Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Dreamcast Region Changer v1.5

  1. #1
    Bell (Level 8) CosmicMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,790
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Dreamcast Region Changer v1.5

    Here we have a mod for the DC that will allow you to change the region and video output of the console. All it requires is soldering one wire, bridging two points (if needed) and burning the Region Changer to CD.

    Instructions and info
    Region Changer v1.5

    Saves me having to use DC-X every time I want to play a game; I can just change the DC to Japanese mode and directly boot Trigger Heart or Guilty Gear.

  2. #2
    Avoiding OT Vectorman0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    CT - USA
    Posts
    4,397
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Vectorman0
    PSN
    Vectorman0

    Default

    This is fairly technical, so it goes to that forum.


  3. #3
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    So with this mod will I be able to pop in a PAL disc and have it output correctly to an NTSC television?

  4. #4
    Bell (Level 8) CosmicMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,790
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yep, set region to PAL and output to NTSC.

  5. #5
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The page says "OK, so you have a European PAL Dreamcast, and you want to make it an American one. Collect the following things..."

    Mine's a North American model and I'd like to play PAL discs (the opposite). Will this process work? Or is it restricted solely to PAL Dreamcasts?

  6. #6
    Banana (Level 7) davidleeroth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by c0ldb33r View Post
    The page says "OK, so you have a European PAL Dreamcast, and you want to make it an American one. Collect the following things..."

    Mine's a North American model and I'd like to play PAL discs (the opposite). Will this process work? Or is it restricted solely to PAL Dreamcasts?
    It should work fine. I tried this with my PAL Dreamcast and it works (duh) but it's kinda annoying that the disc doesn't boot directly (you have to use swap-trick or have a mod chip). I ended up by-passing the lid switch so I wouldn't have to open my DC every time I want to change region.

    "I never should the games I sold and I have replaced them but they are not the game just a hollow shell of the same game." -RugalSizzler

  7. #7
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davidleeroth View Post
    It should work fine. I tried this with my PAL Dreamcast and it works (duh) but it's kinda annoying that the disc doesn't boot directly (you have to use swap-trick or have a mod chip). I ended up by-passing the lid switch so I wouldn't have to open my DC every time I want to change region.
    This confuses me.

    After completing the hardware mod, if I want to switch from NTSC to PAL, I imagine the process would involve inserting the switching disc, allowing it to load, set the region and output, insert the game disc, press start, and have it boot the game. Is this not how it is?

  8. #8
    Banana (Level 7) davidleeroth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by c0ldb33r View Post
    This confuses me.

    After completing the hardware mod, if I want to switch from NTSC to PAL, I imagine the process would involve inserting the switching disc, allowing it to load, set the region and output, insert the game disc, press start, and have it boot the game. Is this not how it is?
    I'm not a software expert but the switching disc doesn't seem to have a boot sector so you'll have to use a game disc to boot and then change the switching disc in on the fly. For this to work you'll have to have the lid switch in closed position. I don't have a mod chip so I don't know if it would overcome this and boot up directly.

    But after it's been done, the selected region/output will stay in memory even after power off up. (until you use the switching disc again)
    Last edited by davidleeroth; 03-21-2007 at 06:23 PM.

    "I never should the games I sold and I have replaced them but they are not the game just a hollow shell of the same game." -RugalSizzler

  9. #9
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davidleeroth View Post
    I'm not a software expert but the switching disc doesn't seem to have a boot sector so you'll have to use a game disc to boot and then change the switching disc in on the fly.
    I don't have a mod chip so I don't know if it would overcome this and boot up directly.

    But, after it's been done, the selected region/output will stay in memory even after power off.
    I suppose you could always load it with the Utopia disc

  10. #10
    Banana (Level 7) davidleeroth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I don't have Utopia but it didn't work with Action Replay CDX.

    "I never should the games I sold and I have replaced them but they are not the game just a hollow shell of the same game." -RugalSizzler

  11. #11
    Bell (Level 8) CosmicMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,790
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I have a selfbooting .cdi image of the 1.5 software if anyone wants it.

    Have to say, this works like a charm. No more disk swapping everytime I wanna play Guilty Gear. Smashing.

  12. #12
    Banana (Level 7) davidleeroth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CosmicMonkey View Post
    I have a selfbooting .cdi image of the 1.5 software if anyone wants it.

    Have to say, this works like a charm. No more disk swapping everytime I wanna play Guilty Gear. Smashing.
    Tried the Discjuggler image instead of .nrg and it boots up directly. Thanks CM, this rules.

    "I never should the games I sold and I have replaced them but they are not the game just a hollow shell of the same game." -RugalSizzler

  13. #13
    Cherry (Level 1) XxHennersXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    248
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I don't play PAL games. I just want to play japanese imports.

    Would I set the switch to Japanese and just put in a Japanese disc?

  14. #14
    Bell (Level 8) CosmicMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,790
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Right, to save all confusion:

    Region Select - You have 3 options:

    Euro - blue swirl
    USA - orange swirl
    Japan - orange swirl

    This sets the region of the disks that the DC will accept.

    Language Select - 2 choices

    English
    Japanese

    Sets the language the DC dash displays

    Video Output -

    NTSC - For all you bods in Japan or the USA
    PAL - UK TV
    PAL-M - Brazil
    PAL-N - Argentina

    So you can set the TV output of your system for your country.

    Normally a Japanese DC would be set to Japanese/Japanese/NTSC. You can however have it set to whatever you want. For example: Japanese region, English language and PAL output. Or even PAL region, English language and NTSC output for all you guys in the US wanting to play Shenmue 2.

    You just need to use the disk every time you want to change anything. Hopefully this'll lead on to a custom DC BIOS that will allow you to change all this from the dash, or with a key combination on boot-up.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-21-2012, 09:17 PM
  2. Region Converter For Sega Dreamcast
    By nebrazca78 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-19-2012, 12:04 PM
  3. Dreamcast Mixed Region LOT & DS3 Pad
    By atreyu187 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-12-2011, 11:32 AM
  4. official dreamcast gun region lockout . info plz
    By Pilotwings in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-08-2007, 06:04 AM
  5. Quick Dreamcast region question
    By NESCollector75 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-15-2003, 08:32 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •