Thread: Will you stick with the current gen systems for the long run

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Will you stick with the current gen systems for the long run

I Have been gaming for the last 30 years and Ive seen games and systems come and go over the years.
    It is the way of things when it comes to both the hobby and the business of videogames.
    With the current systems this has all changed the current systems full capabilities will most likely never be reached if most of the manufacturers (I.E. Microsoft and Nintendo) have anything to say about it since it seems that they are content on shortening the lifespans of their current gen systems Xbox and Gamecube respectively.
    Now dont get me wrong here I know this is nothing new to any of us that lived and suffered through the "last days" of Dreamcast and other great systems before it that were sacraficed long before there time, Turbographix-16 anyone?
    So here is the question I put in front of all fellow gamers out there who were here long before the PSX days and can remember when it was a small "geek" hobby long before it was cool to be playing the newest PS2 or Xbox sports game.
    Do you THE GAMERS really need or want a new system with slightly superior graphics? just because it has always been the tradition? In my opinion my PS2 and Xbox have just about everything I want or need in a game system, great graphics (I mean how much better do we need Gran Turismo to look anyway?)unlimited possibilities in gameplay online or off, full DVD capabilities etc.