Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Does anyone know if the 8-bitty game controller works with the Retron 5?

  1. #1
    Pac-Man (Level 10) Emperor Megas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The Dark World
    Posts
    2,265
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    5 Posts

    Question Does anyone know if the 8-bitty game controller works with the Retron 5?

    I was doing come cleaning yesterday and came across an 8-bitty game controller that I forgot that I had. Does anyone know if the Retron 5 supports it?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	8bitty.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	90.1 KB 
ID:	9193  

  2. #2
    ServBot (Level 11) Niku-Sama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Deadford, OR
    Posts
    3,793
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    38
    Thanked in
    34 Posts

    Default

    I can't find anything that says one way or another so i figure try and pair it. Shouldn't damage anything by trying.

  3. #3
    Great Puma (Level 12) Steve W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    DFW Metroplex, Texas
    Posts
    4,340
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    37
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    28
    Thanked in
    25 Posts

    Default

    Is it a Bluetooth device? I was wondering because I saw one in a store a couple months ago and was curious if it could be paired with any computer rather than only iPads, iPhones and Android devices.

  4. #4
    Pac-Man (Level 10) Emperor Megas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The Dark World
    Posts
    2,265
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    5 Posts

    Default

    I'm pretty sure it's a blue tooth device, but I don't know much about it. I think my wife gave this to me when I got a tablet as a gift a few years ago, or maybe it was purchssed with ThinkGeek points. I don't recall anymore, but for whatever reason I never bothered opening it.

    If it works with the Retro 5 or the retrofreak I might try it out, but if not I'd rather keep it sealed in the event someone else I know wants it.

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    155
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It's an icade device, so it works via non-standard keyboard based inputs. I don't think it will work with the Retron5. It does pair with non-android devices, but my iCade Mobile dosen't work on Android (though the icade mode of the 8bitdo Zero works with some games, mostly emulators).
    Last edited by Brianvgplayer; 05-22-2016 at 01:59 AM.

  6. #6
    Pac-Man (Level 10) Emperor Megas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The Dark World
    Posts
    2,265
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    5 Posts

    Default

    Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Retron 3 controller problems
    By LimitedEditionMuseum in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-13-2014, 09:56 PM
  2. If my VMU works when it's in the controller slot...
    By FrankSerpico in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-31-2013, 04:01 PM
  3. PS2 - New controller works, old does not...
    By zektor in forum Modern Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-02-2010, 12:16 AM
  4. NES Controller Coffee Table that works!
    By Scott45 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-19-2008, 06:52 PM
  5. PS2 Mem. Card = Itty Bitty HDD Function? O_o
    By Dangerboy in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-26-2004, 10:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •