Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: PC Engine AC Adapter

  1. #1
    Cherry (Level 1) Putney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    323
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default PC Engine AC Adapter

    Ok guys, I have a question. I just got a PC Engine (original white model) in the mail, sans adapter. Is it safe to just use a US NES power adapter? From what I've read, both are 9V and it would be safe to do so, and I've seen some listings on eBay for adapters that work on PC Engines, Famicoms and Super Famicoms. However, the last PC Engine I had wouldn't work, and I'm just worried that I blew that one out using the wrong adapter.

    Thanks for any help!

  2. #2
    Pretzel (Level 4)
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Burnley
    Posts
    802
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Putney View Post
    Ok guys, I have a question. I just got a PC Engine (original white model) in the mail, sans adapter. Is it safe to just use a US NES power adapter? From what I've read, both are 9V and it would be safe to do so, and I've seen some listings on eBay for adapters that work on PC Engines, Famicoms and Super Famicoms. However, the last PC Engine I had wouldn't work, and I'm just worried that I blew that one out using the wrong adapter.

    Thanks for any help!
    DONT use the NES adapter.

    The NES adaptor is 9v AC (Alternating Current)

    The PC Engine requires 9v DC (Direct Current)

    Alternating Current inside a Direct Current device will *BANG* and no more working PC Engine, probably smoke too.

    Its likely that the adapter on eBay advertised for PC Engines, Famicoms and Super Famicoms is 9v DC, as you can still use that on the SNES/NES even though they come with a 9v AC adapter.

    I hope this makes sense!

  3. #3
    Pac-Man (Level 10) ianoid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Austin TX
    Posts
    2,198
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Can anyone recommend a replacement adapter for these systems? I have a couple I'd like to sell with no PS and I need to test them, I think.

    Also, anyone have the specs on the PCE CD system? I have that I'd like to sell too.

    ian

  4. #4
    Apple (Level 5)
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,110
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ianoid View Post
    Can anyone recommend a replacement adapter for these systems? I have a couple I'd like to sell with no PS and I need to test them, I think.
    If anyone needs a PC Engine AC adapter, this guy has some:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/NEC-9-Volt-650mA...QQcmdZViewItem

  5. #5
    Pac-Man (Level 10) ianoid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Austin TX
    Posts
    2,198
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I'm debating buying some just to have them around. I'm not sure why, I sold my units as-is a while back, but the price seems right- I like having PSes sitting around for special occasions. I'd be even more tempted by TG16, Turbo CD, Turbo Express or Duo PSes. These don't work with any of those, right? I looked a little and couldn't find any info. Did anyone do a definitive power supply FAQ?

    ian

  6. #6
    Alex (Level 15) InsaneDavid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    7,364
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    18
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    13
    Thanked in
    12 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ianoid View Post
    I'm debating buying some just to have them around. I'm not sure why, I sold my units as-is a while back, but the price seems right- I like having PSes sitting around for special occasions. I'd be even more tempted by TG16, Turbo CD, Turbo Express or Duo PSes. These don't work with any of those, right? I looked a little and couldn't find any info. Did anyone do a definitive power supply FAQ?

    ian
    If I remember correctly you can use a SMS power supply with a TG16.

  7. #7
    Apple (Level 5)
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,110
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ianoid View Post
    I'm debating buying some just to have them around. I'm not sure why, I sold my units as-is a while back, but the price seems right- I like having PSes sitting around for special occasions.
    I know. I bumped this old thread in case you were still looking. Someone asked about a PCE AC a month or two back and I gave him a link to the same auction. Those are actual PCE power supplies by NEC...I don't think the seller even knows what they are.

    I'd be even more tempted by TG16, Turbo CD, Turbo Express or Duo PSes. These don't work with any of those, right? I looked a little and couldn't find any info.
    TZD still has TG-16 and Turbo Express AC adapters, but no Duo:
    http://www.tzd.com/php/products.php

    Here's the rundown (I think):

    PCE: DC 9V 650mA -
    TG-16: DC 10.5V 730mA -
    Duo: DC 10V 1000mA +

    Did anyone do a definitive power supply FAQ?
    http://www.digitpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=19752

    Quote Originally Posted by InsaneDavid View Post
    If I remember correctly you can use a SMS power supply with a TG16.
    SMS is 9V DC 1A -
    Might work with a PCE, but the extra amps will probably fry it.
    For TG-16, not enough voltage and too many amps.
    I never tried either...I don't like to mix power supplies.

  8. #8
    Alex (Level 15) InsaneDavid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    7,364
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    18
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    13
    Thanked in
    12 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PingvinBlueJeans View Post
    SMS is 9V DC 1A -
    Might work with a PCE, but the extra amps will probably fry it.
    For TG-16, not enough voltage and too many amps.
    I never tried either...I don't like to mix power supplies.
    Seems like it's the 65,000,000th time but...

    Circuits aren't given current, they draw it. A circuit will only take what current it needs. If it's only drawing 0.650A, even if the power supply puts out 100A, it will only draw 0.650A. Equivalent or more amps is good. Voltage on the other hand needs to be accurate for the voltage regulators. Some systems have a wider envelope than others. Very important to understand when looking to replace power adapters.

    Looking at your rundown I was mistaken however, a Genesis Model 1 power supply will work fine with a TurboGrafx-16 as it's rated at 10V and tends to output pretty near damn the same voltage as a genuine TG16 power adapter. Amperage is greater so it's well within tolerance.
    Last edited by InsaneDavid; 01-15-2008 at 09:21 PM.

  9. #9
    Apple (Level 5)
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,110
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by InsaneDavid View Post
    A circuit will only take what current it needs.[/B] If it's only drawing 0.650A, even if the power supply puts out 100A, it will only draw 0.650A. Equivalent or more amps is good. Voltage on the other hand needs to be accurate for the voltage regulators.
    You're right...I mix the two up. I'll freely admit I'm no electronics expert.

  10. #10
    Alex (Level 15) InsaneDavid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    7,364
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    18
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    13
    Thanked in
    12 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PingvinBlueJeans View Post
    You're right...I mix the two up. I'll freely admit I'm no electronics expert.
    I freely admit I kinda came across sounding like a jerk now that I re-read my previous post, such wasn't intended.

  11. #11
    Apple (Level 5)
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,110
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by InsaneDavid View Post
    I freely admit I kinda came across sounding like a jerk now that I re-read my previous post, such wasn't intended.
    Nah...I didn't take it like that. I'm serious...I am certainly no expert. That's why I don't mix power supplies.

Similar Threads

  1. F/S TG-16 to PC Engine Adapter-adding stuff
    By Joe West in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-06-2009, 09:16 PM
  2. TG-16 Adapter to PC Engine
    By Joe West in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-04-2009, 09:14 PM
  3. AC Adapter for PC Engine GT
    By c0ldb33r in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-02-2008, 11:19 AM
  4. Turbo Grafx > PC Engine Adapter?
    By devilman in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-02-2006, 09:04 PM
  5. FS: PC-Engine RAU-30 Adapter
    By Jorpho in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-02-2006, 01:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •