Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Corrupt Donkey Kong Country cart?

  1. #1
    Pretzel (Level 4) Quickclaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    811
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Corrupt Donkey Kong Country cart?

    After using a PS2 multi-out, the game was no longer able to create a save file. Also, an "unauthorized copying" message appeared on the screen. Even when reverting back to the RF switch, I experienced similar problems. Any help would be appreciated, so that I can continue exploring this great game.

  2. #2
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    552
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Trying cleaning the cartridge connector.

  3. #3
    ServBot (Level 11) MarioMania's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3,499
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The PS2 Multi out won't work on the SNES..You mean the SNES Multi out...

    But anyways..Can you get in the save screen..If you can, Just Erase everything

  4. #4
    Pretzel (Level 4) Quickclaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    811
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MarioMania
    The PS2 Multi out won't work on the SNES..You mean the SNES Multi out...

    But anyways..Can you get in the save screen..If you can, Just Erase everything
    The PS2 Multi-out cable works fine with my other SNES titles. Saves register on Super-Mario All-Stars, for example. But I'll try using a different brand. Is RCA neutral enough?

    Yes, I was able to access the save screen. Erased all three slots, but still drew blanks.

  5. #5
    Pretzel (Level 4) johno590's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    843
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    zebrassss

    Default

    This has already been discussed a little bit, althought there isn't much information on how to fix it.


    http://www.digitpress.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=80810

  6. #6
    ServBot (Level 11) MarioMania's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3,499
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Quickclaw
    Quote Originally Posted by MarioMania
    The PS2 Multi out won't work on the SNES..You mean the SNES Multi out...

    But anyways..Can you get in the save screen..If you can, Just Erase everything
    The PS2 Multi-out cable works fine with my other SNES titles. Saves register on Super-Mario All-Stars, for example. But I'll try using a different brand. Is RCA neutral enough?

    Yes, I was able to access the save screen. Erased all three slots, but still drew blanks.
    Are you using a Real SNES, It bogs me about someone is saying PS2 Multi-out with a SNES..Can you open the cart up

  7. #7
    Cherry (Level 1) OdSquad64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    1060 West Addison
    Posts
    270
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    OdSquad64
    PSN
    OdSquad64

    Default

    I realize this doesnt help your problem but i just want to clarify,

    You're plugging this:


    Into the hole labeled 1 in this:



    if you're not then you are using the term Multi-out incorrectly, and if you are, please enlighten me

    not to sound like a dick


  8. #8
    Pac-Man (Level 10) omnedon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,908
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I knew more about video games before I read this thread than I do now.
    ... for your gaming and iPod service needs http://www.oldschoolgamer.com/ For all your Video Game console and iPod upgrade/repair needs!

  9. #9
    Pretzel (Level 4) Quickclaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    811
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OdSquad64
    I realize this doesnt help your problem but i just want to clarify,

    You're plugging this:


    Into the hole labeled 1 in this:



    if you're not then you are using the term Multi-out incorrectly, and if you are, please enlighten me

    not to sound like a dick
    Yeah, that's what I did. Sorry if the terminology was incorrect.

  10. #10
    Cherry (Level 1) OdSquad64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    1060 West Addison
    Posts
    270
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    OdSquad64
    PSN
    OdSquad64

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Quickclaw
    Yeah, that's what I did. Sorry if the terminology was incorrect.
    oh no, if thats what you did the terminology is correct, its just that, y' know, that cant possibly work, can it?

    hmm, wow i just checked it and it does indeed fit but theres no way the pins just happen to line up correctly, I'm not going to try turning the unit on after your experience however.

    im going to go drink


  11. #11
    Alex (Level 15) InsaneDavid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    7,361
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    16
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    13
    Thanked in
    12 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by omnedon
    I knew more about video games before I read this thread than I do now.
    That's how I feel too... reading this thread makes the engineer in me feel like he's taken one too many spins in the washing machine.

    I have a bunch of Nintendo family AV multi out cables I can sell you.. no wait, I think it would be better if you didn't know my address.

  12. #12
    Banana (Level 7) SkiDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,442
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I admit that I also don't really understand this, but I can offer a suggestion.

    Open up the cartridge, remove the battery, and then somehow reinsert it. This will be somewhat difficult because it is welded in place. This should erase the RAM and should hopefully solve the problem.

    Also, use the correct cables with your systems.
    Rarest games in collection: (R8) Chavez II for SNES / (R7) Star Gunner (Telesys) for Atari 2600
    Game Collection -- Game Commercials -- Favorite Game: Secret of Mana
    Wii code: 2572 7867 9177 9866 Smash: 0259-0110-4026

  13. #13
    Alex (Level 15) InsaneDavid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    7,361
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    16
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    13
    Thanked in
    12 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SkiDragon
    Open up the cartridge, remove the battery, and then somehow reinsert it. This will be somewhat difficult because it is welded in place. This should erase the RAM and should hopefully solve the problem.
    Could desolder the battery leads to get it out.

  14. #14
    Pretzel (Level 4) Quickclaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    811
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Is an N64 cable a proper fit for the SNES? The thrift store 'round the corner has a system buried in the bins.

  15. #15
    Great Puma (Level 12) jonjandran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Pine Mountain , Georgia
    Posts
    4,669
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Quickclaw
    Is an N64 cable a proper fit for the SNES? The thrift store 'round the corner has a system buried in the bins.
    The Snes,N64, and Gamecube all use the same A/V cable.

  16. #16
    Pretzel (Level 4) Quickclaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    811
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I thoroughly cleaned the game and used the cable from my nephew's new GameCube. The attempt to create a save file was initially successful, but the info was incoherent gibberish with an asterisk at the end. When I jumped into the second save barrel, all of the stats were wiped out. Might try to open the cart, but I'll most likely get a replacement.

  17. #17
    Pretzel (Level 4) Quickclaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    811
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by InsaneDavid
    Quote Originally Posted by omnedon
    I knew more about video games before I read this thread than I do now.
    I have a bunch of Nintendo family AV multi out cables I can sell you.. no wait, I think it would be better if you didn't know my address.
    What's this about?

  18. #18
    Insert Coin (Level 0) mr.soul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    85
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    i have no idea if this will work, but something about the remove/reinsert battery thing gives me a hunch that it would work. go for it.

  19. #19
    Link (Level 18) Sothy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    IM IN UR BASE, KILLIN UR D00DZ!!@
    Posts
    10,100
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Sothy

    Default

    umm....


    <@Carey85> I-75 is the second busiest freeway in the country behind I-95
    <@NE146> u r

  20. #20
    Alex (Level 15) InsaneDavid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    7,361
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    16
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    13
    Thanked in
    12 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sothy View Post
    umm....
    Yeah, really.

    It's one thing to bump a very old thread. It's another thing to bump a very old thread with a relevant post or more information. Then it's a completely other thing to bump a very old thread that made no sense to begin with and if anything stands simply as an example of incredible random stupidity.

Similar Threads

  1. Donkey kong country 2 proto (not mine) [NFR Cart]
    By hellfire in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-22-2009, 05:29 PM
  2. Donkey Kong Country Competition Cart
    By badinsults in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-21-2009, 03:50 AM
  3. WTB: Donkey Kong Country Competition Cart
    By badinsults in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-14-2008, 03:01 PM
  4. I am selling the Donkey Kong Country Competition Cart
    By variable114 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-16-2004, 10:49 AM
  5. Possibly FS: Donkey Kong Country Competition Cart!
    By carnage6 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-03-2004, 07:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •