Thread: Just got a Robotron. Looking for help!

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Just got a Robotron. Looking for help!

I just got a Robotron cabaret (awesome) but it doesn't work. I've started the troubleshooting process but I'm new to this type of game and problem...

Good news, the monitor and boards are getting power and the monitor turns on (no picture though). Anyone know where to start on this? There are LEDs on the boards. The first is of, which I'm going to guess is a problem.

Also, cabarets are so much easier to move than full size games...
    Last edited by Raging Prawn; 12-04-2011 at 09:29 PM.

ServBot (Level 11)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by Raging Prawn View Post
    I just got a Robotron cabaret (awesome) but it doesn't work. I've started the troubleshooting process but I'm new to this type of game and problem...

Good news, the monitor and boards are getting power and the monitor turns on (no picture though). Anyone know where to start on this? There are LEDs on the boards. The first is of, which I'm going to guess is a problem.

Also, cabarets are so much easier to move than full size games...
    First off, congrats -- and if you are anywhere around me and ever want to sell it, that one is on my short list

As for the first thing to start with, try removing and reseating all of the connectors going to the board and between the board and the monitor. DON'T MESS WITH ANYTHING AT THE BACK OF THE MONITOR. That is the easiest tip and the first tip that I have been told to do with my arcade games, and I would say it fixes problems about 75% of the time. The connectors can get corroded, and reseating them allows them to make a better connection again!
    Dan Loosen
    http://www.goatstore.com/ - http://www.midwestgamingclassic.com/