Thread: NES with odd glitches after connector replacement

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default NES with odd glitches after connector replacement

Hi, I've trolled this forum for a while now, however this is my first time posting.

I have this Original formfactor NES that i have replaced the 72-pin connector on. I have also polished the connector on the motherboard so that you can see the light reflecting off it from space. Cleaned the terminals on the connector with electronic cleaner, alcohol and other things with a toothbrush to really get in the connectors tight area. I have also disabled the CIC chip by removing leg 4 on the chip. I have also tried another 72 pin connector to eliminate this as the culprit and i get the same issue.

Now the NES powers up and games work on the first try every time. The problems that persists are:

Mike Tysons Punch Out!
    On the title screen before you press start you can see one of the sprites that make up the glove that punches through the title when you do press start. Portions of the opponents sprites get their colors all wrong.

The Legend of Zelda 1
    On the menu screen the item sprites tend to flicker alot. Also when you meet any old man between 2 fire sprites, It tends to flicker alot as well.

These are just 2 examples. The thing is, it is the same issue every time you insert these games. There is never a gameplay problem and these problems dont exist on another NES that I've used the same maintenance techniques to. Also the games have been cleaned and polished as well. I am hoping that someone else has had this issue and solved, or if there is something I may have missed. Thanks in advance. I can provide pictures if needed.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Replacement pins can be frustrating, unfortunately. I haven't really had any good luck with them.