Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Crt monitor sony pvm RGB with retro console *NEED HELP*

  1. #1
    Peach (Level 3) PreZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    640
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    PreZZ
    PSN
    PreZZ

    Default Crt monitor sony pvm RGB with retro console *NEED HELP*

    Hi guys, heres a picture of sony monitor pvm-20n6u available locally, would like to know what i need to get best connection possible with my genesis (how the hell do i plug a scart cable in there?) thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Peach (Level 3) PreZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    640
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    PreZZ
    PSN
    PreZZ

    Default

    http://www.retrogamingcables.com/son...erter-bnc.html would these cable be the thing i need with my genny/snes scart cables?

  3. #3
    FPGA arm-based system Custom rank graphic
    bb_hood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,091
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    46
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    23
    Thanked in
    21 Posts
    PSN
    bb_hood99

    Default

    Thats exactly what you need, also need the genesis RGB scart cable. The cables they make are very nice, I bought a set about a month ago. As long as you have a PVM it should work well

  4. #4
    Peach (Level 3) PreZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    640
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    PreZZ
    PSN
    PreZZ

    Default

    also found a pvm 2950q, but the rgb input on this one needs 5 cables (I already own a vga cable from my old crt sony projector that uses it with a component adapter) but the cable from retrogaming only got 4? what would i need for my genny scart cable to a 5 cable rgb bnc?

  5. #5
    FPGA arm-based system Custom rank graphic
    bb_hood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,091
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    46
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    23
    Thanked in
    21 Posts
    PSN
    bb_hood99

  6. #6
    Ghostbuster
    Greg2600's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Soprano Land, NJ
    Posts
    3,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    45
    Thanked in
    40 Posts

    Default

    Before you spend $50 something dollars, try this guy for a lot less.

    http://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=43883
    The Paunch Stevenson Show free Internet podcast - www.paunchstevenson.com - DP FEEDBACK

  7. #7
    Banana (Level 7) WCP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,411
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Greg2600 View Post
    Before you spend $50 something dollars, try this guy for a lot less.

    http://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=43883


    Yep, that's exactly what you need.

  8. #8
    Peach (Level 3) PreZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    640
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    PreZZ
    PSN
    PreZZ

    Default

    finally got the pvm 20n6u for 30$, and waiting for the cables in the mail! I already had a bnc rgb cable with 5 plugs and a vga end. I tried to plug my dreamcast with the vga box and the bnc cable, didnt work. Do you guy know if i can use a 5 plug bnc cable on my sony which as 4? the screen keeps flickering, i tried the sync on green option and i can see the image its blurry and doubled. of course i plugged the red green blue cable in the r/g/b on the sony, and i tried both the black and the grey for the 4th one (ext sync) and its not working

  9. #9
    Pac-Man (Level 10) theclaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,217
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Xbox LIVE
    theclaw135
    PSN
    Eonclaw

    Default

    VGA is 31khz.

    That wouldn't work if the monitor expects 15khz.
    Lum fan.

  10. #10
    Peach (Level 3) PreZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    640
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    PreZZ
    PSN
    PreZZ

    Default

    Tried to make an account on schmups, the confirmation code is the most ridiculous I have ever seen, I cant read it lol. I failed to many times and cant register!!!!

  11. #11
    drowning in medals Ed Oscuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    16,550
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    What's this 'schmups' you speak of? It's "shmups." Are you sure you're on the right website?

    In all seriousness I will PM the site moderator and see if I can pass along some information to help you out. Did you try registering with that name?

    Edit: PM'd now, will see what he has to say. I'll keep you posted of anything I hear about. Good luck with the monitor and registration!
    Edit #2: The site admin suggests trying again. There's nothing he can do to push the registration through; just hope for a more readable code this time.
    Last edited by Ed Oscuro; 04-05-2013 at 12:45 AM.

  12. #12
    Peach (Level 3) PreZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    640
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    PreZZ
    PSN
    PreZZ

    Default

    Thanks ed, but really I just cant read the confirmation input code, the worst i have ever seen! Im sure a lot of people tried to register and just quit, its so fucking confusing , and the colors are impossible to see with the background its a mess!

  13. #13
    drowning in medals Ed Oscuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    16,550
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Just try again, it's worth it getting in! :P

  14. #14
    Peach (Level 3) PreZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    640
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    PreZZ
    PSN
    PreZZ

    Default

    I received my bng to scart cable from retrogamingcables UK. The image on my genny model 1 is super sharp, but the screen is not centered when using RGB connection, I see 1/2 inch of border on the right and its missing 1/2 inch on the left. I switched to regular composite and the screen is full. I tried buttons on my pvm, and found by pressing menu and exit at teh same time a raster center adjust mod, but I cant move the screen at all, nothing changes whatever button I press. Any help???? its very annoying to be missing a part of the screen when playing with health bars close to the edge of the screen or missing part of text etc.

  15. #15
    Peach (Level 3) PreZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    640
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    PreZZ
    PSN
    PreZZ

    Default

    No help? missing part of the screen makes my 75$ investment in cable pointless!

  16. #16
    drowning in medals Ed Oscuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    16,550
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Aren't there geometry controls on the face of this monitor?

    This might be it:
    http://diagramas.diagramasde.com/otr...686010-00e.pdf
    Look for section 5-2-3, "Horizontal Centering Adjustment." The specific instructions here seem to require some special equipment but it's mainly the specific menus described that you want to look into.

  17. #17
    Peach (Level 3) PreZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    640
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    PreZZ
    PSN
    PreZZ

    Default

    Thanks Ed! I can now play full screen in glorious PVM RGB on my genny!! very nice of you to take the time to help a fellow retro gamer!

  18. #18
    Peach (Level 3) PreZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    640
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    PreZZ
    PSN
    PreZZ

    Default

    ... and no theres no front buttons for geometry!!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-18-2012, 07:05 PM
  2. FS\FT:Sony 21 inch flatscreen monitor....
    By Calfcramp!!! in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2003, 11:05 PM
  3. Sony PVM-2530 monitor $125 shipped!
    By 1bigmig in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-16-2003, 12:27 PM
  4. Sony Brand PSone Monitor Question
    By Sega Hitman in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-09-2003, 06:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •