Thread: C64 emulation on MESS

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default C64 emulation on MESS

Okay, I just got M.E.S.S and a bunch of C64 ROM's, and I have a problem, I don't know how to play C64 games. I've never used a C64, so I'm not really sure how to get a game started in the first place let alone get one to work on an emulator. I'm new to the C64 in general and really don't know anything about it so if anyone could help to get me started and explain to me how I run the games in MESS, and what to do at the C64 command promt screen it would be greatly appreciated. thanks

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    1 Post

MESS is an exercise in frustration. You're probably better off with CCS64, or maybe even VICE.

Many other emulators type in the commands automatically for you, but otherwise I think you can use
    LOAD"*",8
    RUN
    Remember, on the C64 keyboard, quotes are accessed through Shift-2.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

I can recommend WinVice. I use it for C64 emulation and really like it.

.d64 images are disk images (a snapshot of a floppy disk). In WinVice you can click on "open image" and it will show you all your .d64 files. Click on it once and then it will show you all the files in the .d64. Double click on one of those files and it will load it for you automatically.

The Commodore 64 computer had 2 joystick ports. Half of the games want the joystick to be in port one, the other half want it to be in port two. In any C64 emulator, you'll have to figure out how to toggle joystick ports.

If you're stuck with MESS for the time being, you can do the following.

To get a directory type:

load "$",8
    list

To load a file type

load "filename",8,1
    run

You can also use wildcards (*). To load the first file on a disk:

load "*",8,1
    run

(That's how you would load more store bought programs.)