Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Play an instrument? Good at rhythm games?

Ladd Spencer (Level 17) Captain Wrong's Avatar
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Captain Wrong
    PSN
    Captain Wrong

Default Play an instrument? Good at rhythm games?

Just curious. I've been a drummer for about 15 years. You'd think that'd give me an edge on games like PaRappa. Well, you'd be wrong.

I think the problem I have is I tend to play in a jazz style mostly, meaning slightly behind the beat. These games are all about being on the beat, and it gives me a fit everytime.

So, any other musicians good or bad with these games?

ServBot (Level 11) WiseSalesman's Avatar
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

I've been a musician for 14 years, I play three instruments and sing, and I do believe that it gives me quite the edge when it comes to these games. One of my friends is the top trombone in the state, and he, like me, picked up rhythm games very quickly. On the other hand, I find that my non-musician friends have a terrible time with DDR.

PLEASE don't be insulted by this, but how much formal training have you had on drums? You can be a great instrumentalist without being a good technical player, but my theory is that the people who have been formally trained and have higher skills in the technical area will be the ones that get the advantage when it come to games like these. Plus, I think the ability to read music also helps (the arrows in DDR sort of translate in to quarter notes, etc.)

Great Puma (Level 12)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Eight years of violin training seems to have done nothing for my ability to crack, crack, crack the egg into the bowl. I'm still waiting in line for the toilet.
    (\ /)
    (O.o) ---XBL GT: RHINDLE
    (><)
    /_|_\ ---PH34R TEH BUNNY

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received