my room:



    Beautiful, isn't it?

    I have both of the keys for it, too!

    So, the next day i opened up the back with the key, Oh god, someone who was unexperienced (And uneducated) at electronics tried to fix it before.

    A cord on the cables to the power board circuit is soldered to the board, So i can't take the board off, And worse, the board is off the track!

    Well, I can still take the track off and put the board on it that way.

    Hmm, what's this? The schematics and manual to the whole system!



    And, the folder it's in is the original one, too!



    Anyway, Yes the machine needs to be worked on, But i will get it running.

    And yes, I paid $20 for it, plus gasoline, Straps, and the roofracks.

    So, I'd say i have a good $40 in this machine so far.

    I think i did great, And furthermore i may be able to get Three more arcade machines, If i can get ahold of the owner first (I haven't heard from him since december.. A Bad sign)

    How do you think i did?

  2. #2
    Cherry (Level 1) Truffle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    390
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default



    Cool deal! Any cab for that kind of price is awsome!
    ( I paid $25 for my first machine, and $14 for my second)
    Vectors, pixels & polygons

  3. #3
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    3,014
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Cabaret style - nice. I've been wanting a Rally X (standard or cabaret) for a while now. Before I saw the picture (or the "mini" in the subject), I started cringing about putting a full-sized cab on the roof of a vehicle. I've seen this attempted twice: first time, the game rolled off the roof at the first corner, and second time, the roof caved before the car even got started.

    Still, good score!
    *************************************************
    New England Classic Gaming - Violent fighting to come again!
    *************************************************

  4. #4
    Authordreamweavervisionar yplusactor Arcade Antics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    The Arcade
    Posts
    6,827
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ClubNinja
    I started cringing about putting a full-sized cab on the roof of a vehicle. I've seen this attempted twice: first time, the game rolled off the roof at the first corner, and second time, the roof caved before the car even got started.
    D'oh! The roof-rolloff is a camcorder moment if ever there was one.

    Nice score on the Rally-X, the Pac-Man that was never meant to be. There must be some weird phenomenon with Rally-X always going so cheap, I've heard a dozen stories just like this one.

    *cue Twilight Zone music*



    *not the Golden Earring tune*
    Selling collection, Atari through XBox. Send a PM with whatever games you're looking for.

  5. #5
    Great Puma (Level 12) Darth Sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    4,762
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Great Score. Rally X is a killer game.

  6. #6
    ServBot (Level 11) aaron7's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    3,169
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Nice! Just got my first yesterday... such a cool feeling! Though mine is full sized... and I never knew anything could be that heavy!!

    Let us know once it's up!

  7. #7
    Cherry (Level 1) TripppsK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    205
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Very nice find. Welcome to the club.

  8. #8
    ServBot (Level 11) Slate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    3,636
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    54
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    4
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default

    OK, i replaced the power plug, The machine powers on, but the game is locked up when i turn it on.. (?)

    The screen powers up, The machine powers up, and i hear some sound from the speaker when i turn it on.

    I'm going to try and find this problem ASAP.

  9. #9
    ServBot (Level 11) Slate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    3,636
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    54
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    4
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default

    "Bump!"

    I think the game board is what's bad. I'll be buying a Rally X game board off ebay to replace it.

  10. #10
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    430
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    check the voltage on the games power supply. also try the basic stuff such as reaseating + cleaning the roms..

  11. #11
    ServBot (Level 11) Slate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    3,636
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    54
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    4
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default

    Well, as i said earlier, i replaced the power plug, (It was really corroded..) And everything turns on, but the game is locked up when it's on. Also i put the PCB back in the track, So that's fixed.

    And i checked the switches on the ROM board(s) and it's A-OK there, i also removed the ROM board(s) to get a better look at them.

    So how would i go cleaning the ROM board? Just like any other board?

  12. #12
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    229
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Those older games often freeze or lock up due to bad power. You can try incrementally increasing your +5V on the psu and see if that helps. Best done with a basic multimeter too.

  13. #13
    ServBot (Level 11) Slate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    3,636
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    54
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    4
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Berty
    Those older games often freeze or lock up due to bad power. You can try incrementally increasing your +5V on the psu and see if that helps. Best done with a basic multimeter too.
    Sounds a little scary to do.. Although the transformers ARE a little rusty, Though they run.

    I thought it was the game board, but i Am a n00b at arcade machine troubleshooting...

  14. #14
    Cherry (Level 1) Peale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Brattleboro, VT
    Posts
    222
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You'll need a digital multimeter to test the voltage, if you don't already have one.

    Where are you located?

  15. #15
    Cherry (Level 1) Peale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Brattleboro, VT
    Posts
    222
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You'll need a digital multimeter to test the voltage, if you don't already have one.

    Where are you located?

  16. #16
    Cherry (Level 1) Peale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Brattleboro, VT
    Posts
    222
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You'll need a digital multimeter to test the voltage, if you don't already have one.

    Where are you located?

  17. #17
    ServBot (Level 11) GarrettCRW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    3,700
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    GarrettCRW
    PSN
    GarrettCRW

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcade Antics
    There must be some weird phenomenon with Rally-X always going so cheap, I've heard a dozen stories just like this one.
    Haven't you heard? Rally X (like Speed Buggy) is now a hard-core crackhead. To him, $20 is a friggin' fortune.




    Webmaster of the Cartoon Review Website!
    http://www.cartoonreviewsite.com

    My sale thread

  18. #18
    ServBot (Level 11) Slate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    3,636
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    54
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    4
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Peale
    You'll need a digital multimeter to test the voltage, if you don't already have one.

    Where are you located?
    I can't say where i'm located, I prefer to keep that private for now. But i think my dad has a digtal multimeter. Or voltmeter.

    As i said, the transformer is a bit rusty. Considering the previous owner kept it in hi's garage, That probably is it.

  19. #19
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    430
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    the transformer or the main supply?

    a rusty transformer is not a problem (the iso will power the monitor)

    if the board is getting juice, chances are the supply is perfectly fine, it just needs trimming up to the correct level.

    a digital multimeter is a MUST if you've got any cab(s), you'll get nowhere without one.

    rally x is pretty old, if it's got a liniar supply, bin it and install a standard supply - will cause less trouble in future.

  20. #20
    ServBot (Level 11) Slate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    3,636
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    54
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    4
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default

    The transformer. The external power supply was rusted beyond use, but i replaced it.

    What voltage should it need?

Similar Threads

  1. Time Pilot Arcade machine advice
    By kai123 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-18-2012, 09:13 AM
  2. Time Killers arcade machine - free
    By RCM in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-21-2012, 05:33 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-12-2010, 08:59 PM
  4. Just bought an arcade machine, I have some questions.
    By dbiersdorf in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-25-2008, 11:17 PM
  5. Another FREE Arcade machine...UK this time!
    By maxlords in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-09-2004, 12:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •