Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need Neo Geo Info

Peach (Level 3)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Need Neo Geo Info

I'm considering a Neo Geo purchase but I don't know a whole lot about the system. I see them on ebay all the time. They're not cheap but that's not why I started this thread.

It seems that there are at least two types of Neo Geo consoles. A CD version and a cartridge version. Is one more desirable than the other?

I'm not looking at this from a collectors stand point. I want to play the games!

Please, any info you can provide will be very helpful.

Thanks!

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

I'm no neo expert, but since i got here first:

the cart system is your best bet if you are willing to spend some cash. new or rare neo carts can be pretty expensive.

the cd system is the cheaper route, and you can get some nice cd quality music on some games. however, i hear the loading times on those things are horrid. also, correct me if i'm wrong, but new releases no longer come out in cd format.

Peach (Level 3)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

It all depends on how much money your willing to spend. You have lots of choices really. You can buy the Home Cart System(AES), or a CD system which has a 1x cd-rom drive, OR you can pay a whole lot more money and get a CDX system, which has a 2x cd-rom drive

The cartridge system has two types of Carts. AES and MVS. The AES are made for the AES system, whereas the MVS are the Arcade versions and won't work in a home system. However, some genius created the Phantom 1 convertor which allows you to play the MVS carts on your home system. This is good because MVS carts are the cheapest route to go period.