Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Famicom disk system question

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0) bigred5687's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Posts
    44
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    bigred5687

    Default Famicom disk system question

    I was wondering if the disk system would work on my top loader American nes?

  2. #2
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Enigmus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    the dark side of the Moon, really.
    Posts
    1
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    It will- you'll just need a 60-pin to 72-pin converter and something to hold the RAM cart up with.

  3. #3
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    467
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It's a bit more complicated than that - the FDS used the Famicom's support for additional sound channels. If you don't do any sort of mod to play the additional sound channels on the NES, you'll basically be playing FDS games with glitched music and missing sound effects. (This applies to both the front and top loaders, to my memory.)

    This link seemed to be the first relevant one in a Google search, if this helps you.
    Last edited by Kiddo; 01-21-2011 at 05:19 PM.

  4. #4
    ServBot (Level 11) Custom rank graphic
    Graham Mitchell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    3,623
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Psygnosis8
    PSN
    Psygnosis8
    Steam
    Psygnosis8

    Default

    If you want to get an fds I highly recommend you spring for a sharp twin famicom. Theyre all over ebay. They may cost a bit more, but you can use composite video and everything works right out of the box, including the fm sound channels. Plus you get a port for famicom carts.

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0) bigred5687's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Posts
    44
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    bigred5687

    Default

    If i bought a sharp twin famicom will i need a special adapter for the power supply.

  6. #6
    Great Puma (Level 12) Custom rank graphic
    Tupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4,447
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigred5687 View Post
    If i bought a sharp twin famicom will i need a special adapter for the power supply.
    As long as you live in North America, no.

  7. #7
    Jessica's Knight / SOFEL Fanboy InsaneDavid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    7,347
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    16
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    11
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Graham Mitchell View Post
    If you want to get an fds I highly recommend you spring for a sharp twin famicom. Theyre all over ebay. They may cost a bit more, but you can use composite video and everything works right out of the box, including the fm sound channels. Plus you get a port for famicom carts.
    Yup, Twin Famicom all the way!
    Contributing Writer, Retrogaming Times Monthly 2004 - 2013
    Chief Editor, The Retrogaming Times 2016 - Present *NEW RETROGAMING HOBBYIST NEWSLETTER!*


  8. #8
    ServBot (Level 11) Custom rank graphic
    Graham Mitchell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    3,623
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Psygnosis8
    PSN
    Psygnosis8
    Steam
    Psygnosis8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigred5687 View Post
    If i bought a sharp twin famicom will i need a special adapter for the power supply.
    The one that comes with it works in U.S. wall sockets no problem. (kind of strange because the original Famicom doesn't. I've fried one that way.)

  9. #9
    Strawberry (Level 2) Custom rank graphic
    FoxNtd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA/米国
    Posts
    563
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Graham Mitchell View Post
    The one that comes with it works in U.S. wall sockets no problem. (kind of strange because the original Famicom doesn't. I've fried one that way.)
    That doesn't make sense. The one that comes with the Famicom is rated like other DC converters as you'd expect and I have one, and use it, and I assure you I haven't killed any Famicoms. I can double-check what I have and post its info if necessary to confirm its the original; it has the part number to match with the Famicom though..

  10. #10
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    467
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FoxNtd View Post
    That doesn't make sense. The one that comes with the Famicom is rated like other DC converters as you'd expect and I have one, and use it, and I assure you I haven't killed any Famicoms. I can double-check what I have and post its info if necessary to confirm its the original; it has the part number to match with the Famicom though..
    Same here, I use my traditional Famicom Adapter and it works fine.
    My FDS uses a Super Famicom AC Adapter and that seems to work OK as well.

    (And yeah, I don't have a Twin Famicom setup. The price was too high for me; I got my Famicom and FDS on the cheap.)

  11. #11
    Part of the #vbender crew Custom rank graphic
    Ze_ro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    2,520
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Abstract Zero
    PSN
    Ze_roV
    Steam
    abstractzero

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kiddo View Post
    Same here, I use my traditional Famicom Adapter and it works fine.
    3rd. I've been using the normal Famicom adapter since I bought mine... no problems at all. Graham, you must have done something else to fry your system.

    --Zero

  12. #12
    Pac-Man (Level 10)
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sacramento metro
    Posts
    2,243
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    jdotaku

    Default

    this reminded me I have an FDS (anyone want to buy it?) either that Or i need to buy a famicom and ac adapter (anyone wanna sell me those?)

  13. #13
    Arcade Card Compatible Custom rank graphic
    todesengel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    River Ridge, LA
    Posts
    1,205
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ze_ro View Post
    3rd. I've been using the normal Famicom adapter since I bought mine... no problems at all. Graham, you must have done something else to fry your system.

    --Zero
    4th, I have an AV Famicom with the proper official Nintendo power adapter and have been using it for 3 years now with no problems.

    Quote Originally Posted by otaku View Post
    this reminded me I have an FDS (anyone want to buy it?) either that Or i need to buy a famicom and ac adapter (anyone wanna sell me those?)
    You have a PM good sir.

    Like everybody else mentioned, spring for the Twin Fami, it's gonna be the best choice in the end.
    Last edited by todesengel; 01-30-2011 at 11:40 PM.

  14. #14
    ServBot (Level 11) Custom rank graphic
    Graham Mitchell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    3,623
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Psygnosis8
    PSN
    Psygnosis8
    Steam
    Psygnosis8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FoxNtd View Post
    That doesn't make sense. The one that comes with the Famicom is rated like other DC converters as you'd expect and I have one, and use it, and I assure you I haven't killed any Famicoms. I can double-check what I have and post its info if necessary to confirm its the original; it has the part number to match with the Famicom though..
    You're right. I was incorrect. I think I forgot intentionally so I could forget how dumb I was...the Fami I bought had no AC adaptor so I thought I was clever using one from a US NES. Yeah, that didn't work out too well. Smelled like burning plastic.

Similar Threads

  1. Famicom Disk System power supply question.
    By DarthKur in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-09-2007, 05:41 AM
  2. Famicom disk system question.
    By jajaja in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-02-2005, 03:50 PM
  3. Famicom Disk System question
    By nesfanatic in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-03-2004, 10:16 PM
  4. Famicom disk system power question
    By nesfanatic in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-30-2004, 05:07 PM
  5. Famicom Disk System error messages (Question)
    By spoon in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-27-2003, 04:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •