Page 6 of 28 FirstFirst ... 234567891016 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 120 of 545

Thread: RetroDuo NES/SNES Clone Official Thread. Castlevania III, StarFox WORK, SMRPG WARNING

  1. #101
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by remowilliams View Post
    Holy Moly - I can't believe it - the PowerPak DOES work with the RetroDuo. AFAIK - first clone ever to do so!
    Does this information come from a personal test you ran with your own hardware, or do you have a link to an outside source?

    Please let me know so I can report on it. Thanks!!
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  2. #102
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    46
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Frankie_Says_Relax View Post
    Does this information come from a personal test you ran with your own hardware, or do you have a link to an outside source?

    Please let me know so I can report on it. Thanks!!
    Personal test with my own hardware. The RetroDuo may still have a few incompatibilities, but working with the PowerPak puts this system *WAY* over the top of all other clones!

  3. #103
    Crono (Level 14)
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    6,331
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GnawRadar View Post
    I don't believe he has posted it yet, but I heard GrandAmChandler went to pull a cart out, I'm not sure if it was SNES or NES, out of the RetroDuo and the pin connector came out with it. Has anyone else had this problem or heard of this problem?
    I am chalking it up to a random defect, I got a replacement unit, it seems fine.

    EDIT: Also, "Vs. The Goonies" NES Repro cart by Video Game Kingdom also works great with this system
    #vbender

  4. #104
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    Updated 1st page with new info!
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  5. #105
    Crono (Level 14)
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    6,331
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    So does anyone know if Mega Man X2 or X3 work?
    #vbender

  6. #106
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,239
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    X2 and a RetroDuo are on my "to-buy" list. I'd get X3, but I have the PC version already (still want it though).

    I asked the couple that owns the retro game booth at my local flea market about the RetroDuo, and they said they won't carry it. The reason: quality concerns. They claimed that they had heard nothing but bad things about them breaking and wearing out quickly. I asked if they meant the FC Twin and other Yobo systems, but they seemed to know what I was talking about.

    I own an NES and a SNES, but neither one looks close to decent on my 42" LCD, on any available input. My NES over RCA plugs looks like the page 1 shots of nes-over-s-video with the solid colors not being solid, and coax looks about the same but sounds better. SNES looks bright and washed out over coax, and has a big discolored vertical strip down the center-left. Mode7 effects have weird "shadows" over other graphics (especially the pendulum screen in Chrono Trigger). I'd love to try component output on SNES, if there's available cables or a pinout to make a set.

    Would a RetroDuo offer a proper solution to my problems, or would it be mostly the same? From what I've read, the compatibility is high enough, it's just a question of quality.

  7. #107
    Pretzel (Level 4)
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Living in a Yellow Submarine
    Posts
    804
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Hello and welcome to the forums!...The Retro Duo is by far the best NES/SNES clone that I have seen..But,like any other clone it has its ups and downs...I'am the proud owner of 3 Retro Duos.On my personal experience with them,I have found a few minor problems that with little technical knowledge, can be fixed...(missing screws to hold the actual cartridge connectors and broken ribbon cables)...Funny thing is that the en-samblers new of these problems when putting them together and in some cases they decided to only add jumper wires instead fixing the whole thing).....
    For the SNES side,the company that manucfatures the Retro Duo went the extra mile by giving us a RGB encoder....The Y/C signals provide true s-video for it.
    NES side,it is good compared to other clones..But for me there is a bit of sound issue...
    Other than that, it has great compatibility with games and accessories!...I'll definately recommend it!..
    Last edited by ooXxXoo; 04-13-2008 at 02:33 PM.
    ζ Ξ Δ φ Ψ ς ώ ☆ ∞ ♪ ξ

  8. #108
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,239
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ooXxXoo View Post
    Hello and welcome to the forums!...The Retro Duo is by far the best NES/SNES clone that I have seen..But,like any other clone it has its ups and downs...I'am the proud owner of 3 Retro Duos.On my personal experience with them,I have found a few minor problems that with little technical knowledge, can be fixed...(missing screws to hold the actual cartridge connectors and broken ribbon cables)...Funny thing is that the en-samblers new of these problems when putting them together and in some cases they decided to only add jumper wires instead fixing the whole thing).....
    For the SNES side,the company that manucfatures the Retro Duo went the extra mile by giving us a RGB encoder....The Y/C signals provide true s-video for it.
    NES side,it is good compared to other clones..But for me there is a bit of sound issue...
    Other than that, it has great compatibility with games and accessories!...I'll definately recommend it!..
    I know that you've mentioned the RGB output before, but do you have any diagrams or specific information relating to a mod for the RD? In my particular case, either VGA or component cables would work nicely. If not, S-Video should suffice.

    I'm pretty much sold on the RD, just waiting a bit to hear on how they hold up, etc. Most likely going to buy from Amazon sellers, unless anyone else knows a better/cheaper source.

  9. #109
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    46
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I wired a NES connector to the RetroDuo and it works just fine. So now I can use the Messiah pad while playing the NES side. NES lightgun is next on my experiment list, but I need another SNES pad for the extra pins/wiring, as a regular SNES pad leaves two signals unconnected.

    The NES sound so far seems to be pretty good, I haven't really noticed any major issues with the exception of Jackal. Jackal seems to be particularly bad - the 'melody' side of the music seems muted, while the percussion is fine; the firing sound is wrong/garbled; the grenade sound is almost non existent. Anyone else notice this in Jackal?

  10. #110
    Pretzel (Level 4)
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Living in a Yellow Submarine
    Posts
    804
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by remowilliams View Post
    I wired a NES connector to the RetroDuo and it works just fine. So now I can use the Messiah pad while playing the NES side. NES lightgun is next on my experiment list, but I need another SNES pad for the extra pins/wiring, as a regular SNES pad leaves two signals unconnected.

    The NES sound so far seems to be pretty good, I haven't really noticed any major issues with the exception of Jackal. Jackal seems to be particularly bad - the 'melody' side of the music seems muted, while the percussion is fine; the firing sound is wrong/garbled; the grenade sound is almost non existent. Anyone else notice this in Jackal?
    Super Mario Bros 3 does this for me!....catching speed and the tail flying sound effects are hardly there!...
    ζ Ξ Δ φ Ψ ς ώ ☆ ∞ ♪ ξ

  11. #111
    drowning in medals Ed Oscuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    16,550
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Oscuro View Post
    Aside from the terrible "RetroDuo" logo, the unit is actually pretty...PRETTY!
    Man, what was I thinking? Thing looks like a rejected pen stand design designed for Ikea by Fisher-Price.

    Shiny black plastic doesn't withstand the ravages of time very well, I'm afraid.

    Anyway, I wouldn't say that detracts from the utility or the decent dimensions of the device - six by six inches is pretty good.

  12. #112
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,239
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I'm probably going to go ahead and order mine. Which color though? Everything on my racks is black, save for my Wii and a blue Linksys router. I'm tempted to go for the black one, but wasn't the white one mentioned as having better construction or quality?

  13. #113
    Pretzel (Level 4)
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Living in a Yellow Submarine
    Posts
    804
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I'll try to give you an idea from my personal opinion on which one to get!...I've found a major issue with one the(clocks)crystal oscillators on the white model... it can be replaced to work great again...Although this issue may only be within a few revisions,since I already have seen as many as 3 different of them...
    Later on,I got another brand new Black Retro Duo for me little nephew, and as I first started testing it,the s-video feature didn't work at all...Again,I opened the system case and found many of its ribbon cables broken...I replaced all of them and now if fine....But remember,this problem came from a new sealed system(factory defective)!....my tutorials to fix these problems should be available soon....In the mean time I hope this info helps with your decition..,
    Also,there is a static problem with the Black plastic shell color,kind of like what the PS3 suffers of, it will be full of dust in a matter of seconds+mine came all scratched when new,while in the white model you can't really tell as much.
    ζ Ξ Δ φ Ψ ς ώ ☆ ∞ ♪ ξ

  14. #114
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,239
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Hmmm. Considering that the S-Video is the main reason I'm getting one, I might wait a bit. As soon as I know for sure that they're up to the quality I'm hoping for, I'll go for it. Aside from old IDE cables, I don't really have a lot of supplies that I could use to fix one offhand.

    (and I REALLY want one now >_<)

  15. #115
    Pretzel (Level 4)
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Living in a Yellow Submarine
    Posts
    804
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Unfortunately,at times specially clones and sometimes even official systems,later revisions happen to be worse than the earlier's ones...I'm hoping that due to the Retro Duo production cost they won't start to replace electronics parts for others that'll be cheaper...One of my concerns could be the encoder...they could easily drop the whole samsung encoder and get a cheaper one(without RGB),or none at all...You should get your Retro Duo with high hopes,hoping for the best!..It may get worse!..
    ζ Ξ Δ φ Ψ ς ώ ☆ ∞ ♪ ξ

  16. #116
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    46
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ooXxXoo View Post
    Also,there is a static problem with the Black plastic shell color,kind of like what the PS3 suffers of, it will be full of dust in a matter of seconds+mine came all scratched when new,while in the white model you can't really tell as much.
    Yeah, same issue here. I coated the thing with Novus plastic polish and it does help quite a bit though.

    So after some more playing around with the RetroDuo, here are some more observations:

    - My Tototek SNES flash cart works just fine with it
    - PowerPak sram load/save works fine
    - I have a Super Mario World cart that does not boot at all on the RD. Oddly enough if attached to a Game Genie, it works fine
    - My Rolling Thunder cart will not boot/run properly on the RD, but the same game loaded from the PowerPak works fine
    - My Dragon Warrior cart will not boot on the RD, but will work fine if attached to the NES Game Genie

    Overall I am very pleased with the RD. It does seem to have some odd sound issues that the Yobo/FC didn't have, but the NES compatibility overall is better.

    I've had extensive experience with other clones such as the NEX, Yobos, FCTwin, Blade, Power, etc. and though still imperfect, I proclaim the RD King of the Nintendo Clones!

  17. #117
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,239
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ooXxXoo View Post
    Unfortunately,at times specially clones and sometimes even official systems,later revisions happen to be worse than the earlier's ones...I'm hoping that due to the Retro Duo production cost they won't start to replace electronics parts for others that'll be cheaper...One of my concerns could be the encoder...they could easily drop the whole samsung encoder and get a cheaper one(without RGB),or none at all...You should get your Retro Duo with high hopes,hoping for the best!..It may get worse!..
    I ordered a black one from an Amazon seller just a second ago, after reading that. I have a feeling you're going to be right.

    Are you sure the RGB encoder isn't part of the design for something important to the console itself? If there's anything I've learned from hobbyist electronics, it's that one chip can be used for lots of different things.

    And also, I'm still wondering about that chip. Could I hook composite cables up to it and get 480p signal or is it really just for SCART?

  18. #118
    Insert Coin (Level 0) lovablechevy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    tennessee
    Posts
    12
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by remowilliams View Post
    - I have a Super Mario World cart that does not boot at all on the RD. Oddly enough if attached to a Game Genie, it works fine
    - My Dragon Warrior cart will not boot on the RD, but will work fine if attached to the NES Game Genie
    huh... that's really weird! both of my super mario world and dragon warrior carts work perfectly...

  19. #119
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,239
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Well, turns out the shipper I ordered from on Amazon is out of black ones, so it looks like I'm getting a white one (they described it as Retro Duo (blue)).

    I hate sellers that post out of stock items...

  20. #120
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    46
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lovablechevy View Post
    huh... that's really weird! both of my super mario world and dragon warrior carts work perfectly...
    Yeah, I think it is probably an issue with the specific cart/connectors that isn't mating quite right with the RetroDuo, and that the GGs alleviate it.

    I'd still like to know why Rolling Thunder carts have been reported as not working (mine too) but I can play it from the PowerPak just fine.

Similar Threads

  1. RetroDuo and PowerPak - CF brands that work?
    By Bub_and_Bob in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 08:27 AM
  2. The New Official Castlevania Thread!
    By RadiantSvgun in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 100
    Last Post: 10-18-2009, 06:05 AM
  3. European SNES carts don't work on clone systems?
    By Tupin in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-17-2008, 08:27 PM
  4. Like the RetroDuo, should there be a TurboGrafx clone?
    By Manhattan Sports Club in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 09-17-2008, 11:03 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-26-2008, 10:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •