Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Anyone looking for a C64-SX 'Executive' version?

  1. #1
    Startin' From Scratch Custom rank graphic
    AB Positive's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    not on the coast of massachusetts
    Posts
    6,199
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default Anyone looking for a C64-SX 'Executive' version?

    I heard these were in pretty good demand for some 64 collectors and the usual caveats...

    1) Not mine

    2) I'm not bidding (it's not an Amiga )


    buuuuut if you want it it's only 99 cents with decent shipping rates.
    -AB+

    Holy crap. It's been a while.

  2. #2
    Pear (Level 6) Soviet Conscript's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    1,361
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    i picked up one myself a few months ago. got it free off craigslist. unfortunitly it doesn't work. fairly sure the problem is the c64 side and not the monitor. oh well i guess thats what you get for free. still a neat thing to have

  3. #3
    Bell (Level 8) 98PaceCar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,623
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Soviet Conscript View Post
    i picked up one myself a few months ago. got it free off craigslist. unfortunitly it doesn't work. fairly sure the problem is the c64 side and not the monitor. oh well i guess thats what you get for free. still a neat thing to have
    What is it doing? Most C64 failures are pretty easy to fix, though I will say that taking an SX-64 apart is an exercise in patience.
    Check out www.videogameconsolelibrary.com for all of your console review needs!

  4. #4
    Pear (Level 6) Soviet Conscript's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    1,361
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 98PaceCar View Post
    What is it doing? Most C64 failures are pretty easy to fix, though I will say that taking an SX-64 apart is an exercise in patience.
    it powers on and the monitor lights up. goes all white. played with the brightness and thats not the problem. i tried putting a disk in and typeing the load command and nothing, thus why i think it may be the c64 side thats shot. i've opened it up and looked around for anything thats popped out of place but everything looks good on a visual check

  5. #5
    Bell (Level 8) 98PaceCar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,623
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Soviet Conscript View Post
    it powers on and the monitor lights up. goes all white. played with the brightness and thats not the problem. i tried putting a disk in and typeing the load command and nothing, thus why i think it may be the c64 side thats shot. i've opened it up and looked around for anything thats popped out of place but everything looks good on a visual check
    Here's a pretty good site for debugging C64 issues. Some SX specific stuff. Maybe it will help point you in the right direction.

    http://personalpages.tds.net/~rcarlsen/cbm/sx64.txt

    With mine, I had to do ram as soon as I got it, but it would come up. Just had the wrong number of bytes free. Not fun to repair, but not impossible.
    Check out www.videogameconsolelibrary.com for all of your console review needs!

  6. #6
    Pretzel (Level 4) Kaboomer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    818
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I had one a while back and regret getting rid of it. If I find one near me again I will def go after it. It's great. Cartridge slot and joystick port. Great system and takes up alot less room than a C64, monitor and disk drive.

  7. #7
    Peach (Level 3)
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    655
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Commodore SX-64

    I found one on craigslist a while back and this is a great system to have in my collection. This is basically the first portable computer, though I was surprised at how heavy it is. Too bad there isn't a way to plug the C64 cassette recorder to it to play tape games.

  8. #8
    Flawless Rawkality Flack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    OKC, OK
    Posts
    14,269
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Is there a tape game out there that hasn't been converted to floppy disk?

    The only reason I don't use my SX64 exclusively is because it's awkward to use with the 1541 Ultimate. The device sticks straight up in the air unsupported, and since the SX's internal drive defaults to 8 you either have to change it every single time to a 9 via software, or open it up and add a switch with is more effort than I'm willing to put in. I may just add a jumper to the drive's power cable so I can disable the internal one that way.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-23-2013, 03:40 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-15-2012, 02:16 PM
  3. Geoff Keighley Gets Promoted to Spike Executive
    By The 1 2 P in forum Modern Gaming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-23-2008, 08:28 PM
  4. Peter Jackson to be executive producer on Halo movie
    By studvicious in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 08-09-2006, 02:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •