Page 6 of 13 FirstFirst ... 2345678910 ... LastLast
Results 126 to 150 of 305

Thread: Retro Duo Portable - RDP 2 in 1 Portable System

  1. #126
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Cryog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Thank you for answering our questions. Now it is confirmed, the RDP is based on the pokeFAMI DX. The only difference is that the NOAC is in the console.

    ryuvsken2.png
    http://www.retrogaming.com.ar/

  2. #127
    ServBot (Level 11) Custom rank graphic
    Tupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3,928

    Default

    So, the adapters that work on the SNES actually have the hardware in them, but the one with the RDP doesn't?

    Does the RDP have the video cable plug into the cartridge or the machine itself?

  3. #128
    Banana (Level 7) Satoshi_Matrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,595
    PSN
    Satoshi_Matrix

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cryog View Post
    Thank you for answering our questions. Now it is confirmed, the RDP is based on the pokeFAMI DX. The only difference is that the NOAC is in the console.

    ryuvsken2.png
    I wouldn't go that far. Even if they're similar *captain obvious could've told you that* it doesn't mean there aren't going to be performance or compatibility differences between the two. All that we know for sure at this point (at least based on what oldskoolfool says) is that the Pokefami DX and the RDP aren't exactly the same hardware.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tupin View Post
    So, the adapters that work on the SNES actually have the hardware in them, but the one with the RDP doesn't?

    Does the RDP have the video cable plug into the cartridge or the machine itself?
    You know, this is exactly what I said before, if you care to read back. The NES adapter that is going to come with the RDP is a simple pin connector designed specifically for the RDP. Since the NOAC is internal to the RDP, the adapter itself doesn't need to have external composite jacks.
    check out my classic gaming review site: http://satoshimatrix.wordpress.com/

  4. #129
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Satoshi_Matrix View Post
    The FC-16 Go uses composite feed, the Hyperkin Supaboy uses what looks like S-video. Does the RDP output S-video or true RGB or what?
    I hate to be turning around the bush here but I felt a little ignored last time around. I'm totally with you that the Supaboy picture is terrible but does RGB over Composite make any apparent difference with new LCD displays at 3.5 inch? How could the Supaboy deliver S-video when it looks like an RF unit connection. Are you sure that the problem isn't their board or the screen? Again the Nomad mod uses the Composite out and it looks clean. Is this (what video source) really what we should be investigating is my question.

  5. #130
    Banana (Level 7) Satoshi_Matrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,595
    PSN
    Satoshi_Matrix

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Taiyaki View Post
    I'm totally with you that the Supaboy picture is terrible
    Uh, nope. Never once said that. That's also completely untrue. The LCD screen quality of the Supaboy is in fact quite good. All I've ever been saying is that it just simply isn't as good as the maximum quality possible from the original hardware. it seems to be using S-video instead of true RGB.

    Quote Originally Posted by Taiyaki View Post
    How could the Supaboy deliver S-video when it looks like an RF unit connection.
    Again, what're you talking about? S-video does not equal RF. Look again or maybe have your eyes examined? The Supaboy video output to either the LCD or to an exterior tv via composite doesn't even remotely resemble RF. This isn't even the case with the FC-16 Go, which has a far worse screen quality than the Supaboy.
    check out my classic gaming review site: http://satoshimatrix.wordpress.com/

  6. #131
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    226

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Satoshi_Matrix View Post
    it seems to be using S-video instead of true RGB.
    I'm not too sure about this. I remember reading somewhere(maybe the BenHeck forums) that the SupaBoy uses Composite on the internal LCD. You even mentioned the Composite in the TV out being quite dark. Considering the system's LCD never shuts off, if it were to use Composite, the signal would obviously weaken because it's being output to two different places, and from what I've read and from what you said in your SupaBoy review, it sounds like the LCD uses Composite.

  7. #132
    ServBot (Level 11) kedawa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,429

    Default

    It seems kind of stupid and wasteful to convert from RGB to composite inside the clone chip, and then back to RGB within the display itself.

  8. #133
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Cryog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Satoshi_Matrix View Post
    I wouldn't go that far. Even if they're similar *captain obvious could've told you that* it doesn't mean there aren't going to be performance or compatibility differences between the two. All that we know for sure at this point (at least based on what oldskoolfool says) is that the Pokefami DX and the RDP aren't exactly the same hardware.
    But he said exactly that ...

    Quote Originally Posted by Old_Skool_Fool View Post

    Now mind you, that this is coming from the makers of the Retro Duo, so the chipset is similar but NOT IDENTICAL.


    Is it similar to the Poke FAmi DX = YES it is.

    The word on the street is that the technology in the "PokeFamiDX" was Retrobits' and it was engineered for the Japanese market. So the RDP is everything that the DX is plus more.

    Well, how much more?? ANSWER = I don't know...because once again, my NES/SNES/GEN Collection is not that of this forum owners'. (Although I wish it was!!
    In other words ... are almost identical. When it hits the market then test the compatibility between them.
    http://www.retrogaming.com.ar/

  9. #134
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Satoshi_Matrix View Post
    Uh, nope. Never once said that. That's also completely untrue. The LCD screen quality of the Supaboy is in fact quite good. All I've ever been saying is that it just simply isn't as good as the maximum quality possible from the original hardware. it seems to be using S-video instead of true RGB.

    Again, what're you talking about? S-video does not equal RF. Look again or maybe have your eyes examined? The Supaboy video output to either the LCD or to an exterior tv via composite doesn't even remotely resemble RF. This isn't even the case with the FC-16 Go, which has a far worse screen quality than the Supaboy.
    Of course the Supaboy doesn't use RF, ever heard of sarcasm? ...

    Composite doesn't equal insane flickering, barely legible texts and blurry textures on a small screen, all of which the Supaboy has (I haven't tried the tv out but I'm talking about the screen of the system itself). I mistook you from someone else since apparently your unit (or your attention to minute details) clearly differs from mine. In all fairness the Supaboy's screen's brightness and contrast are very good but the good ends there, it's an all round terrible screen. I would rather have bad brightness and not have the crawling, flickering and blurry texts but that's just me.

    I never played the FC-16 system so I wouldn't know how that compares. Then again this is my first time playing clones, if this is common with clones I'm not going to be hooked for long. I hope this RDP has warmer colors like the Pokefami DX seems to have, because from the video i can't tell and it looks sort of going towards cold temperatures.

    Again my point is (for the third time) that composite on a 3.5 inch shouldn't be distinguishable from RGB (unless you take out a magnifying glass). On the Sega Nomad the composite gives out a very sharp and clear image so why can't the Supaboy do the same? You keep talking about composite, s-video or rgb as if somehow this is the sole determining factor for the picture quality (putting video out aside). There's apparently some other reason why the Supaboy doesn't look good. EDIT: doesn't look good "enough" (since you say it's quite good).
    Last edited by Taiyaki; 01-14-2012 at 12:45 PM.

  10. #135
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    226

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kedawa View Post
    It seems kind of stupid and wasteful to convert from RGB to composite inside the clone chip, and then back to RGB within the display itself.
    The conversion is done using an external video encoder, usually a Sony CXA1645, but in some cases, might be either a Sony CXA1145 or Samsung KA2198BD. The only clones which convert RGB to Composite inside the clone chip are Geniclones. Super NES clones all use discrete components, not a system-on-a-chip design like NES and Genesis clones.

    Still, I can't help but wonder... are there ANY 3.5-inch LCD screens with an RGB input?

  11. #136
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    35

    Default

    The Nomad has RGB, doesn't the DS too?

  12. #137
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Cryog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    47

    Default

    2012 new ces releases


    CES 2012: Retro duo portable


    CES 2012: Supa Boy


    The image on the RDP is much sharper than the Supaboy.
    Last edited by Cryog; 01-14-2012 at 03:02 PM.
    http://www.retrogaming.com.ar/

  13. #138
    Banana (Level 7) Satoshi_Matrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,595
    PSN
    Satoshi_Matrix

    Default

    Thanks for posting those videos. Doesn't tell us anything, but its nice to see more of what we do already know.
    check out my classic gaming review site: http://satoshimatrix.wordpress.com/

  14. #139
    Insert Coin (Level 0) nickerous's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    161

    Default

    Here's an different take on the system:

    http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/15/r...port-hands-on/

    Doesn't paint it in a great light...although the snes portion is what I'm most interested in.

  15. #140
    Banana (Level 7) Satoshi_Matrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,595
    PSN
    Satoshi_Matrix

    Default

    The point about NES games having visible intermittent scan-lines on an LCD makes me pause. How the hell can you have scanlines on an LCD? What are they even talking about?
    check out my classic gaming review site: http://satoshimatrix.wordpress.com/

  16. #141
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Old_Skool_Fool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    56

    Default

    I read that article, and not sure where that opinion really lies. Scanlines?? I didn't see any scan lines. Not to mention the system feels weighted and solid. The controllers are really the ones that feel lighter.

    Anyways, here is the pre-review of the Retrogen Adapter


    Also, we've just received the Retrogen Adapters with the AV cable for sale and are available now. They actually came earlier than expected, so anyone who wants one can order one now.


    I'm really impressed with this little thing. I'll be doing a more in-depth review shortly on the compatibility/performance.


    Though keep in mind, I do have limited access to the games so I suggest picking one up since they are fairly cheap and testing it out for yourself.
    http://www.DasReviews.com
    Game News & Reviews On Just About Anything!
    Please Support our Sponsors at:
    http://www.DasCheap.com

  17. #142
    ServBot (Level 11) kedawa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,429

    Default

    They called the Supa Boy "Supra Boy' multiple times and claim that the NES adapter can be used in any SFC/SNES console or clone
    I get the impression that they really don't know what the hell they're talking about.

  18. #143
    Banana (Level 7) Satoshi_Matrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,595
    PSN
    Satoshi_Matrix

    Default

    Old Skool Fool, when do you expect to have the self contained NES pin adapters in stock? I'm more interested in the NES adapter that will work on a real SNES than I am the Genesis adapter.

    Thanks for posting that CES interview, and while I'm mostly with you, when you say things like

    Quote Originally Posted by Old_Skool_Fool View Post
    keep in mind, I do have limited access to the games so I suggest picking one up since they are fairly cheap and testing it out for yourself.
    It makes those of us leery of compatibility in clones to begin with not trust anything you say. As much as I'd like to have faith in you as something other than a PR guy, its hard to take a statement like that as anything other than a ham-fisted marketing speech.



    Quote Originally Posted by kedawa View Post
    They called the Supa Boy "Supra Boy' multiple times and claim that the NES adapter can be used in any SFC/SNES console or clone
    I get the impression that they really don't know what the hell they're talking about.
    This urked me too. It's like oldschoolfool was deliberately misnaming the Supaboy as to insult it by saying "oh that thing sucks so much I'm not even going to bother to call it by its real name".

    On the second point, You're obviously confused. There will be TWO NES adapters made by RetroBit. One will come with the RDP, one will not. The one that will come with the RDP is a simple pin adapter that does not have AV output directly and does not contain a NOAC. This version is exclusively for the RDP with its on-board NOAC.

    On the other hand, the other NES adapter WILL have a NOAC and AV ports and work with all original hardware. It is currently unknown if this NOAC will be any different from the one found in the RPD, but if I had to hazard a guess, I'd say not.
    check out my classic gaming review site: http://satoshimatrix.wordpress.com/

  19. #144
    Pac-Man (Level 10) Custom rank graphic
    buzz_n64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    2,190
    PSN
    buzz_retro64

    Default

    I'm buying this adapter now! Thanks!
    Last edited by buzz_n64; 01-17-2012 at 11:51 AM.

  20. #145
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    188

    Default Well

    Quote Originally Posted by Satoshi_Matrix View Post
    That's still currently unknown. According to Old_Skool_Fool the PokeFami DX and the RetroDuo Portable are not the same, but I don't entirely believe him. The Chinese clone market is incestuous. The NeoFami was released by Yobo as the FC Game Console and is now being sold by RetroBit as the Retorn1. Other than the name and perhaps the casing, its the same system. I wouldn't be surprised if the PokeFami DX and RDP are both being made by Shenzhen Qi Sheng Long.

