Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Unwiring a Saturn Region Switch Mod?

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    20
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Unwiring a Saturn Region Switch Mod?

    Okay I recently got a previously modded saturn that is said to 'only play US games' because the mod chip doesnt work or something. It has a disc access light and oval buttons.

    Anyway, after replacing the battery and replacing the RF unit (due to the screen blinking) I have a new problem.

    I finally just got some games to play (NiGHTS and Virtua Fighter 2) and I put the game in the system and it says it's an invalid disk. It opens up the CD playback menu and I can play the music off the cds. But I can't play the game.

    Update
    I've realized it's a US/PAL/JPN region switch mod. It's a little switch wired to various jumpers on the motherboard. There were two wires that weren't connected. Is there any way to unwire all of these while retaining the US functionality of the console?


    [/b]

  2. #2
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    552
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Sounds like one or more of the wires in a region switch mod came loose. Try opening up the Saturn to see if there indeed is a loose wire. If it is, try reconnecting it. It might solve your problem.

  3. #3
    Pretzel (Level 4)
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Burnley
    Posts
    802
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Re: Unwiring a Saturn Region Switch Mod?

    Quote Originally Posted by mercuris
    Okay I recently got a previously modded saturn that is said to 'only play US games' because the mod chip doesnt work or something. It has a disc access light and oval buttons.

    Anyway, after replacing the battery and replacing the RF unit (due to the screen blinking) I have a new problem.

    I finally just got some games to play (NiGHTS and Virtua Fighter 2) and I put the game in the system and it says it's an invalid disk. It opens up the CD playback menu and I can play the music off the cds. But I can't play the game.

    Update
    I've realized it's a US/PAL/JPN region switch mod. It's a little switch wired to various jumpers on the motherboard. There were two wires that weren't connected. Is there any way to unwire all of these while retaining the US functionality of the console?


    [/b]
    If you want to use it for US only, remove all the wires going to the motherboard jumpers, and reconnect them in US mode according to the binary logic for US mode, dependant upon the 4 sets of jumpers, you may need to connect some jumpers up, either +5v or GND, it is likely 3 sets of jumpers will be isolated (if the original owner did the mod correctly).

    A simplier thing to do would be to reconnect the loose wires to the appropriate jumpers..!

  4. #4
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    552
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Or you can add a 74157 chip to make it switchless.

  5. #5
    Objection! Custom rank graphic
    Sailorneorune's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Henderson, KY
    Posts
    1,191
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I tried the switchless mod, and failed miserably. Now I have a few screws loose in my Saturn (and a silver thing)... any idea how to do it for a model 1 (oval buttons)?
    Serving the retrogaming community since March 2005

    DP feedback: +47(!), no negatives
    can be found here: http://www.digitpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=66092

  6. #6
    Alex (Level 15) InsaneDavid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    7,364
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    18
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    13
    Thanked in
    12 Posts

    Default

    I'll never understand why people wish to overcomplicate this mod by going the switchless route. Using a switch is far easier and more reliable (switchless is just one more IC in there to go bad) and then you just hide it on the back of the console.

  7. #7
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    552
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by InsaneDavid
    I'll never understand why people wish to overcomplicate this mod by going the switchless route. Using a switch is far easier and more reliable (switchless is just one more IC in there to go bad) and then you just hide it on the back of the console.
    A switch is just plain ugly even if it is hiding in the back. It's also much cleaner to go switchless. No need to drill a hole in your saturn case. There is less permament damage if you mess up doing the switchless method. As you can tell from the first post, the switch mod isn't as reliable as you claim. You'll have a higher chance of wearing out the switch before the ic goes bad.

Similar Threads

  1. US/JP CARTRIDGE Region Switch For JVC X'Eye
    By InsaneDavid in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 10-23-2011, 06:32 PM
  2. Sega Saturn Region Switch Mod
    By Cloud121 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-10-2010, 11:52 PM
  3. Finished the region switch on my X'Eye
    By Jimmy Yakapucci in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-24-2009, 02:21 PM
  4. S-Video modded Genesis with region switch and pal switch
    By Anthony1 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-04-2007, 11:03 PM
  5. [SOLD]: Saturn w/ Region Switch + 6 games, SNES
    By FABombjoy in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-21-2004, 05:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •