Thread: Why do you have/want cabs?

Crono (Level 14)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Why do you have/want cabs?

I'm wondering... why do people want to have cabs in their house? Is it the gaming? The novelty? The status? I'll tell you why I like them.

I grew up in a place that had no arcades. I mean, none. There were some video poker machines around that paid off in credits, but other than that, nothing. It wasn't until I was maybe 10 or 11 that I first entered a true arcade. So it's part trying to get back what I missed. I love the arcade vibe.

The other part is restoration. I like the idea of preserving and restoring cabs. I don't mean only the classics. I'm just getting into it but the supply of working cabinets is rapidly dwindling. I want to do my miniscule part in getting those on the brink back and returning them from the dead.

How about you guys?

Great Puma (Level 12) Darth Sensei's Avatar
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

I like them with melted butter.... Oh, shoot you said Cabs. I don't have any, but will someday have an Asteroids Cab.

D
    DP Feedback

I am Darth Sensei on Xbox Live as well.

ServBot (Level 11)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

It's hard for me to say, really. I don't have any *major* nostalgia for arcades - we had very few around when I was a kid (even less now) and my parents thought they were a waste of money which kept me out anyway. I got to play when we went on vacations, as they'd generally be found in rec rooms by the pool and set on free play. Occasionally, I'd get to play at the machine near the registers at the local Zayer's department store; but only while my mother was in line, which meant Game Over fairly quickly.