    It makes sense that the PokeFami DX is the Japanese/Asian version of the upcoming RetroDuo Portable, but it's impossible to say for sure until someone does a side-by-side comparison.
    If someone wants to open up their RDP when it arrives, I can open my Pokefami DX, which should be here soon, and we can compare the insides. But I find it highly unlikely that they are not the exact same unit, other than cosmetic differences. The buttons are spaced the same, the dpads are exactly the same, as is the reset/contrast button, the controller adaptor, the stand...who do they think they're fooling?

    I appreciate old skool fool's enthusiasm, but honestly is a better policy than hucksterism. Depending on how things shape up as more of us receive PDX's, the RDP may be a much better option for someone looking for an alternative to the Supaboy...you're looking at a $50 price difference after importing the PDX.

    Also, I may pick up an RDP at some point, simply because the red color reminds me of the orange Sharp Twin Famicoms. Mmmm. If I do end up doing this, you can bet I'll be verifying whether these are the same units.

  21. #146
    ServBot (Level 11) kedawa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,429

    Default

    I don't see the point of the other NES adapter. If it needs it's own AV cables, then all it's really doing is taking power and controller input from the other console. It's only marginally more convenient than just having a separate console.

  22. #147
    ServBot (Level 11) kedawa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,429

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Satoshi_Matrix View Post
    On the second point, You're obviously confused. There will be TWO NES adapters made by RetroBit. One will come with the RDP, one will not. The one that will come with the RDP is a simple pin adapter that does not have AV output directly and does not contain a NOAC. This version is exclusively for the RDP with its on-board NOAC.
    I'm not the one who's confused. That's actually what the article claims, which as we both know is false.

    NES games are shoehorned in by using an included RetoPort adapter, which lets any compatible console boot its predecessor's cartridges.

  23. #148
    Banana (Level 7) Satoshi_Matrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,595
    PSN
    Satoshi_Matrix

    Default

    Oh sorry, you're right. the preview is wrong on that point.

    the "point" of the standalone NES adapter with the av output is to play NES games on your existing SNES if say, you don't want to buy any clones. I'll be buying one because I love interesting Famiclones.
    check out my classic gaming review site: http://satoshimatrix.wordpress.com/

  24. #149
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Old_Skool_Fool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    56

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Satoshi_Matrix View Post
    Old Skool Fool, when do you expect to have the self contained NES pin adapters in stock? I'm more interested in the NES adapter that will work on a real SNES than I am the Genesis adapter.

    Thanks for posting that CES interview, and while I'm mostly with you, when you say things like



    It makes those of us leery of compatibility in clones to begin with not trust anything you say. As much as I'd like to have faith in you as something other than a PR guy, its hard to take a statement like that as anything other than a ham-fisted marketing speech.





    This urked me too. It's like oldschoolfool was deliberately misnaming the Supaboy as to insult it by saying "oh that thing sucks so much I'm not even going to bother to call it by its real name".

    On the second point, You're obviously confused. There will be TWO NES adapters made by RetroBit. One will come with the RDP, one will not. The one that will come with the RDP is a simple pin adapter that does not have AV output directly and does not contain a NOAC. This version is exclusively for the RDP with its on-board NOAC.

    On the other hand, the other NES adapter WILL have a NOAC and AV ports and work with all original hardware. It is currently unknown if this NOAC will be any different from the one found in the RPD, but if I had to hazard a guess, I'd say not.


    Stop picking on the accent guys. Old SKool Fool knows the name of the product, I knew it before it was even launched. I've been doing game journalism for 7+ years. If the ol' accent twists things up, then so be it..lol


    On the other note, if we cover and review products it's only natural that we suggest the opportunity to purchase. It's how we are able to continue to produce these things.
    http://www.DasReviews.com
    Game News & Reviews On Just About Anything!
    Please Support our Sponsors at:
    http://www.DasCheap.com

  25. #150
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Based on the recent article it seems the screen may not be the same as the Pokefami DX. I wish we could get confirmation on this point it's important because this is one of the winning points for the Pokefami DX over the Supa Boy.

    We need more unbiased reviews coming in before committing.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •