Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Sega 32x help???

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    147
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Sega 32x help???

    Hello all. Today I purchased a Sega Genesis, Sega CD, and Sega 32x at a somewhat-local used game store.

    After much fiddling with wires and all, I got the Genesis and CD running smoothly.

    The problem is with the 32x.
    When I attempt to play a 32x game, I get no sound and the video is, well..screwy. Not even a distorted image of the game, just...bleh. Now, I've only got one 32x game, sadly, so I have no way of trying another cartridge.
    When I play a Genesis game through the 32x, I get sound, but still no video. The game works fine without the 32x in, however.
    Because of this, I feel as if there's a problem with the 32x itself, or with the wire that connects it to the Genesis.
    Is there any way of finding out which of these is problematic without buying a new 32x and/or wire?

    As always, your help is greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    467
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If you get no video with a standard Genesis cart at all, I'd say you'd have a problem with your 32x's actual hardware... Hrm.

  3. #3
    Peach (Level 3) Hwj_Chim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    607
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    hwj_chim

    Default

    good site for trouble shooting a 32x http://www.sonic-cult.org/articles/32x/

    good luck with this. your problem almost sounds like the ribbon cables are loose on the board.
    SEGA!

  4. #4
    ServBot (Level 11) Custom rank graphic
    Baloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    3,005
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Steam
    c2po123

    Default

    Usually when there's something wrong with the cable, the output will fuck up. I had one that was corroded on the inside and it made the colors of the game slightly tinted green, it was weird.
    <skaar> Sega is like Marilyn Monroe would be if she was still alive but at one point went completely bankrupt and started making skin flicks.

    Feedback Thread - http://www.digitpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=132406



  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Gaara_Of_the_Sand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    72
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    do you have the genisis to 32x dongle plugged in?

  6. #6
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    147
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gaara_Of_the_Sand View Post
    do you have the genisis to 32x dongle plugged in?

    If you're referring to the cable to connect the Genesis with the 32x, I have that plugged in, yes.

  7. #7
    Strawberry (Level 2) Pezcore343's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Nutley, New Jersey
    Posts
    448
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Pezcore343

    Default

    I had the same problem with my first 32x, and when I opened it up I saw that it was covered with rust and brown goo and had dead bugs inside it. So I'd recommend checking inside of your system.

  8. #8
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    147
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pezcore343 View Post
    I had the same problem with my first 32x, and when I opened it up I saw that it was covered with rust and brown goo and had dead bugs inside it. So I'd recommend checking inside of your system.

    This may sound like a dumb question, but...how would you recommend doing that?

  9. #9
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Gaara_Of_the_Sand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    72
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    sledgehammer and chisel.

  10. #10
    Cherry (Level 1) retro junkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    231
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    laughing robot
    PSN
    second-monkey
    3DS Friend
    0087-3717-4240

    Default

    I have had a 32X since day one when Sega released it. Somewhere along the way I had the problem of the heavy green tint in the 32X games. Playing with the cable, that goes between the 32X and Genesis, would sometimes yield good results that would be temporary. I ended up getting another of the cables that solved my problem. It seem there was a short, or something, in that particular cable between the plug and cord.

  11. #11
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    147
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by retro junkie View Post
    I have had a 32X since day one when Sega released it. Somewhere along the way I had the problem of the heavy green tint in the 32X games. Playing with the cable, that goes between the 32X and Genesis, would sometimes yield good results that would be temporary. I ended up getting another of the cables that solved my problem. It seem there was a short, or something, in that particular cable between the plug and cord.

    Is there any way to know for sure, though, that the problem is in my cable and not the 32x itself? Without taking the 32x apart? (I'd never be able to get the thing back together)

  12. #12
    Cherry (Level 1) retro junkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    231
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    laughing robot
    PSN
    second-monkey
    3DS Friend
    0087-3717-4240

    Default

    You could do like I did. I put Star Wars 32X game in and turned it on. Then I began twisting and bending. It is by doing this that I found my problem.

  13. #13
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    115
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You may have a problem with the power supply. Try using the 32x with the power supply disconnected. If you get the same results, your power supply may be dead.

  14. #14
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    147
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nhm View Post
    You may have a problem with the power supply. Try using the 32x with the power supply disconnected. If you get the same results, your power supply may be dead.
    It'd turn on without a power supply connected?

  15. #15
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    467
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Is your Genesis a model 2? If so, you could check whether the AC Adapter is faulty by connecting it to the Genesis and seeing if it powers up.

  16. #16
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    147
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kiddo View Post
    Is your Genesis a model 2? If so, you could check whether the AC Adapter is faulty by connecting it to the Genesis and seeing if it powers up.

    Okay, I'll try that.

  17. #17
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    147
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Okay, that seemed to be the problem. The power cord was faulty.
    I hooked up a different power cord (because I already owned a Genesis prior to buying all of this, I had a spare anyway) and it works perfectly.
    Thank you so much, everyone who gave a suggestion. =)

  18. #18
    Kirby (Level 13) SegaAges's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    5,295
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I totally missed this thread, but I had the same problem when I first got mine and a copy of Doom. I was young and did not know that I had to have the 32x and Genesis plugged in, and had the same problems.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 45
    Last Post: 10-29-2013, 02:17 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-30-2010, 05:05 PM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-18-2010, 04:15 PM
  4. Laseractive, Sega Master, Sega CD, and Sega Genesis Stuff
    By Contrabassoon86 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-19-2005, 06:26 PM
  5. FS: Sega Master System, Genesis, Sega 32X and Sega CD stuff
    By mmpoole in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-07-2003, 01:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •