Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Sega Genesis Budokan Game Not Working

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    16
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Sega Genesis Budokan Game Not Working

    Hello! I am having problems getting the Sega Genesis game "Budokan" working on my Genesis. I have tried to do a bit of research into this game, and some people claim it will not work on a model 2 or 3 Genesis without a Game Shark. But I have read that supposedly it does work with a model 1 Genesis, no game shark required.

    Problem is I have a model 1 Genesis and it still doesn't work! I know it's not my system because all my other Genesis games work fine on it.

    And I have collected 3 Budokan cartridges, not a single one works! I have cleaned the contacts on all 3 with rubbing alcohol, trying to get at least one to work.
    I just get a black screen when I try any of these, the intro screen does not come up even.


    It is really baffling to me what else to try. Surely all 3 of these carts are not internally damaged! It has me wondering if perhaps there is some battery inside the carts that is dead, causing them to not work. Perhaps I should open one up...

    Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    DP's favorite trollbait Custom rank graphic
    Kitsune Sniper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Calexico, USA
    Posts
    13,853
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FoxhackDN
    Steam
    Foxhack

    Default

    The very first model should run the game fine. Later versions of Model 1 added the anti-EA cart game code.
    Quote Originally Posted by Edmond Dantes View Post
    I can't tell if we're discussing My Little Pony or Neon Genesis Evangelion anymore.
    eBay Auctions / GameTZ profile / DP Feedback / Youtube / Twitter / RateYourMusic

  3. #3
    Banana (Level 7) Garry Silljo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Washington PA
    Posts
    1,448
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    If your Genesis came with Altered Beast then you are good to go. All other models lock out the early EA games. I know you will run into the same problem with Zany Golf. Which is a shame because Zany Golf is awesomesauce.
    Bacon, Bacon, Bacon, IT'S BACON!!!!

  4. #4
    The Gentleman Thief Custom rank graphic
    Baloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    3,056
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    5
    Thanked in
    5 Posts
    PSN
    BalooDP
    Steam
    baloorj

    Default

    Only certain models of the Model 1 Genesis will run Budokan (Specifically the ones with the TmSS screen "Licensed By Sega Enterprises Ltd." If your model has that, it won't work.

  5. #5
    Alex (Level 15) Custom rank graphic
    Gameguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ontario (Canada)
    Posts
    7,923
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    78
    Thanked in
    70 Posts

    Default

    As others have said, it will only work on the original version of the Model 1 Genesis, the one without a lockout chip. It won't work on the later ones.

    I wonder how many copies of this game were thrown out because people couldn't get them to play on their system.

  6. #6
    The Gentleman Thief Custom rank graphic
    Baloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    3,056
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    5
    Thanked in
    5 Posts
    PSN
    BalooDP
    Steam
    baloorj

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gameguy View Post
    As others have said, it will only work on the original version of the Model 1 Genesis, the one without a lockout chip. It won't work on the later ones.

    I wonder how many copies of this game were thrown out because people couldn't get them to play on their system.
    The thing is, it's an EA game so the print run was probably very high.

    IMO, The best EA game on the Genesis happened to get a low print run: General Chaos

  7. #7
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    16
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    OK, thanks very much! I guess I need the model MK 1601. I think mine is like Model MK 1622, though it looks identical (from the outside).

    I know I have a model 2 Genesis in storage, and I think probably a Genesis Game Genie as well. Perhaps I will give it a shot this way until I can buy the first model Genesis on eBay...

    Just wondering then, will the MK 1601 play absolutely all Genesis games with no problems?

  8. #8
    Alex (Level 15) Custom rank graphic
    Gameguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ontario (Canada)
    Posts
    7,923
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    78
    Thanked in
    70 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Baloo View Post
    The thing is, it's an EA game so the print run was probably very high.

    IMO, The best EA game on the Genesis happened to get a low print run: General Chaos
    It might not be rare, but I still think hundreds of copies got thrown out because of this issue. It's still not as common as their sports games, I come across way too many NHL and Football games without seeing any of their other titles.

    I haven't played General Chaos yet, if I find a copy I'll try it out.

    Quote Originally Posted by oldheadbanger View Post
    OK, thanks very much! I guess I need the model MK 1601. I think mine is like Model MK 1622, though it looks identical (from the outside).

    I know I have a model 2 Genesis in storage, and I think probably a Genesis Game Genie as well. Perhaps I will give it a shot this way until I can buy the first model Genesis on eBay...

    Just wondering then, will the MK 1601 play absolutely all Genesis games with no problems?
    Read this.

    http://www.sega-16.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7796

  9. #9
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    16
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks VERY much for that link! I did not realize that even on the model 1s the only way to tell (from the outside) is by looking at the FCC#.

    Turns out both model 1s I tried it on had the short version of the FCC code...rats!

    I am going to start digging through my storage closet for my model 2 Genesis (and hope I have the 3/4 motherboard version lol!) and my Game Genie. See if I can get it to work that way for the time being.

  10. #10
    Insert Coin (Level 0) gainsbarre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Stumbled upon this posting/forum also looking for answers to the Budokan "scoop". Anybody know why they did this exactly? Seems weird...

    Anyway, I also found this:
    "If you want to bypass the lockout just put any Sega game in your genesis and start playing it, then without turning off the power pull the game out and insert the Budokan game. Then hit the reset button."

    I tired it on a Type 2 and it WORKED! So yeah, have fun with Budokan!

  11. #11
    Cherry (Level 1) PSony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    265
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Just get a Game Genie or a non-TMSS model 1. No need to risk damaging your hardware like that.

Similar Threads

  1. Two original Sega Genesis, neither working properly.
    By famicomman in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-25-2011, 06:04 PM
  2. WTB: any sega mark III game cheap. working or non-working
    By Soviet Conscript in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 08:02 PM
  3. Anyone want BUDOKAN? (Genesis)
    By Steven in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-04-2006, 10:43 PM
  4. Sega Genesis loose cart lot w/ semi working nomad...
    By arrrggghhh in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-28-2005, 09:46 PM
  5. Sega Genesis Game Carts Not Working HELP !!
    By dsullo in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-28-2004, 10:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •