Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Amiga Emulation

  1. #1
    Flawless Rawkality Flack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    OKC, OK
    Posts
    14,269
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Amiga Emulation

    Is there a simple article anywhere that explains Amiga emulation? I don't have a lot of disks for my Amiga and I wouldn't mind trying some games out via emulation first to see if it's worth playing them on a real machine but ... maybe my emulators were old or maybe I'm just retarded (or most likely, both) but the last time I tried I couldn't make heads or tails out of what was going on.

  2. #2
    Peach (Level 3)
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    663
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Check out the Amiga Forever package, and http://www.lemonamiga.com/

    To be honest, I haven't tried Amiga Forever myself, but I've heard good things about it on RetroGaming Radio a couple years ago. At least it's a place to start.
    If you can't do it with 8 bits, you don't need to do it!

  3. #3
    ServBot (Level 11) kedawa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,429
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It's not worth buying, honestly.
    The biggest problem I have with Amiga emulation is that UAE can never seem to get the screen cropping/centering right.
    It's just mind blowing that something so basic never gets fixed, especially given how good the overall quality of the emulator is.

  4. #4
    Startin' From Scratch Custom rank graphic
    AB Positive's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    not on the coast of massachusetts
    Posts
    6,199
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    WinUAE nowadays is quite decent. Lots of options but really setup the Quickstart to a500 w/ 1MB of chip RAM and you'll most likely play whatever you have.
    -AB+

    Holy crap. It's been a while.

  5. #5
    Red (Level 21) Jorpho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    We're all mad here
    Posts
    13,537
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I tried something called Amiga In A Box once, but that project seems to be long dead. Googling now turns up http://wiki.abime.net/amiga:workbench_packs , which looks pretty nifty. All of those require Workbench disks of some sort or another, however.

    If I had the money I'd rather just deal with Amiga Forever, being nice and legal and all. (If only Steam would sell it!)
    "There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge." --Bertrand Russel (attributed)

  6. #6
    Cherry (Level 1) phreakindee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    316
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    This is the easiest to follow, favorite Amiga emulation guide I have used:

    http://www.tweakguides.com/Amiga_1.html

    Gives you step-by-step what to do in WinUAE, which is free. Just add game images!
    PC Game Collector - DOS and beyond

    Lazy Game Reviews

  7. #7
    Peach (Level 3)
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    663
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Anyone try Amiga Forever on a Mac? They say it basically works but isn't supported.
    If you can't do it with 8 bits, you don't need to do it!

  8. #8
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Augusta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    268
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    With DirectX/Direct3D filters, it's really simple to set up perfect-looking screenmodes. The only real problem you will run into is that if your display doesn't run at exactly 60Hz/120Hz (or 50Hz/100Hz for PAL) then you can't use VSYNC without garbling the sound, since the audio is exactly synced with the framerate.

    The D3D modes have auto-center/auto-resize, etc. It's really the most complete emulation of any system that exists. You really don't need a real Amiga.
    -
    Pete Rittwage
    C64 Preservation Project
    http://c64preservation.com

Similar Threads

  1. ZX Spectrum / Amiga emulation
    By Kitsune Sniper in forum Computer Gaming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-18-2010, 05:10 PM
  2. Amiga Emulation
    By Graham Mitchell in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-27-2004, 02:03 PM
  3. New WinUAE released (Amiga emulation)
    By zektor in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-10-2003, 10:47 PM
  4. Amiga Emulation
    By Alex Kidd in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-14-2003, 11:10 PM
  5. Really getting into Amiga emulation (again)...
    By zektor in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-12-2003, 04:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •