Thread: So I just got my first arcade..

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default So I just got my first arcade..

..and it is Asteroids Deluxe. It was given to me for free and does not currently work. I looked at the pcb and it seems to be in good shape. Keep in mind I know very little about these, but I'm trying to figure out what could likely be in need of replacement.

Are there certain components that I should check first that are usual suspects of older machines like these? I know it is probably difficult to diagnose these without checking them out. I will be posting pictures of it later tonight.

Again, I am very new to the arcade world, but very interested in learning. Any tips or advice would be appreciated. Thanks

ServBot (Level 11)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

I have an Asteroids, that's currently dead. There's any number of things you can do to test it. The first thing you need to do is see if the monitor is powering on. Is there neck glow in the back? Replace all the fuses in the power supply or at least inspect them.

Look for the "spot killer" on the monitor. The spot killer is a bright dot that appears in the center of the monitor if the monitor isn't getting a video signal. It is also important to determine which monitor you have in your machine, so you can ask questions appropriate to it. It should be a g05-802 like the one in a regular asteroids cabinet, but you need to verify by looking for monitor number stickers.

You might also check the AR board, which is the other board inside the game (other than the game PCB). I recently wanted info on how to test this board, so I asked over at KLOV. Here is a thread with big pictures, that should tell you how to test the AR board.

http://forums.arcade-museum.com/show....php?p=1134324