Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Help!! PS2 not working quite right

  1. #1
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    439
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Help!! PS2 not working quite right

    I had someone give me a PS2, because it wasn't reading discs--I opened it up and cleaned the lens, and adjusted the white gear, and it seems to work fine except for one thing--the rumble feature in the controller doesn't work! I have tried 2 different brand new PS2 controllers, and neither worked, so I plugged them into the old PS1 and they rumble great!! Why would the rumble not work?
    DC--- It's STILL thinking....!!

  2. #2
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    439
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Oh and neither port works either (rumble-wise) please let me know! Thanks!
    E.--
    DC--- It's STILL thinking....!!

  3. #3
    Great Puma (Level 12) jonjandran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Pine Mountain , Georgia
    Posts
    4,669
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I would guess that the ribbon cable for the controller port is not in right or the contoller port is fried.

    A lot of times when taking apart the PS2 the controller port ribbon wire is pulled a little loose. It is one of those cables that is a little difficult to put back in correctly.

    You have to set it in the right spot and then slide it in about 1mm further with your fingernail or a screwdriver and then close the plastic clasp.

    If that's not it then it's the controller port. If you need 1 after you check the cable let me know as I have a couple extra.

  4. #4
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    439
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    where is the controller port ribbon? Is it the thin metal ribbon connected near the DVD drive? When I opened up the PS2, I didn't even touch the controller ports, but I saw that metal strip, that is kinda taped to the dvd drive side. Also, if the controller ports were bad or blown, wouldn't the games not play at all? All the games I have played work fine--just no vibration function.
    DC--- It's STILL thinking....!!

  5. #5
    Great Puma (Level 12) jonjandran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Pine Mountain , Georgia
    Posts
    4,669
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    No the controller port ribbon wire is underneath the controller port. You have to take out the 2 gold screws and the port comes off.

    Was the PS2 already opened before you got it ? Was the seal broke ? If so someone else could have messed up the ribbon wire.

    And it could be the controller IC that is bad , in that case just one function of the controller could go out. But if it is an IC , then you're out of luck.

  6. #6
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    439
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The seal didn't appear to have been broken, but some of the screw covers are gone. What is the controller IC? It can't be replaced? What would you suggest I try first? Should I even try messing with the controller ports?
    DC--- It's STILL thinking....!!

  7. #7
    Great Puma (Level 12) jonjandran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Pine Mountain , Georgia
    Posts
    4,669
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The contoller IC is a chip that runs the controller port and no you can't fix it.

    I would think the controller wire would be the first thing I would suspect. I've taken a few PS2's apart and put them back together and if oyu don't get the cable in right there can be random problems like yours.

    I would give it a try.

  8. #8
    Great Puma (Level 12) jonjandran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Pine Mountain , Georgia
    Posts
    4,669
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    After doing some research it appears that this is a common problem with the PS2.

    The answer is that a fuse on the motherboard has blown.. It appears to do this because of age, use , and sometimes a crappy 3rd party controller can cause this. And this is a soldered on fuse not a simple pop in fuse.

    This is not a task for anyone without extensive electronic skills to undertake. I would suggest living with it or trying to find a pro to help.

    I could do it but It's probably not worth the shipping of it both ways if you got it for free in the first place.

  9. #9
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    439
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It would only cost me like $15-20 to ship it to you and back! I would do that if you truly feel you can fix it! What would the fuse charge be?
    DC--- It's STILL thinking....!!

  10. #10
    Great Puma (Level 12) jonjandran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Pine Mountain , Georgia
    Posts
    4,669
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Evil E
    It would only cost me like $15-20 to ship it to you and back! I would do that if you truly feel you can fix it! What would the fuse charge be?
    No charge for the fuse (I have plenty of them) or for the work (I have plenty of time )

    PM me if you want me to do it.

  11. #11
    Pac-Man (Level 10) omnedon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,908
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If it's just rumble function, the fuse fix will defintely do the trick. Same fix (diff fuse) solves dead fan issues as well.
    ... for your gaming and iPod service needs http://www.oldschoolgamer.com/ For all your Video Game console and iPod upgrade/repair needs!

  12. #12
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    439
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonjandran
    Quote Originally Posted by Evil E
    It would only cost me like $15-20 to ship it to you and back! I would do that if you truly feel you can fix it! What would the fuse charge be?
    No charge for the fuse (I have plenty of them) or for the work (I have plenty of time )

    PM me if you want me to do it.
    Well I opened it up, and checked the port ribbon--it all seemed fine, so it must be the blown fuse thing---PM sent
    DC--- It's STILL thinking....!!

Similar Threads

  1. WTB: any sega mark III game cheap. working or non-working
    By Soviet Conscript in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 09:02 PM
  2. Looking for Non working Turbo Express W/ working Screen
    By atariboy in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-23-2005, 06:28 PM
  3. ps2 not working
    By boredashell in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-16-2005, 06:33 PM
  4. N64 not working right
    By ubersaurus in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-20-2004, 06:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •