Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: component switch box ??

  1. #1
    Pac-Man (Level 10) mailman187666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    2,047
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    9 Posts

    Default component switch box ??

    I am looking for a switch box to hook up PS3, wii, 360, and PSP through component. I bought one from best buy but every time there was any kind of brightness on the screen, the whole screen would shake and get this wierd fuzzy line at the top of the screen. it only worked when it was set for 480P. I have an older model HD set too with only 2 component ins in the back. Can anybody recommend a switch box that works well? I bought the $20 Pelican one from Circuit City but I haven't tested it yet.

  2. #2
    Great Puma (Level 12) Gamereviewgod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio and likely writing a review.
    Posts
    4,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Gamereviewgod
    PSN
    Gamereviewentity
    3DS Friend
    3136-6571-2996

    Default

    Pelican System Selector Pro. Best switchbox ever, but you'll need to hit eBay for it. 8 component ports.

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    152
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    What about just using a universal component cable? My best buy has universal off brand component cables for $3. You can connect your ps3 or ps2, wii, and 360 all at the same time with no need to switch anything. Though those systems need to be very close to each other...

  4. #4
    Cherry (Level 1) -^CrožBow^-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ivory Tower, Fantasia
    Posts
    294
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I have one of those $20 ones from Gamestop which is basically a rebranded Pelican one. I had my Wii and PS2 connected to it and it worked very well. But then I upgraded to a newer HDTV set, which has 2 component inputs on it and decided to just hook the Wii and PS2 directly into it. But when I did have them all on the selector it worked just fine with no difference in the pic quality that I could see.

  5. #5
    Banned

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    4,364
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If you have an old composite video switchbox, you can use those as well. Here is what you do, you put the green plug into the yellow plug, the red plug into the red plug and the blue plug into the white plug. Do the same thing at both connection points, and it will switch component signals perfectly fine. Of couse, this only works if you are doing the audio seperately via optical output or something.

    But there isn't any need to pay extra for ones that have red, green and blue paint on them instead of yellow, red and white. They work exactly the same. Same thing with DVD players. I use component out on DVD players, but I use a standard composite cable, cause they are much cheaper. I just plug the yellow into green, red into red, and blue into white. Both sides. Works, like a charm. Why pay $19.99 for a generic component cable, when you can pay $5.

  6. #6
    Pac-Man (Level 10) mailman187666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    2,047
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    9 Posts

    Default

    I bought the $20 Pelican one from Circuit City and I tested it last night. Works perfectly fine. Go figure I return the $45 one to buy a $20 one and the cheaper one is better in every way. I thought the saying went "you get what you pay for."

Similar Threads

  1. Wtb: Xbox/ps2/gamecube all in 1 component component cable
    By LaughingMAN.S9 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-01-2011, 11:16 AM
  2. Component Switch Boxes
    By MarioMania in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-27-2008, 01:08 AM
  3. S-Video modded Genesis with region switch and pal switch
    By Anthony1 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-04-2007, 11:03 PM
  4. FS: Inday 4 in 1 out component switch (Super high quality)
    By walrusmonger in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-15-2007, 10:11 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •