Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28

Thread: Famicom Disk System not working

  1. #1
    Banned

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    218
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Famicom Disk System not working

    Okay, so I just imported a Famicom Disk System for my collection, but when I loaded the disk, it gave me an error #2. I know this means that the unit isn't receiving power, so it's not the typical broken belt issue. Switching between AC and batteries didn't solve the problem either. I opened it up but didn't see any immediate damage, other than it looks like someone squeezed the cord connecting the drive to the board a little hard with pliers. I'm guessing that the issue is in the wiring somewhere, but without a multimeter on hand I can't be sure. Tips?

  2. #2
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Appleton, Maine
    Posts
    540
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Without a multimeter you cant check for broke components. You dont need an expensive multimeter either, your radioshack should have em for cheap. PM sent.

  3. #3
    Banned

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    218
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Okay, I just got a message from the seller, he claims that the device wont power if any kind of conflict arises, such as a broken belt, is this true?

  4. #4
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Appleton, Maine
    Posts
    540
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If something is binding or not being moved it may cause it, though id think it would at least light up. Smell anything burning or trying to move at all?

  5. #5
    Banned

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    218
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Okay, I replaced the belt and it fixed that problem, but now whenever I enter a disk it stays on the "Now loading" screen. The drive works and the disk spins, but it never loads. The drive head and disk both look very clean, what else could I have done wrong?

  6. #6
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    In addition to replacing the belt, you need to "calibrate" the head.

    In my experience with fixing FDS units, this isn't a 100% effective technique (when something else is wrong, no matter how much you calibrate the head it won't fix the problem) but when it works you'll have your games booting in less than 2 seconds.

    PM me your email address and I'll send you over calibration instructions with photos.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  7. #7
    Banned

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    218
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I still can't get any disks to load. I've adjusted the head and motor speed over and over, but either I'm doing it wrong or something else is the problem. What else can I do?

  8. #8
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default



    Well, belt replacement and calibration is the maximum level of expertise that I can provide.

    It may be electrical/electronic beyond adjustments.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  9. #9
    Banned

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    218
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I just don't get what's causing this. What would make a disk spin, but never load or give an error message?

  10. #10
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Appleton, Maine
    Posts
    540
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Is the disc any good? Does it have damage or dirt or whatever? Maybe its been damaged data wise by a magnet or something else, heat, sun whatever.

  11. #11
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gokugohandave View Post
    Is the disc any good? Does it have damage or dirt or whatever? Maybe its been damaged data wise by a magnet or something else, heat, sun whatever.
    Good question/point.

    Do you have more than one Famicom Disk?

    If you have more than one try them all, if you only have one, try both sides of the disk you have.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  12. #12
    Banned

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    218
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I only have the one disk, but it's in almost new condition and I got it from a reliable retailer.

  13. #13
    Strawberry (Level 2) phreak97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    592
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    phreak97

    Default

    did you reallign the spindle? when you pull it apart to change the belt the spindle gets moved out of whack, it's designed so it only clips into the disk in one specific position, so if you put it back together in the wrong place the head will never actually line up with any data. mine gave errors when I had this problem, but it's something to check I guess. if you run it with the cover off can you see the head moving back and forth across the disk?

  14. #14
    Banned

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    218
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I did notice that the head doesn't seem to move at all, no. Could that be why it's doing that?

  15. #15
    Strawberry (Level 2) phreak97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    592
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    phreak97

    Default

    the head and the spindle are geared together, they run via the belt. if one moves and not the other then you didnt put it back together properly, if neither move then its either all jammed up or you really arent getting power..

  16. #16
    Banned

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    218
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Well the head will move towards the center but not away. I'm not sure how to fix it.

  17. #17
    Strawberry (Level 2) phreak97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    592
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    phreak97

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SplashChick View Post
    Well the head will move towards the center but not away. I'm not sure how to fix it.
    how does that work? it has to move away before it can move t the centre..

  18. #18
    Banned

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    218
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If I forcibly move it from the center it will when I put a disk in.

  19. #19
    Banned

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    218
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It IS supposed to move away from the center when it's trying to read, right?

  20. #20
    Alex (Level 15) InsaneDavid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    7,364
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    18
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    13
    Thanked in
    12 Posts

    Default

    Just for the record, the FDS head alignment tutorials I've seen set the head position up completely different from how I set mine. I tried a few different positions (including the ones in the tutorials) but it essentially boiled down to some trial and error until I found an ideal spot, which ended up being...



    Not to say that's where it should rest on all drives (quite the opposite, as I found out from the tutorials) but it's something to try. I get one second seek times and no rereads on my Twin Famicom with it set like that.

Similar Threads

  1. Famicom disk system not working
    By buzz_n64 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-23-2009, 08:46 PM
  2. FS: Working Famicom Disk System
    By madman77 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-14-2009, 09:49 AM
  3. WTB WORKING Famicom Disk System
    By digitalpress in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-06-2008, 06:37 PM
  4. Famicom Disk System not working. Is it the belt?
    By Atariguy in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-26-2007, 03:12 PM
  5. Anyone Have a Working Famicom Disk System for sale or trade?
    By NesRaider in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-20-2003, 04:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •