Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: So soldering...(Health Hazards?)

Strawberry (Level 2) MonoTekETeA's Avatar
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default So soldering...(Health Hazards?)

Well I've been doing it for a few months now, but am starting to get pretty worn out. What I mean is health wise, I think breathing in these fumes is doing something to my throat. I was wondering if if anyone has experience with trying to cover your mouth? Should I just get those little white carpenter masks, is there something that works better? I have been using my shirt tucked over my mouth and nose, and that just doesn't seem to cut it.

Let me know

-Jeremy Speer
    Yippy Kie Yo Yai Yay
    I am really bad at spelling...no really.
    v A gift from Drexel923, Thanks homie! v

Great Puma (Level 12) Bratwurst's Avatar
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

Uhhhh.. you know some solder has lead in it. Do you know what kind you have? Either way it really is inadvisable to breathe the fumes, even under a paper mask. I pace my breath so I can hold it while using an iron, breathing out when I'm done so I don't draw in any of the smoke. You should probably get a fume filter, there are commercial brands available under hobby & electronic supply venues. Little fans that sit on your desk and suck the fumes up.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

I second Brawtwurst warning, soldering contains lead and is downright bad for you health wise. Using it sparingly is okay without protection, but if you are going to use it on a regular basis you need a respirator. Go over to home depot and buy a gas filter for $29.99 and you will be read to go. Here are the symptoms of lead poisoning from WebMD.

Stomachaches, cramping, constipation, or diarrhea
    Nausea, vomiting
    Persistent, unexplained fatigue
    Headache
    Muscle weakness
    Higher rates of tooth decay