Thread: Lynx II acting as though batteries are dead; batteries fine

Pac-Man (Level 10)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    101 Posts

Default Lynx II acting as though batteries are dead; batteries fine

I started playing my Lynx which in and of itself is not the easiest of tasks; however, after playing for 5 minutes on fully charged batteries, the screen died and the battery light started flashing and dimming. The odd thing is that the screen wasnt completely gone, just blacked out but the light still seemed to be working.

I popped out all six (!) AA batteries, (3 different brands) and they all had higher voltages than what they said on the batteries themselves. So for one that said 1.2V on the label, its actual voltage was 1.257V

I cant imagine Im putting too much voltage into it? The batteries are rechargeable if that makes a difference. And I cant imagine I would need six batteries of the same brand

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    62 Posts

I'm going to guess that it's your batteries but I'd try with a fresh set of alkalines just to rule out something wrong with the system. You should be able to get a few hours use out them.

I wouldn't worry about the higher voltages. Most batteries are higher than their rating at first. With NiMH the voltage quickly settles into 1.2V and stays there for most of its life before quickly dropping at the end (as opposed to alkaline batteries which die linearly). Also the voltage you measure across a battery will be different under load.

Now, I've been using the same sets of NiMH rechargeables for about 10 years now and have just started to notice some of them flaking out on me. Fresh off the charger and they only power a Wii remote for 2 minutes before it looses connection, though they still appear to be fully charged. And a Wii remote has nowhere the power requirements as a Lynx. This is why I think it's your batteries.