Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: NES bad picture quality + no sound

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Custom rank graphic

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default NES bad picture quality + no sound

    I purchased an NES via Ebay about a month ago. I managed to get it to work, but the picture quality is quite bad and there is no sound. When the sound eventually does come around, it comes in the form of a loud buzzing noise. What should I do? Here's a video showcasing my problems. https://youtu.be/GH9FiZyLM5M

  2. #2
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Einzelherz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    174
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I may be way off, but based on the patterns of interference it seems like the audio is crossing into the video stream. When I messed up some cables on my Genesis a similar thing happened.

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Custom rank graphic

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Einzelherz View Post
    I may be way off, but based on the patterns of interference it seems like the audio is crossing into the video stream. When I messed up some cables on my Genesis a similar thing happened.
    How did you solve it? And how can I?

  4. #4
    Kirby (Level 13) Tanooki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    5,957
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Looks like a broken RF adapter that's beyond its life. I've seen this on the NES and older stuff like the fairchild channel F which is from the mid 70s. Try getting a new RF from radio shack or something, or get a RCA cable and pop that in. Even if the RCA you have is stereo, it still will at least let you see and hear if it's a busted system or busted RF cable.

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Custom rank graphic

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tanooki View Post
    Looks like a broken RF adapter that's beyond its life. I've seen this on the NES and older stuff like the fairchild channel F which is from the mid 70s. Try getting a new RF from radio shack or something, or get a RCA cable and pop that in. Even if the RCA you have is stereo, it still will at least let you see and hear if it's a busted system or busted RF cable.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/For-SNES-Sup...item2c7f5a78fb
    Would this help?

  6. #6
    Kirby (Level 13) Tanooki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    5,957
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    No that would be useless as it's basically an extension cord of sorts.

    You need this - http://www.ebay.com/itm/6FT-AV-Audio...item1c5546dd12 (MONO Audio/Video cable)
    *or*
    you need this - http://www.ebay.com/itm/Original-Nin...item35e62fdbab (RF cable)

  7. #7
    Great Puma (Level 12) Bratwurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,457
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    13
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default

    Did you import a NTSC NES into Europe? Is this a PAL NES? I see a PAL RF adapter and then a more traditional RF adapter with a screw fitting, how are you connecting the NES to your television? How are you powering the NES? Need more details here.

  8. #8
    Kirby (Level 13) Tanooki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    5,957
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Good point, could just be incompatible parts, not broken ones. I was thinking NTSC.

  9. #9
    Alex (Level 15) Custom rank graphic
    Gameguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ontario (Canada)
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    38
    Thanked in
    32 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pizzapiezero View Post
    Yes, if you're in Europe that would be a direct cable to connect the RF output to European TVs. I would listen to Bratwurst first as he knows what he's talking about.

  10. #10
    Kirby (Level 13) Tanooki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    5,957
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    We both know what we're talking about. The two parts I linked up are directly what the NES uses to connect to a TV, at least a NTSC TV. Modern PAL tvs use NTSC gear as well.

  11. #11
    Great Puma (Level 12) Bratwurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,457
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    13
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default

    I'm guessing RF is going to be regionally different, if it's an NTSC toploader and you're trying to connect to a PAL television, you'll want to get a NTSC VCR or similar with its own demodulator, and get RCA composite video from that. Or you could try tuning into the RF signal on different channels on the television. Just a guess.

    A more thorough solution would be to get the toploader modded for composite video, have a NESRGB board installed, or wait for the HDMI kit by Kevtris.
    Last edited by Bratwurst; 08-07-2015 at 05:00 PM.

  12. #12
    Alex (Level 15) Custom rank graphic
    Gameguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ontario (Canada)
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    38
    Thanked in
    32 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tanooki View Post
    We both know what we're talking about. The two parts I linked up are directly what the NES uses to connect to a TV, at least a NTSC TV. Modern PAL tvs use NTSC gear as well.
    And yet you said this;

    Quote Originally Posted by Tanooki View Post
    No that would be useless as it's basically an extension cord of sorts.
    He posts a link to a compatible cable and you tell him it's incompatible, mistaking it for an extension cable. You then post a link for him to buy standard AV cables even though the console in his video is a top loader, which doesn't have AV connections. So far your advice is 50/50, which can just be confusing to someone asking for info.



    Possible reasons for the issues are a worn/faulty RF switch as already mentioned, possible capacitor issues with the console, possible power supply issues if something is wrong with the adapter not providing the correct current needed for the console, or a possible issue with the TV itself.

    That's a modern looking flat panel TV so it would probably be compatible with both PAL and NTSC signals, though I've heard that some multisystem TVs are only compatible through the AV or higher inputs, and not through the tuner. It could be a fault with the TV, though the only way to be sure is to try the console on another NTSC compatible TV or to try some other NTSC video on that TV through the RF tuner.

    As for the NES top loader, I'm pretty sure that version never came out in Europe and only in North America and Japan(top loading famicom) so that has to be an import NTSC version.

  13. #13
    Great Puma (Level 12) Bratwurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,457
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    13
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gameguy View Post
    As for the NES top loader, I'm pretty sure that version never came out in Europe and only in North America and Japan(top loading famicom) so that has to be an import NTSC version.
    You're right, though I didn't know until today there was a PAL top loader that came out in Australia, it ain't European.

  14. #14
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Custom rank graphic

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bratwurst View Post
    Did you import a NTSC NES into Europe? Is this a PAL NES? I see a PAL RF adapter and then a more traditional RF adapter with a screw fitting, how are you connecting the NES to your television? How are you powering the NES? Need more details here.
    I imported an NTSC toploader from the US. The RF switch couldn't be connected to the TV, so I then decided to purchase a PAL RF switch. This resulted in the quality showcased in the video. I then attempted solving the problem via a F to Coax converting thing. That didn't give me much better quality(still no sound).

Similar Threads

  1. N64 Picture Quality Mod?
    By wingzrow in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-26-2009, 04:16 PM
  2. Genesis poor picture quality
    By otaku in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-31-2008, 11:59 AM
  3. How do I get the best picture quality from my Xbox360
    By Kejoriv in forum Modern Gaming
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-24-2005, 06:33 PM
  4. Crappy Picture Quality...?
    By Truffle in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-20-2005, 05:40 PM
  5. Picture quality for the 2600 Jr. model
    By Retro Pro in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-09-2004, 05:03 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •