Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Best MAME frontend?

  1. #1
    Pear (Level 6)
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,327
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Best MAME frontend?

    I haven't really been into arcade games for a while, but there have been a few that I've been wanting to play lately. I liked MAME32, but it seems to be somewhat outdated, as it didn't have all the games listed that I wanted to play. I don't really came for MAME Classic's UI, since there doesn't seem to be an option to set controller inputs for all games instead of doing it manually for each.

  2. #2
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo View Post
    I haven't really been into arcade games for a while, but there have been a few that I've been wanting to play lately. I liked MAME32, but it seems to be somewhat outdated, as it didn't have all the games listed that I wanted to play. I don't really came for MAME Classic's UI, since there doesn't seem to be an option to set controller inputs for all games instead of doing it manually for each.
    There's absolutely an option to do standard controller inputs across all games.

    That option has been standard across all MAME 32 releases for years, and it's still included in all UI releases.

    Just start a game, hit tab, and the first controller input option should be the "universal" one. The one that says "Inputs - for this game" are game specific.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  3. #3
    Great Puma (Level 12) jb143's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    4,221
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    66
    Thanked in
    59 Posts

    Default

    I depends entirely on what you want to use it for. For Mame cabinets I use Mamewah. It's tricky to set up but does everythign I need it to and more. For just playing games on my PC I use the built in text front end on the newer console mames.
    "Game programmers are generally lazy individuals. That's right. It's true. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise. Since the dawn of computer games, game programmers have looked for shortcuts to coolness." Kurt Arnlund - Game programmer for Activision, Accolade...

  4. #4
    Pear (Level 6)
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,327
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Frankie_Says_Relax View Post
    There's absolutely an option to do standard controller inputs across all games.

    That option has been standard across all MAME 32 releases for years, and it's still included in all UI releases.

    Just start a game, hit tab, and the first controller input option should be the "universal" one. The one that says "Inputs - for this game" are game specific.
    Thanks, I hadn't realized that. I may just stick with MAME Classic since I've gotten that issue sorted out.

  5. #5
    Starman (Level 23) Phosphor Dot Fossils's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    in ur base, producing ur dvds
    Posts
    15,002
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I don't use it anymore, but man, I used to be in love with Ultrastyle. You could set it up to be a "jukebox" on its menu screen, picking randomly from a directory of whatever MP3s you liked. New wave all the way, baby! It was amazing customizable. I don't even know if it's compatible or actively supported anymore.

  6. #6
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo View Post
    Thanks, I hadn't realized that. I may just stick with MAME Classic since I've gotten that issue sorted out.
    You'll still likely have to tweak certain games, as even some of the "universal" stuff can get screwy on games that have a ton of specific buttons (usually the 4 player games, or games with a lot of analog controls) but if you spend a bit of time setting up your universal controls you can get all the heavy joystick/button stuff out of the way for all of the games you have running.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  7. #7
    Jessica's Knight / SOFEL Fanboy InsaneDavid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    7,361
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    16
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    13
    Thanked in
    12 Posts

    Default

    As I said in this thread (different subject)...

    Quote Originally Posted by InsaneDavid View Post
    Also take a look at GameLauncher, it's simple and straight forward to use, but setup takes a little time since it uses a configuration .txt file. What's cool is it supports nearly ANY command line emulator or program, it will also work with DOS flavors of MAME. I was going to use it on my Pole Position conversion but the motherboard I'm using likes to idle in DOS for a moment before loading anything so game performance was slightly hindered. However, I use GameLauncher here on my main computer to play the small MAME assortment I always have ready to go.
    Contributing Writer, Retrogaming Times Monthly 2004 - 2013
    Chief Editor, The Retrogaming Times 2016 - Present *NEW RETROGAMING HOBBYIST NEWSLETTER!*


  8. #8
    Pac-Man (Level 10) Custom rank graphic
    XYXZYZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    1986
    Posts
    2,606
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If you're on an arcade machine MaLa is the frontend I like the most.

  9. #9
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Columbus/OHIO
    Posts
    3,070
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default hmmm...

    I was on the avsforums and a gentleman was showing off his new setup. 50" 3D Plasma from Samsung, with 3D glasses, control panel with numerous programmable LED's, and a 6 Terabyte HTPC. Most importantly he showed off a front-end that was remarkable and I thought I'd point you guys to it. I believe you have to register to download it (haven't tried yet).

    It's called Hyperspin-fe and it seems to be the real deal...

    http://hyperspin-fe.com/

    And for the gentleman's MAME setup...

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1063742

  10. #10
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    320
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I really like using Mala, it's a frontend for all emulators. The only problem I found with it is it's a pain to exit other emulators besides MAME. And also the interface only utilizes 12 buttons, so you can only program the 12 buttons it recognizes and none of the other buttons you may have on your control panel.

  11. #11
    Pretzel (Level 4) dao2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    988
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trebuken View Post
    I was on the avsforums and a gentleman was showing off his new setup. 50" 3D Plasma from Samsung, with 3D glasses, control panel with numerous programmable LED's, and a 6 Terabyte HTPC. Most importantly he showed off a front-end that was remarkable and I thought I'd point you guys to it. I believe you have to register to download it (haven't tried yet).

    It's called Hyperspin-fe and it seems to be the real deal...

    http://hyperspin-fe.com/

    And for the gentleman's MAME setup...

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1063742
    holy crap thats amazing

  12. #12
    Alex (Level 15) boatofcar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hurricane, WV
    Posts
    7,748
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Xbox LIVE
    boatofcar

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trebuken View Post
    I was on the avsforums and a gentleman was showing off his new setup. 50" 3D Plasma from Samsung, with 3D glasses, control panel with numerous programmable LED's, and a 6 Terabyte HTPC. Most importantly he showed off a front-end that was remarkable and I thought I'd point you guys to it. I believe you have to register to download it (haven't tried yet).

    It's called Hyperspin-fe and it seems to be the real deal...

    http://hyperspin-fe.com/

    And for the gentleman's MAME setup...

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1063742
    Heck, I would PAY for a front end that good.

  13. #13
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by boatofcar View Post
    Heck, I would PAY for a front end that good.
    That spinning front-end looks a LOT like the commercial "ultracade" units that were legally licensed for arcades about 5 or 6 years ago (maybe even a bit older) ...

    ... if they're not derivitave of the code from those, they're totally inspired by them.

    Very very nice looking interface.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  14. #14
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    WI, Waukesha
    Posts
    531
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Maximus Arcade.
    My XBL Gamer Tag is : NipRing

    MVS 29"CANDY CAB SERIAL: 98515
    Upgrades include 6 Slot MoBo, Oversized Speakers,
    MV-IC Memcard reader w/ Headphone Jacks, UniBios 2.0


    I Snatch Kisses...And Vice-Versa

  15. #15
    Pretzel (Level 4) ssjlance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    835
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    MameWah for Windows, Wah!cade for Linux.

  16. #16
    Strawberry (Level 2) FrakAttack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Jamestown, KY
    Posts
    467
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trebuken View Post
    I was on the avsforums and a gentleman was showing off his new setup. 50" 3D Plasma from Samsung, with 3D glasses, control panel with numerous programmable LED's, and a 6 Terabyte HTPC. Most importantly he showed off a front-end that was remarkable and I thought I'd point you guys to it. I believe you have to register to download it (haven't tried yet).

    It's called Hyperspin-fe and it seems to be the real deal...

    http://hyperspin-fe.com/

    And for the gentleman's MAME setup...

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1063742
    That front end is The Shit.

    That guy's emu rig needs more cowbell.
    "Ambitious, but rubbish."


  17. #17
    Apple (Level 5) poloplayr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,032
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trebuken View Post
    I was on the avsforums and a gentleman was showing off his new setup. 50" 3D Plasma from Samsung, with 3D glasses, control panel with numerous programmable LED's, and a 6 Terabyte HTPC. Most importantly he showed off a front-end that was remarkable and I thought I'd point you guys to it. I believe you have to register to download it (haven't tried yet).

    It's called Hyperspin-fe and it seems to be the real deal...

    http://hyperspin-fe.com/

    And for the gentleman's MAME setup...

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1063742
    holy hell!!! these days it takes a lot to impress me but that is SICK. so smooth/professional-looking. wow...simply wow.
    Sony, we will NEVER forget nor forgive. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0G0LlXv-nyI

  18. #18
    Great Puma (Level 12) skaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    #vbender
    Posts
    4,723
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    SkaarDragoon

    Default

    Found this looking for setup on my HTPC... Mamewah's download page down?

  19. #19
    Flawless Rawkality Flack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    OKC, OK
    Posts
    14,270
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    I've been through two or three front ends on my Mame cabinet and I hate having to go through complicated (or worse, manual) setup configurations. I installed Mala last weekend and was really impressed. It took me less than five minutes to get it up and running and it does everything I need in a front end. I am only using it with MAME right now but I see that it supports other emulators. If you are having trouble setting up a front end you might give this one a shot.

    I actually took a stab at making my own front end a while back. I wanted it to configure itself and build all its own lists automatically so that's what it does. It worked really great during testing with a handful of roms. Then I threw a full MAME rom set at it and it took like 15 minutes to load. Oh well, back to the drawing board.

  20. #20
    Kirby (Level 13) cyberfluxor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    5,560
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trebuken View Post
    And for the gentleman's MAME setup...

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1063742
    That's a nice setup, but it's so overboard with emulation and ROMs I'm suprised there aren't comments on the legality of his rig. I don't mind the custom work that goes into homemade MAME and arcade machine cabs, but sometimes what they are emulating just plucks a nerve.
    [Website] [Gallary] [Games List] [DP Feedback]

Similar Threads

  1. A brand new 3D frontend for emulators
    By SM Sith Lord in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-08-2011, 04:30 PM
  2. Advice on Mame Frontend for cab needed
    By Cirrus in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-30-2009, 01:51 PM
  3. New WinUAE Frontend!
    By OldSchoolGamer in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2005, 10:09 PM
  4. AMAZING Mame frontend - Personal 3D Arcade
    By Sylentwulf in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-19-2005, 07:49 PM
  5. 3D frontend... what was that called?
    By ManekiNeko in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-10-2003, 04:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •