Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Commadore 64 in box?

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0) yoshilime53's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    127
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Commadore 64 in box?

    How much would a Commadore 64 in box with all hookups be worth? looks like its in good condition, has styros and so on.

  2. #2
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    362
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If it's the breadbox version, probably around $20. I recently sold a pristine boxed 64C for about $60 (which seemed high but I'm not complainin').

  3. #3
    Pear (Level 6) Kyle15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    The South
    Posts
    1,375
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Gasshu-kun

    Default

    Aren't Commodore 128's a bit more than plain 64's? I have one of those in a 64 box, complete with hook-ups.
    In Heaven, everything is fine.

  4. #4
    ServBot (Level 11) swlovinist's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Gamers Paradise
    Posts
    3,607
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    swlovinist

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yoshilime53 View Post
    How much would a Commadore 64 in box with all hookups be worth? looks like its in good condition, has styros and so on.
    I would say selling it at $30 to $40 on craigslist, probably more on ebay. Then again, evilbay will take 20 percent. There is always gamegavel.com
    Would you like to know more about collecting video games? Check out my extensive Youtube channel! https://www.youtube.com/user/swlovinist

  5. #5
    Pear (Level 6) rpepper9's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    On Top or On The Bottom
    Posts
    1,291
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by swlovinist View Post
    I would say selling it at $30 to $40 on craigslist, probably more on ebay. Then again, evilbay will take 20 percent. There is always gamegavel.com
    Where are you getting your %20 idea?
    Condoleezza Rice is nice, but I prefer A Roni!

  6. #6
    ServBot (Level 11) Custom rank graphic
    Cornelius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wrong Place, Wrong Time
    Posts
    3,774
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    72
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    25
    Thanked in
    24 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rpepper9 View Post
    Where are you getting your %20 idea?
    That's not a terrible number, actually. I assume he is including Paypal, which you pretty much have to include. And it is more accurate for a BIN of about $40 than for an auction. The auction starting at .99 would run more like 10-15%.

  7. #7
    Banana (Level 7) kaedesdisciple's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    in ur haus, eatin ur d0rit0z
    Posts
    1,418
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    JOEY BLACKOUTS
    PSN
    JOEY_BLACKOUTS

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kyle15 View Post
    Aren't Commodore 128's a bit more than plain 64's? I have one of those in a 64 box, complete with hook-ups.
    I know it sounds like a dumb question, but is it tested and working?

  8. #8
    Pear (Level 6) Kyle15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    The South
    Posts
    1,375
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Gasshu-kun

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kaedesdisciple View Post
    I know it sounds like a dumb question, but is it tested and working?
    I'm preparing to try it, although I have no idea how to tell if it functions properly. Do they just boot up like plain computers, or do they need software inside to start?
    In Heaven, everything is fine.

  9. #9
    ServBot (Level 11) Custom rank graphic
    Cornelius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wrong Place, Wrong Time
    Posts
    3,774
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    72
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    25
    Thanked in
    24 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kyle15 View Post
    I'm preparing to try it, although I have no idea how to tell if it functions properly. Do they just boot up like plain computers, or do they need software inside to start?
    It should boot to a command prompt.

  10. #10
    Banana (Level 7) kaedesdisciple's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    in ur haus, eatin ur d0rit0z
    Posts
    1,418
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    JOEY BLACKOUTS
    PSN
    JOEY_BLACKOUTS

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cornelius View Post
    It should boot to a command prompt.
    Yup, for a 128, you should see a screen that looks like this:


  11. #11
    Pear (Level 6) Kyle15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    The South
    Posts
    1,375
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Gasshu-kun

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cornelius View Post
    It should boot to a command prompt.
    Quote Originally Posted by kaedesdisciple View Post
    Yup, for a 128, you should see a screen that looks like this:

    Okay, thanks guys.
    In Heaven, everything is fine.

  12. #12
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    362
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Assuming it boots, the most common problem is a defective keyboard, so try out every key. You could test the SID chip too, but I've found the later model SID used in the 128 to be far more reliable than those in the breadbox 64s.

  13. #13
    Kirby (Level 13) cyberfluxor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    5,560
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I picked one up several months ago for $15, but didn't have manuals or Styrofoam inserts. The guy asked for a fair price so I gave it to him as I'm not out to screw someone over that wanted to honestly unload an old computer with hook-ups, sleeves, and box that worked. Truthfully they aren't rare and are generally undesirable if they don't include drives, software, or other external devices. People are flexible if it doesn't include a monitor as I have mine hooked up to my Sony 32" Trinitron CRT.

    As a side note, a thrift store up the road has a C=128 with spreadsheet software and some Microsoft Windows stuff all loose floppies, hook-ups, floppy drives, and a tattered box for $80. I asked if the monitor was in the back someplace to just be told no, so at the point I laughed and left since they wanted to charge me $10 for a scratched up Pacman picture disc vinyl when records are supposed to be $2. It had no special tags identifying it as rare or at a higher price, but the 60-something cashier lady and manager were determined to get 5x their normal asking price (up until Spring '08 all records were $1 and less at this place).
    Last edited by cyberfluxor; 11-12-2009 at 04:33 PM.
    [Website] [Gallary] [Games List] [DP Feedback]

Similar Threads

  1. Commadore 64???
    By AJay17 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-16-2004, 11:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •