Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 38

Thread: Powerpak work with Retro Duo?

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Lightbulb Powerpak work with Retro Duo?

    Does the powerpak from retrousb.com work on a Retro Duo? If it does, I don't just want your word for it, I want you to actually post a video of it doing so on youtube for everyone to see because it would make this thing worth the money for me because my original NES doesn't work all that well.
    Last edited by Joe_Cracker; 04-06-2009 at 02:51 AM.

  2. #2
    Banned

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    near Cincinnati
    Posts
    525
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe_Cracker View Post
    Does the powerpak from retrousb.com work on a Retro Duo? If it does, I don't just want your word for it, I want you to actually post a video of it doing so on youtube for everyone to see.
    It fails to work with clone systems for 1 of 2 reasons-

    1) the clone hardware is incompatible for the same reasons that other games are incompatible

    2) they intentionally designed it not to work with clone hardware.

    Unortunately it costs too much for me to ever consider purchasing one.

  3. #3
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3,248
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The website specifically says it's not compatible with clones. If it works for some people, great, but i wouldn't rely on it.

  4. #4
    Great Puma (Level 12) skaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    #vbender
    Posts
    4,722
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    SkaarDragoon

    Default

    How much is a NES deck? Geez.
    <Sothy> its the internet <Sothy> who cares

    Quote Originally Posted by Daltone View Post
    This is a classic gaming site and the most active thread is a load of people wanking off to my little pony.

  5. #5
    Pac-Man (Level 10) namzep's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Stillwater, OK
    Posts
    2,169
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    namzep

    Default

    I've heard people say that it does but I was never able to get it working with mine. So, it's probably a crapshoot (like ProgrammingAce says) whether you would be able to get it to do so.

  6. #6
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

  7. #7
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3,248
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe_Cracker View Post
    Ok, i read it. What am i supposed to see? It works for some people, but not others. NOACs aren't all that compatible with the NES's PPU (The Graphics processor). It's kind of a crapshoot.

  8. #8
    Banana (Level 7) kaedesdisciple's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    in ur haus, eatin ur d0rit0z
    Posts
    1,418
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    JOEY BLACKOUTS
    PSN
    JOEY_BLACKOUTS

    Default

    So, you don't trust anyone's word here when no one knows you from a hole in the wall? Geez, pretty demanding.

    The site says, verbatim:

    System Compatibility List:
    Works on authentic Nintendo Systems including NTSC, PAL A, PAL B, and Asian top loader and toaster systems.

    Works on Famicom using 72-60 pin converter.

    Does NOT work on clone systems like the NEX, Yobo, or FC Twin.

    Untested on portable systems, not likely to work.
    Even if someone tells you and you can "see" it on a youtube video, that's still that person's system. No way to know if it'll work on yours or what strange glitches you'll see.

    In other words, what ProgrammingAce & namzep said.

  9. #9
    Banned

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    near Cincinnati
    Posts
    525
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by skaar View Post
    How much is a NES deck? Geez.
    Okay, I am REALLY getting sick of this attitude.

    Know how much I'd pay for a vintage NES at the only game store in my area that stocks them?

    $60 for a frontloader, $100 for a crappy TF-only toploader. Neither of which would be in any guaranted condition. Either of which is too much money. I'd rather emulate the system for those prices.

    Not everyone has access to thrift stores or decent garage sales, especially when you're in a redneck area.

  10. #10
    Ryu Hayabusa (Level 16) Custom rank graphic
    Oobgarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Milford. Ohio.
    Posts
    8,086
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Oobgarm
    PSN
    Oobgarm
    Steam
    Oobgarm

    Default

    There's always the internet, you know. I'm sure you can find a reasonably priced deck either here one of the multiple auction sites.
    RIP bargora, you will be greatly missed.That is how we do things on Giedion Prime.

  11. #11
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Well, it only applies to the Retro Duo V2.0 for all I know which has a longer game compatability list. None of you should be surprised if the powerpak is proven to be compatable. Mainly because of what I am planning on doing: https://sourceforge.net/projects/nesrommaker http://nesrommaker.wikispaces.com/
    Last edited by Joe_Cracker; 04-06-2009 at 07:31 PM.

  12. #12
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3,248
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Diosoth View Post
    Okay, I am REALLY getting sick of this attitude.

    Know how much I'd pay for a vintage NES at the only game store in my area that stocks them?

    $60 for a frontloader, $100 for a crappy TF-only toploader. Neither of which would be in any guaranted condition. Either of which is too much money. I'd rather emulate the system for those prices.

    Not everyone has access to thrift stores or decent garage sales, especially when you're in a redneck area.
    But the same store sells a RetroDuo for less then $60? 'Cause that's what we're talking about here.

    I've never seen a store sell a RetroDuo for less then a front loader. If you're going online to get the RetroDuo for cheaper, you could still get the front loader for even less. I'm not sure what you're trying to say. Emulation is cheaper? Well, no duh. But you cant emulate the powerpak, so you're still completely off.

  13. #13
    Cherry (Level 1) Draven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Jackson, KY
    Posts
    323
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Geez. What a thread. Ya know, I've seen UFO's on youtube (which is actually one of the more believeable things you can find on there). It wouldn't matter if you saw a vid with your own eyes. Doesn't mean it will work for everyone. And I highly doubt that ANYWHERE in the continental US is so rural that you can't find a NES. I live in Eastern Kentucky..hillbilly central. I bought 3 NES's for $5 (total, not each). I got a toploader here for 10 bucks with 2 controllers. The more rural, the better. People practically give them away, you just have to look and keep your eyes open. In the past 2 months I've found Super Starfox Weekend and Bubble Bath Babes (for what you would commonly spend on a NES game) and I'm heading to the flea again this weekend to pick up Bubble Bobble 2 for 8 bucks (ran out of cash last weekend and the ATM was out of cash due to the first of the monthers...hillbilly central). Anyway, just keep your head up and you'll find that good deal eventually. If you don't, shoot me a pm and if you want to cover shipping I'll see if I can't find an old toaster deck around here for you (can't guarantee anything, I keep my spares in my tool closet and I throw tool boxes in there all the time so they may be destroyed by now).
    Your ad here.

  14. #14
    Banana (Level 7)
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,503
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I tried it on 2 different retro duo's and I couldn't get it to work. I got a title screen but it wouldn't go any further

  15. #15
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I already have a Retro Duo, that's another reason why I posted this thread.

  16. #16
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    This is what is says on retrousb.com
    :START:System Compatibility List:
    Works on authentic Nintendo Systems including NTSC, PAL A, PAL B, and Asian top loader and toaster systems.

    Works on Famicom using 72-60 pin converter.

    Does NOT work on clone systems like the NEX, Yobo, or FC Twin.

    Untested on portable systems, not likely to work.:END:

    The compatibitly list states that it works in a US NES, a European NES as well as a Famicom. The list also states which clones which it's doesn't work on and that's no surprise because these clones listed above, the Retro Duo makes them obsolite because it plays more original software.
    Last edited by Joe_Cracker; 04-07-2009 at 07:32 PM.

  17. #17
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3,248
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    http://www.digitpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=114088

    Frankie_says_the_powerpak_works

    The difference between the retroduo and standard NOAC has nothing to do with the NOAC itself, but how it handles the cart busses. I would still think it's a crapshoot, because the NES PPU isn't 1:1 against the NOAC.

    But if you're planning on developing some sort of NES engine builder, you would already know that. You can't possibly expect to write code for the NES and test it against an NOAC. Besides, what you want to make has already been created. Look for NBASIC by Bob Rost.

    You do know there are at least 6 different NES assembly compilers, right? And you do know how to write Motorola 6502 assembly right? I highly recommend NESASM.
    Last edited by ProgrammingAce; 04-07-2009 at 08:06 PM.

  18. #18
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3,248
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe_Cracker View Post
    Well, it only applies to the Retro Duo V2.0 for all I know which has a longer game compatability list. None of you should be surprised if the powerpak is proven to be compatable. Mainly because of what I am planning on doing: https://sourceforge.net/projects/nesrommaker http://nesrommaker.wikispaces.com/
    I just read your website, you have no idea how the NES works do you?

  19. #19
    Insert Coin (Level 0) genesisguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    110
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Draven View Post
    Geez. What a thread. Ya know, I've seen UFO's on youtube (which is actually one of the more believeable things you can find on there). It wouldn't matter if you saw a vid with your own eyes. Doesn't mean it will work for everyone. And I highly doubt that ANYWHERE in the continental US is so rural that you can't find a NES. I live in Eastern Kentucky..hillbilly central. I bought 3 NES's for $5 (total, not each). I got a toploader here for 10 bucks with 2 controllers. The more rural, the better. People practically give them away, you just have to look and keep your eyes open. In the past 2 months I've found Super Starfox Weekend and Bubble Bath Babes (for what you would commonly spend on a NES game) and I'm heading to the flea again this weekend to pick up Bubble Bobble 2 for 8 bucks (ran out of cash last weekend and the ATM was out of cash due to the first of the monthers...hillbilly central). Anyway, just keep your head up and you'll find that good deal eventually. If you don't, shoot me a pm and if you want to cover shipping I'll see if I can't find an old toaster deck around here for you (can't guarantee anything, I keep my spares in my tool closet and I throw tool boxes in there all the time so they may be destroyed by now).

    I live in Chicago we have two retro gaming stores where I can buy a used front loader for cheaper than a Retro Duo. I can go on ebay and find one for even cheaper than and cheaper than Retro Duo. Living in the city has it's advantages. That said, the best deals I've found are on vacations up in Wisconsin where I can probably find a NES console for 5-10 bucks.

    Buy vintage!

  20. #20
    Crono (Level 14) Sonicwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Abbotsford, BC, Canada
    Posts
    6,610
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Sonicwolf359

    Default

    The PowerPak should be designed to work with system clones as the reliability of the classic Nintendo Entertainment System is pretty much lame as lame can be.
    DERP

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-07-2013, 05:38 PM
  2. WTB: NES PowerPak
    By Necrosaro420 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-20-2011, 10:46 PM
  3. RetroDuo and PowerPak - CF brands that work?
    By Bub_and_Bob in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 08:27 AM
  4. Retro games at work
    By classicb in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-01-2004, 05:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •