Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: SNES RF/Multiout video output (wavy lines)

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default SNES RF/Multiout video output (wavy lines)

    I bought a strange snes (model# shvc-cpu-01) off of craigslist for fairly cheap and of course has a problem. I would like to know if anyone can remedy or pintpoint what could be causing this kind of "wavy line" video output my bastard of a son SNES using both multiout/RF.

    Video Output description:
    Using RF, game starts great and then about 10 minutes in I start notice wavy lines that gradually get worse and worse and start to move in patterns that usually move in a single direction. Games are perfectly playable despite graphic output looking like shit. The multiout is much worse: 1) Same wavy line problem, but also has 2) dull colors and 3) every minute or so the current screen frame does a burst of jittery movements (translations) up and down like an old-fashioned movie projector, and finally 4) witnessing doubling effect on foreground sprites (ie. Street Fighter two or more Guiles) every 30 seconds or so. The game logic is perfectly fine through all this however so i'm pretty sure it's not the cpu.


    Basic tests:
    AC Adaptor - works on my original SNES no problems
    Multiout RCA cables - works on my N64 no problems
    Nintendo coax RF adaptor (grey) - assume it's okay b/c same wavy lines appear using multiout (already mentioned those cables good)
    Two known-to-be-working SNES games - scrubbed contacts with alcohol/qtips

    Advanced tests:
    On two separate occasions: Thorough pass with Qtips/alcohol over every nook/cranny/solder joint/cartridge slot (credit card wrapped in alcohol'd eye lens microfiber cloth). No corrosion, rust, charred areas, liquid or physical damage. All solder joints look shiny and great.

    Reflowed solder: All RF joints, all multi-out AV joints, all solder joints on the bottom of the modular SHVC sound card, some other random hole-through caps, and tried to reflow solder around a few of the surface mount caps by the rf/multiout video output area

    RF output 10 minutes into any game:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20130826_223504.jpg 
Views:	51 
Size:	97.2 KB 
ID:	7026Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20130826_223531.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	96.8 KB 
ID:	7027


    All this has done jack shit in alleviating my video output problem. I would like to test the caps, but do not have the appropriate instrument. I would just replace the caps if I had a little more confidence that it could be the cause of my issue. I love to salvage things whenever possible so this is worth it to me to try and salvage this thing. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Alex (Level 15) Custom rank graphic
    Gameguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ontario (Canada)
    Posts
    7,422
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    43
    Thanked in
    37 Posts

    Default

    Since it starts out working fine but has problems after a few minutes, I'd guess it's either the capacitors that are starting to fail, or some part is overheating for some reason.

  3. #3
    Pac-Man (Level 10) theclaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,217
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Xbox LIVE
    theclaw135
    PSN
    Eonclaw

    Default

    Doesn't seem like the graphics chip or memory, no corrupt tiles.

    Affecting RF and RCA different is odd. Could be video encoder related. Especially if RGB is perfect.
    Lum fan.

  4. #4
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by theclaw View Post
    Doesn't seem like the graphics chip or memory, no corrupt tiles.

    Affecting RF and RCA different is odd. Could be video encoder related. Especially if RGB is perfect.

    I'll have to take a picture or capture footage of a game using RCA output. Is video encoder a replaceable component?

  5. #5
    Pac-Man (Level 10) theclaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,217
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Xbox LIVE
    theclaw135
    PSN
    Eonclaw

    Default

    Not easily. It's a chip on the board.
    Lum fan.

  6. #6
    Pear (Level 6) ApolloBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,219
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Are you using an actual Nintendo PSU or one of those cheapo multisystem dealies?
    Quote Originally Posted by starsoldier1 View Post
    GUY WAS SUPPOSE TO PLAYABLE IN THE GAME
    My collection

  7. #7
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ApolloBoy View Post
    Are you using an actual Nintendo PSU or one of those cheapo multisystem dealies?
    official Nintendo SNES PSU (SNS-002, 10V 850mA).
    Last edited by Brachabre; 08-27-2013 at 05:53 PM.

  8. #8
    Cherry (Level 1) Pikkon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Sunshine State
    Posts
    248
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I bet it's the caps,I have a snes that had waves on the screen and a buzzing sound,replaced the bad caps and it works as good as new.

  9. #9
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I'm replacing the caps. It's worth the effort. Stay tuned.

  10. #10
    Cherry (Level 1) Pikkon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Sunshine State
    Posts
    248
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Cool,hope it resolves your problem.

  11. #11
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default SOLVED: SNES RF/Multiout video output (wavy lines)

    Ordered a capacitor replacement kit for SNES model#SHVC-CPU-01. Got them yesterday. Replaced all the capacitors this morning. Problem solved. No more wavy stinkin' interference lines using both RF and Multiout. Played for about 2 hours today with not a hiss, crack, pop, boom in sound and not a single artifact or signal interference in video output on both RF/RCA multiout. Good as new! Woohoo!
    Last edited by Brachabre; 10-05-2013 at 12:58 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. NES Displays Wavy Lines
    By wingzrow in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-29-2014, 06:09 PM
  2. Genesis Model 1 no video output[fixed] Help with S-Video!
    By Ricky in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 05-18-2012, 04:22 PM
  3. Video-game story-lines
    By Vkmies in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-03-2009, 08:01 PM
  4. Monitor Issues- Wavy Lines- Image is too wide
    By Reid in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 07-20-2006, 08:47 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-27-2002, 02:10 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •